Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
philosophy masthead
David Sosa, Chair 2210 Speedway, WAG 316, Stop C3500, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-4857

General Information

The Department of Philosophy, one of the largest in the United States, sponsors an excellent undergraduate program. Over 300 students are majoring in philosophy, and thousands more learn about philosophical thinking in the Department's many undergraduate course offerings. The Department is at the forefront of philosophical research in a wide variety of areas. It also places a strong emphasis on undergraduate education. Three Philosophy faculty- Robert Kane, Robert Solomon, and Paul Woodruff- have been inducted into the Academy of Distinguished Teachers. Philosophy courses such as PHL 304, Contemporary Moral Problems, are among the most popular courses on campus.
bottom border