Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
rhetoric masthead rhetoric masthead
Jeffrey Walker, Chair PAR 3, Mailcode B5500, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-6109

Faculty List

Professors

Photo of Davida H Charney

Davida H Charney

Faculty

dcharney@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8746  |  Parlin 131

Education   

Ph.D., Carnegie-Mellon University
Photo of Diane Davis

Diane Davis

Professor of Rhetoric & Writing; Director of Digital Writing & Research Lab

ddd@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-8735  |  FAC 17

Interests

  My work is situated at the intersection of rhetorical theory and continental philosophy.

Photo of Lester L Faigley

Lester L Faigley

Robert Adger Law and Thos. H. Law Professor in Humanities

faigley@utexas.edu  |  471-7471  |  CAL 216

Education   

Ph.D., 1976, University of Washington

Interests

  Impacts of digital technologies on writing, Visual rhetoric, Written argument, Travel literature

Photo of Patricia Roberts-Miller

Patricia Roberts-Miller

Professor

redball@mindspring.com  |  471-8378  |  PAR 21

Education   

Ph.D., Rhetoric, 1987, University of California, Berkeley

Interests

  History, Theory, and Pedagogy of Public Argumentation

Photo of John J Ruszkiewicz

John J Ruszkiewicz

Professor

jr@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-8764  |  CAL 202

Education   

Ph.D., 1977, The Ohio State University
Photo of Clay Spinuzzi

Clay Spinuzzi

Professor

clay.spinuzzi@utexas.edu  |  471-8707  |  PAR 3

Education   

Ph.D., 1999, Iowa State University

Interests

  Activity theory, genre theory, actor-network theory, human-computer interaction, workplace studies, qualitative research, knowledge work

Photo of Jeffrey Walker

Jeffrey Walker

Professor & Chair, Department of Rhetoric & Writing

jswalker@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-8744  |  PAR 3

Education   

Ph.D., 1985, University of California, Berkeley

Interests

  rhetorical theory, history of rhetoric, ancient rhetoric, rhetoric and poetics, modern rhetoric and literature

Associate Professors

Linda Ferreira-Buckley

Faculty

lfb@utexas.edu  |  471-6109  |  PAR 3

Photo of Jacqueline M Henkel

Jacqueline M Henkel

Faculty

henkelj@uts.cc.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 1985, University of Minnesota

Mark G Longaker

Associate Chair

longaker@utexas.edu  |  471-8725  |  PAR 3

Education   

Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University
Photo of Margaret A Syverson

Margaret A Syverson

Director

pegsyverson@gmail.com  |  471-8734  |  PAR 3

Education   

Ph.D., 1994, University of California, San Diego

Assistant Professors

Photo of Rasha Diab

Rasha Diab

Assistant Professor

rashadiab@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Composition and Rhetoric, 2009, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Lecturers

Alice L Batt

Lecturer

abatt@austin.utexas.edu  |  232-2730  |  FAC 211

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Aaron S Zacks

Faculty

Other faculty

Tom Buckley

Specialist

tbuckley@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-8368  |  CAL 201

Professors Emeriti

Maxine Hairston

Professor Emeritus

James Kinneavy

Professor Emeritus

Photo of John R Trimble

John R Trimble

Professor Emeritus

trimble@utexas.edu  |  471-8700  |  PAR 327

Education   

Ph.D., 1971, University of California, Berkeley

Affiliated

Photo of Jerome F Bump

Jerome F Bump

Affiliate faculty

bump@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley
Photo of Larry D Carver

Larry D Carver

Affiliate faculty

carver@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-3458  |  GEB 1.206

Education   

Ph.D., 1973, University of Rochester

Dana L. Cloud

Affiliate faculty

dcloud@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Iowa
Photo of Robert King

Robert King

Affiliate faculty

rking@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
Photo of Marjorie Curry Woods

Marjorie Curry Woods

Blumberg Centennial Professor of English and University Distinguished Teaching Professor

marjoriewoods@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-8383  |  Calhoun 301

Education   

Ph.D., U. of Toronto

Interests

  medieval and renaissance rhetoric, poetics, and composition pedagogy, premodern composition exercises in the modern classroom

bottom border