Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
psychology masthead
Jacqueline Woolley, Chair The University of Texas at Austin, SEA 4.212, Austin, TX 78712 • (512) 475-7596

Two Psychology Faculty Members Retire in January 2011

Posted: January 25, 2011

Dennis McFadden, Ashbel Smith Professor of Psychology, has retired after 43 years at the university. Dr. McFadden received his doctoral degree in Sensory Psychology from Indiana University in 1967. His research examined the psychophysical and physiological measures of the auditory system. As one of the deans of the Psychology Department, he was central in the planning, design, and oversight of the Seay Psychology Building.
McFadden Web Page

Peter MacNeilage, Professor of Psychology, has retired after 38 years in the department. A native of New Zealand, Dr. MacNeilage received his doctoral degree from McGill University. His research on the acquisition of speech focuses primarily on the evolution of complex action systems. He is an internationally recognized scientist and the author of many scholarly articles. He is the author of the award-winning book, The Origin of Speech, which was published by Oxford University Press in 2008.
MacNeilage Web Page

bottom border