Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
slavic masthead
Mary Neuburger, Chair BUR 452, 2505 University Avenue, Stop F3600, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-3607

Faculty List

Professors

Photo of Robert Moser

Robert Moser

Professor

rmoser@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7278  |  BAT 4.148

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
Photo of Joan Neuberger

Joan Neuberger

Professor

neuberger@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7219  |  GAR 2.102

Education   

Ph.D., 1985, Stanford University
Photo of Mary Neuburger

Mary Neuburger

Professor

burgerm@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-3607  |  BUR 456

Education   

Ph.D., 1997, University of Washington
Photo of Gilbert Rappaport

Gilbert Rappaport

Professor

grapp@utexas.edu  |  512-232-9310  |  BUR 460

Education   

Ph.D., UCLA

Associate Professors

Photo of Thomas Garza

Thomas Garza

University Distinguished Teaching Associate Professor and Director, Texas Language Center

tjgarza@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-3607  |  HRH 4.190 and BUR 458

Education   

Ed.D., Harvard University, 1987

Interests

  Russian language teaching methodology/Applied linguistics/Contemporary Russian culture/The Chechen wars and the media/Post-Soviet youth culture/Language teaching pedagogy/Russian popular culture/Modern Russian language/Contemporary Russian media

Photo of Keith Livers

Keith Livers

Associate Professor

kalivers@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-9128  |  BUR 468

Education   

Ph.D., University of Michigan
Photo of Charters Wynn

Charters Wynn

Associate Professor

wynn@utexas.edu  |  512-475-7234  |  GAR 1.120

Education   

Ph.D., 1987, Stanford University

Assistant Professors

Photo of Craig Campbell

Craig Campbell

Assistant Professor

craig.campbell@utexas.edu  |  EPS 4.128

Education   

Ph.D., University of Alberta

Interests

  Siberia, Central Siberia, Indigenous Siberians, Evenki, Evenkiia, Reindeer hunting and herding, Travel and mobility, Socialist colonialism, early forms of Sovietization. Visual and intermedia ethnography

Photo of Tatiana Kuzmic

Tatiana Kuzmic

Assistant Professor

tkuzmic@austin.utexas.edu  |  BUR 472

Education   

Ph.D., University of Illinois
Photo of Tatjana Lichtenstein

Tatjana Lichtenstein

Assistant Professor

lichtens@austin.utexas.edu  |  475-6171   |  GAR 0.110

Education   

Ph.D., University of Toronto, Canada
Photo of Michael Pesenson

Michael Pesenson

Assistant Professor, Graduate Advisor

mpesenson@utexas.edu  |  512 232 9132  |  BUR 464

Education   

Ph.D, Yale University

Lecturers

Photo of Nadya Clayton

Nadya Clayton

Lecturer

nclayton@mail.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-3607  |  BUR 402

Photo of Mark Hopkins

Mark Hopkins

Lecturer

markhopkins81@gmail.com  |  (512) 471-3607  |  BUR 462

Education   

PhD, UT Austin
Photo of Bella B. Jordan

Bella B. Jordan

Lecturer

belka@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-9127  |  BUR 470

Education   

Ph.D., UT Austin

Interests

  History, travel, architecture

Photo of Bernadeta Kaminska

Bernadeta Kaminska

Lecturer

BernadetaKaminska@austin.utexas.edu  |  232-9133  |  BUR 406

Photo of Marina Potoplyak

Marina Potoplyak

Lecturer

marina.potoplyak@utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-3607  |  BUR 466

Education   

PhD, UT Austin

Interests

  Russian Modernism, Russian Avant-Garde, Russian Pedagogy, Instructional Technology

Photo of Larisa Zlatic

Larisa Zlatic

Lecturer

larisaz@lztranslation.com  |  GAR 3.410

Education   

PhD in Linguistics, University of Texas at Austin

Other faculty

Photo of Leslie O'Bell

Leslie O'Bell

Associate Professor, Retired

lobell@utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-3607  |  CAL 415

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University

Stephanie Richards

Lecturer

skrichards@wisc.edu  |  471-3607  |  CAL 429C

Interests

  19th century Russian literature, Pushkin, Pushkin and history, Dostoevsky, Christianity, Christianity in literature, Christianity as a historical phenomenon

Professors Emeriti

Photo of John Kolsti

John Kolsti

Professor Emeritus

jkolsti@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-3607  |  CAL 415

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University
Photo of Sidney Monas

Sidney Monas

Professor Emeritus

smonas@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-5001  |  HRC 3.325

Photo of Seth Wolitz

Seth Wolitz

Professor Emeritus

slwolitz@mail.utexas.edu  |  512 471 5531  |  HRH 3.114A

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University

Assistant Instructors

Marina Flider

Assistant Instructor

marina.flider@gmail.com  |  471-3607  |  BUR 586

Elena Liskova

Assistant Instructor

eliskova@utexas.edu  |  471-3607  |  BUR 580

Jason Roberts

Assistant Instructor

j.roberts@utexas.edu  |  BUR 370

Education   

M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Ekaterina Zakharova

Assistant Instructor

ekaterina.v.zakharova@gmail.com  |  471-3607  |  BUR 586

bottom border