Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
rs masthead
Martha G. Newman, Chair BUR 529, Mailcode A3700, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-232-7737

Graduate Student List

Michael Amoruso

Graduate student

mamoruso@utexas.edu  |  BUR 504

Interests

  Religion in the Americas

Katharine Batlan

Graduate student

kbatlan@utexas.edu  |  BUR 512

Interests

  Religion in the Americas

Megan Case

Graduate student

mcase@utexas.edu  |  BUR 512

Interests

  Hebrew Bible & the Ancient Near East | Gender & Sexuality in the Hebrew Bible | Gender & Language | Women in the Ancient Near East

Benjamin Cox

Graduate student

benjamin.d.cox.07@alum.dartmouth.org  |  BUR 504

Interests

  Folk Religion | Religion in East Asia | Magic | Doubt & Irreligion

Photo of Justin Doran

Justin Doran

Graduate student

jmdoran@utexas.edu  |  530-563-6726  |  BUR 514

Interests

  Religion in the Americas | Latino/a Pentecostal Christianity | Religion in Brazil | Modern Demonology | Prosperity Gospel | Enchantment/Disenchantment

Ryan Fitzgerald

Graduate student

ryan.fitz@utexas.edu  |  BUR 514

Interests

  New Testament | Early Christianity | Greco-Roman Culture | Animal Sacrifice | Gender, Sexuality, & Race/Ethnicity in Antiquity | Identity Theory

Michael Flexsenhar

Graduate student

maflexiii@utexas.edu  |  BUR 512

Education   

M.T.S., Vanderbilt University Divinity School

Interests

  Christian Origins | Jewish and Christian Social History | Slaves and Freedpersons in the Roman World | Roman Imperial Cults | Socio-Religious Groups in the Ancient Mediterranean

James Henriques

Graduate student

james.c.henriques@utexas.edu  |  BUR 504

Interests

  Religion in the Ancient Mediterranean

Deborah Johnson

Graduate student

deborah.maurine@gmail.com  |  BUR 514

Interests

  Religion in the Ancient Mediterranean

George Anthony Keddie

Graduate student

g.a.keddie@gmail.com  |  BUR 504

Education   

M.A.R., Yale University Divinity School

Interests

  Religion and Ethnicity in the Ancient Mediterranean | Hellenistic Judaism | OT Apocrypha and Pseudepigrapha | Jewish and Christian Apocalypticism | Religion and Empire | Religion and the Politics of Class

Jin Young Kim

Graduate student

snolover1910@gmail.com  |  BUR 512

Interests

  Religion in the Ancient Mediterranean

Bradley King

Graduate student

bradking00@gmail.com  |  BUR 504

Interests

  Religion in the Ancient Mediterranean

Elena Kravchenko

Graduate student

evk14@utexas.edu  |  BUR 514

Interests

  Transregional and Comparative Studies in Religion

Photo of Ross Ponder

Ross Ponder

Graduate student

ross.ponder@utexas.edu  |  BUR 504

Education   

M.Div., Boston University

Interests

  Material Culture and the Social World of Ancient Christianity | Identity, Ethnicity, and Gender in Classical Antiquity | Apocalypticism in Early Judaism and Christianity | Dreams, Visions, and Epiphanies | Religious Experience in Antiquity

Joshua Urich

Graduate student

josh.urich@gmail.com  |  BUR 512

Interests

  Religion in the Americas

bottom border