Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
psychology masthead
James W. Pennebaker, Chair The University of Texas at Austin, SEA 4.212, Austin, TX 78712 • (512) 475-7596

Core and Affiliated Faculty

About | Clinical Faculty | Adjunct and Other Faculty | Program Overview | Student Admissions, Outcomes, and Other Data | Labs & Facilities | Area Talks | Recent Events 


Christopher G Beevers
Associate Professor
beevers@psy.utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-3706  |  SEA 3.212
Education   Ph.D., University of Miami
Interests  Etiology, maintenance, and treatment of unipolar depression in adults

Caryn L Carlson
Professor and Associate Chair
carlson@mail.utexas.edu  |  (512) 475-8493  |  SEA 4.212A
Education   Ph.D., University of Georgia
Interests  Positive psychology, well-being, and life satisfaction

Kim Fromme
Professor
fromme@psy.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-0039  |  SEA 3.242
Education   Ph.D., University of Washington
Interests  Etiology and prevention of alcohol abuse and risk-taking behaviors (e.g., drugs, sex, aggression)

Andreana P Haley
Assistant Professor
haley@psy.utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-0863  |  SEA 3.238
Education   Ph.D., University of Virginia
Interests  Aging, cognition, cognitive impairment, metabolic syndrome, neuropsychological assessment, and neuroimaging (MRI, fMRI, MRS)

Kathryn Paige Harden
Assistant Professor
harden@psy.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-1124  |  SEA 3.246
Education   Ph.D., University of Virginia
Interests  Behavioral genetics, adolescent development, and externalizing psychopathology

Charles J Holahan
Professor and Graduate Advisor
holahan@psy.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-3320  |  SEA 3.202
Education   Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Interests  Health Psychology, Stress and Coping, Occupational Stress, Coping with Cardiovascular Illness

Marc S Lewis
Associate Professor and Undergraduate Advisor
lewis@psy.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-3393  |  SEA 4.104
Education   Ph.D., University of Cincinnati
Interests  Development of innovative research approaches in biology and medicine

Martita A Lopez
Director of Clinical Training and Clinic Director; Clinical Professor
lopez@psy.utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-4626  |  SEA 3.132B
Education   Ph.D., Syracuse University
Interests  cognitive behavioral treatment of insomnia and psychological effects of aerobic exercise

Cindy M Meston
Professor
meston@psy.utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-4644  |  SEA 3.232
Education   Ph.D., University of British Columbia
Interests  Sexual psychophysiology (vaginal photoplethysmography), sexual dysfunction, relation between sexual abuse and sexual function, and the influence of acculturation on sexuality

Rebecca Neal-Beevers
Research Scientist
nealr@psy.utexas.edu  |  (512) 475-8491  |  SEA 3.216
Education   Ph.D., University of Miami
Interests  Social and communication development in infants and young children, and early identification of developmental delay in at-risk populations; autism

Manuel Ramirez III
Professor
ramirez@psy.utexas.edu  |  (512) 475-7012  |  SEA 5.206
Education   Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Interests  Multicultural personality development and psychotherapy, the dynamics of the U.S.-Mexico borderlands and mental health of borderlanders and the relation of cultural values to family dynamics, Previous research interests--person perception and verbal learning

Jaspar Smits
Professor
smits@utexas.edu
Education Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Interests Development of behavioral and integrative treatments for anxiety disorders (e.g., social anxiety disorder, panic disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder) and related problems (smoking, overeating, physical inactivity)

Michael J Telch
Professor
telch@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 475-8488  |  SEA 3.102
Education   Ph.D., Stanford University
Interests  Agrophobia, anxiety and phobic disorders, behavioral medicine, behavioral therapies, cognitive processes of behavior change, and therapy outcome evaluation

David M Tucker
Clinical Associate Professor
dtucker@mail.utexas.edu  |  471-3393  |  SEA 5.224
Education   Ph.D., University of Georgia
Interests  Memory disorders, Cognitive correlates of ADHD, Recovery of neuropsychological function

Affiliated Faculty

Robert A Josephs
Professor
josephs@psy.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-9788  |  SEA 3.204
Education   Ph.D., University of Michigan
Interests  Social Endocrinology

James W Pennebaker

Regents Centennial Professor and Department Chair of Psychology
pennebaker@psy.utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-2781  |  SEA 4.212
Education   Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Interests  Social psychology and psychosomatics, language and health, how individuals, groups, and cultures respond to traumatic events

William B Swann
Professor
swann@psy.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-3859  |  SEA 3.106
Education   Ph. D., University of Minnesota
Interests  The self, relationships and group processes, including questions such as why people engage in extreme behaviors such as terrorism. Self and identity, group behavior, interpersonal relationships and person perception

Elliot Tucker-Drob

Assistant Professor
tuckerdrob@psy.utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-4225  |  SEA 4.218
Education   Ph.D., University of Virginia
Interests  developmental behavior genetics, ecological contexts of human development, individual differences, cognitive development/intellectual development, personality development, academic achievement, quantitative modeling


About | Clinical Faculty | Adjunct and Other Faculty | Program Overview | Student Admissions, Outcomes, and Other Data | Labs & Facilities | Area Talks | Recent Events 

bottom border