Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
sociology masthead
Robert Crosnoe, Chair CLA 3.306, Mailcode A1700, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-232-6300

Current Graduate Students

Photo of Anima Adjepong

Anima Adjepong

Graduate student

adjepong@utexas.edu  |  CLA 3rd Floor. Cube 1

Education   

M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Cultural Studies; Diaspora; Immigration; Postcolonial Theory; Sociology of Sport; Sexualities; Gender; Race and Ethnicity; Qualitative Sociology

Photo of Kathleen Averett

Kathleen Averett

Graduate student

kate.averett@utexas.edu  |  CLA 3rd Floor Sociology Cubicle #38

Education   

MDiv, Harvard University

Interests

  Gender, Sexuality, LGBTQ Studies, Family/Childhood, Qualitative Methods

Anna Banchik

NSF Graduate Research Fellow

abanchik@gmail.com

Education   

B.S., University of Washington, Seattle

Carlos Barreto-Beck

Graduate student

Photo of Travis Beaver

Travis Beaver

PhD Candidate

t.beaver@utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Gender, Sexuality, Culture, Identity, Theory, Qualitative Methods

Photo of Julie Beicken

Julie Beicken

Graduate student

jbeicken@utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-8355  |  4.614

Education   

M.A., University of Texas at Austin 2009

Interests

  Political sociology, popular culture, ethics and morality, military sociology, social movements

Photo of Sarah Blanchard

Sarah Blanchard

PRC Graduate Trainee

sfblanchard@utexas.edu  |  CLA 2.408B

Education   

M.A., The University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Claude Bonazzo

Claude Bonazzo

Graduate student

cbonazzo@utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., Texas State University
Photo of Eric Enrique Borja

Eric Enrique Borja

Graduate student

ericeborja@gmail.com

Education   

M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Social Media, Social Movements, Collective Action, Race and Ethnicity in Brazil, Political Sociology, Education, Quantitative Methods, Qualitative Methods.

Photo of Amanda Bosky

Amanda Bosky

Graduate student

abosky@utexas.edu  |  CLA 2.702B

Education   

J.D., Loyola University Chicago School of Law

Interests

  Education, Inequality

Photo of Letisha Brown

Letisha Brown

Doctoral Student

letisha12@utexas.edu

Interests

  Sociology of Race/Ethnicity, Health & Illness, Intersectionality, Food

Photo of Shantel Buggs

Shantel Buggs

Graduate student

sgbuggs@utexas.edu  |  CLA 3rd Floor

Education   

M.A., University of Houston

Interests

  Race & Ethnicity; Gender; Sexualities; Critical Mixed-Race/Multiracial Studies; Popular Culture; Theory; Qualitative Methodology

Photo of Sergio Cabrera

Sergio Cabrera

Graduate student

scabrera@utexas.edu

Interests

  Consumerism and Consumer Culture; Gender; Inequality; Economic Sociology; Sociological Theory; Qualitative Methods

Photo of Phillip Cantu

Phillip Cantu

Graduate student

cantuphillip@utexas.edu

Education   

B.A., Southwestern University

Jamie Carroll

Graduate student

jmcarroll@utexas.edu  |  CLA 2.702B

Education   

M.A., University of New Orleans

Interests

  Education, Work Occupations and Organizations, Creativity

Photo of Shih-Yi Chao

Shih-Yi Chao

Graduate student

sychao@utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., Tunghai University
Photo of Yu Chen

Yu Chen

Doctoral Student, PRC Graduate Student Trainee

chenyu@utexas.edu

Education   

M.A. in Latin American Studies, University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Urbanization, housing, informal economy, comparative and historical sociology; China, Mexico, Cuba

Candrianna Clem

Graduate student

Photo of Caitlyn Collins

Caitlyn Collins

Graduate student

caitlyn.collins@utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Gender; Work; Families; Inequality; Social Policy and Labor Market Policy; Welfare States; Qualitative Methods

Thatcher Combs

Graduate student

Photo of Elizabeth Cozzolino

Elizabeth Cozzolino

Graduate student

elizabeth.cozzolino@utexas.edu  |  CLA 3rd Floor Sociology Cubicle #7 (east of CLA 3.306)

Education   

M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Gender, Economic Sociology, The Family

Jacinto Cuvi Escobar

Graduate student

jacintocuvi@austin.utexas.edu

Interests

  Latin America, Development Economics, Urban Sociology

Maria Davis

Graduate student

mariagdavis@utexas.edu  |  232-6337 (During Office Hours)  |  CLA 4.616

Interests

  Religion, Religion and Health, Latin America

Photo of Jorge Derpic

Jorge Derpic

Graduate student

jderpic@utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., The University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Molly Dondero

Molly Dondero

Graduate student

mdondero@utexas.edu  |  CLA 2.616

Education   

M.A., University of Florida
Photo of Jessica Dunning-Lozano

Jessica Dunning-Lozano

Graduate student

jdunninglozano@utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., University of Chicago
Photo of Brandyn Gabriel

Brandyn Gabriel

Graduate student

paige.gabriel@utexas.edu  |  6782438467  |  United States

Interests

  Gender, Family, Work, Qualitative Methods

Photo of Marc Garcia

Marc Garcia

Graduate student

marcagarcia@utexas.edu

Education   

M.S., Texas A&M University
Photo of Denisse Gelber

Denisse Gelber

Graduate student

dgelber@utexas.edu

Education   

PhD Candidate, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Social stratification, Poverty, Education, Transition to adulthood, Social Policies

David Glisch-Sanchez

Graduate student

glischsanchez@utexas.edu

Education   

M.P.P., University of Michigan - Ann Arbor

Interests

  Sociology of Race, Gender, Sexuality and Class; Sociology of Violence; Latin@ Studies, Feminist Theory, Queer of Color Critique

Photo of Erika D Grajeda

Erika D Grajeda

Graduate student

egrajeda@utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., The University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Carmen Gutierrez

Carmen Gutierrez

Graduate student

carmen.gutierrez@utexas.edu  |  CLA 2.406G

Education   

M.A., University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Hyun Jeong Ha

Hyun Jeong Ha

Graduate student

hjha@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., Seoul National University

Interests

  Political Sociology, Gender, Ethnic Groups and Nationalism, Comparative and Historical Method, Middle East

Photo of Caitlin Hamrock

Caitlin Hamrock

Graduate student

CaitlinHamrock@gmail.com

Education   

B.A., University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

Maricarmen Hernandez

Graduate student

Photo of Katherine Hill

Katherine Hill

Graduate student

hillkathy@utexas.edu

Interests

  Gender; Race & Ethnicity; Asia/Asian America; Intimate Markets; Labor Markets; Immigration

Photo of Celia Hubert Lopez

Celia Hubert Lopez

Graduate student

chubert@prc.utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., The University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Melissa Humphries

Melissa Humphries

Graduate student

mhumphries@prc.utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Amelia Iuvino

Graduate student

Daniel Jaster

Graduate student

jaster@utexas.edu

Education   

M.S., University of Oregon

Janice Jeang

Graduate student

jpj@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Department of Sociology
Photo of Katherine Jensen

Katherine Jensen

Graduate student

kajensen@utexas.edu  |  CLA 3.214E

Education   

M.A, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Race/Racism, the State, Immigration, Ethnography, Latin America, African Diaspora

Photo of Paul Kasun

Paul Kasun

Graduate student

frpaul@utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., Kenrick-Glennon Seminary
Photo of Robyn Keith

Robyn Keith

Graduate student

robynakeith@utexas.edu  |  CLA 3rd Floor, Cubicle #16

Education   

M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Friendship; Social Isolation; Voluntary Associations; Communication Technologies; Social Networks and Social Capital; Gender and Sexuality; Race and Ethnicity; Theory

Photo of Kristine Kilanski

Kristine Kilanski

Graduate student

kristine.kilanski@gmail.com  |  College of Liberal Arts

Education   

M.A., University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Yujin Kim

Yujin Kim

Graduate student

yjkim@utexas.edu  |  512 471 7778  |  CLA 2.408D

Education   

M.A., Korea University
Photo of Andrew Krebs

Andrew Krebs

Graduate student

andrew.krebs@utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., DePaul University

Interests

  Law and Society

Photo of Janet Kuo

Janet Kuo

Graduate student

kuojanet2003@gmail.com

Education   

M.A., National ChengChi University, Taiwan
Photo of Jinwoo Lee

Jinwoo Lee

Graduate student

jwlee@prc.utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., Korea University

Interests

  Social Relationships and Health, Religion and Health, Social Psychology, Medical Sociology, Family Sociology, Aging and Life Course, and Quantitative Research Method

Photo of Amias Maldonado

Amias Maldonado

Graduate student

a.maldonado418@gmail.com

Education   

MA, The University of Texas at Austin
Photo of David McClendon

David McClendon

Graduate student

mcclendon@utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Jennifer McMorris

Graduate student

Jennifere.mcmorris@gmail.com

Education   

M.A., The University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Corey McZeal

Corey McZeal

Graduate student

cmczeal@utexas.edu

Education   

B.A., Louisiana State University
Photo of Jennifer Melvin

Jennifer Melvin

Graduate student

jmelvin@utexas.edu  |  CLA 622B

Education   

M.A., University of Florida

Megan Neely

Graduate student

mtneely@utexas.edu  |  Sociology Department, CLA 3rd Floor, Cubicle 20

Education   

M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Gender, Race, Work and Organizations, Inequality, Politics, and Feminist Theories

Pamela Neumann

Graduate student

pneumann@utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., Latin American Studies, University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Gender, political sociology, development, Latin America, ethnography, feminist theory

Emily Paine

Graduate student

e.paine@utexas.edu  |  CLA PRC 2.614

Education   

B.A., University of Southern Maine

Interests

  Gender and Gender Identity, Sexualities, Race & Ethnicity, Health, Intersectionality, Mixed Methods, Social Movements.

Photo of Nina J Palmo

Nina J Palmo

Graduate student

npalmo@utexas.edu

Education   

M.S., The University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Cristian Paredes

Cristian Paredes

Graduate student

clparedese@utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., University of Houston
Photo of Evangeleen Pattison

Evangeleen Pattison

Graduate student

epattison@prc.utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., The University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Marcos Perez

Marcos Perez

Graduate student

marcosperez@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Adrian Popan

Graduate student

adi_popan@yahoo.com

Education   

M.A., Texas Tech University, 2009
Photo of Juan Portillo

Juan Portillo

Graduate student

juanra85@gmail.com

Education   

PhD, Sociology (class of 2016), The University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Chicana feminism, decolonial methodologies, college students, media

Photo of Kate Prickett

Kate Prickett

Graduate student

kate.prickett@utexas.edu  |  512-471-0069  |  CLA 2.406B

Education   

M.P.Aff., The University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Kristen Redford

Kristen Redford

Graduate Student

kredford@utexas.edu

Education   

B.A., University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Photo of Nicholas E. Reith

Nicholas E. Reith

PRC Graduate Student Trainee

nreith@utexas.edu  |  646-821-1880

Education   

M.A., Georgetown University

Robert Ressler

Graduate student

rwress@utexas.edu  |  512-270-1404

Education   

PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Non-profits, education, stratification, inequality, bike riding, making pizza, happy hours

Photo of Brandon Robinson

Brandon Robinson

Graduate student

barobinson@utexas.edu  |  CLA 3rd Floor, Cubicle 25

Education   

M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Sexualities; Gender; Race & Ethnicity; Health & HIV/AIDS; Cyberspace; LGBTQ Studies; Qualitative Methodologies

Photo of Luis Romero

Luis Romero

Graduate student

yucateco@utexas.edu

Education   

B.A., Texas A&M University

Thomas Rosen

Graduate student

tomrosen@utexas.edu

Interests

  Gender, Food, Health

Photo of Isaac Sasson

Isaac Sasson

PhD Candidate; PRC Graduate Student Trainee

isasson@prc.utexas.edu  |  CLA 2.620B

Education   

M.A., M.S., University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Neveen Shafeek Amin

Neveen Shafeek Amin

PhD Candidate; PRC Graduate Student Trainee

neveen@utexas.edu  |  CLA 2.702A

Education   

M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Health Disparities, Migration, Religion and Health, Family, Education, and Quantitative Research Methods

Photo of Vivian Shaw

Vivian Shaw

Graduate student

vivianshaw@utexas.edu  |  CLA 3rd Floor

Education   

M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Asian & Asian American Studies; Culutral Studies; Ethnography and Qualitative Methods; Gender; Race & Ethnicity; Science and Technology; Japan

Photo of Connor Sheehan

Connor Sheehan

Graduate student

connor.sheehan@utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., University of Colorado at Boulder

Carly Sheridan

Graduate student

carly.sheridan@utexas.edu  |  CLA 3rd floor, cubicle #27

Education   

B.A., with Honors, University of Michigan
Photo of Gracia Sierra

Gracia Sierra

Graduate student

gracia.sierra@utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., Duke University

Samantha Simon

Graduate student

Robert Sitko

Graduate student

bobsitko@gmail.com

Photo of Julie Skalamera

Julie Skalamera

Graduate student

julie.skalamera@utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Chelsea Smith

Chelsea Smith

Graduate student

chelsea.c.smith@utexas.edu  |  CLA 2.406G

Education   

M.A., University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Katherine Sobering

Katherine Sobering

Graduate student

ksobering@utexas.edu

Education   

PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Inequality; Work and Organizations; Social Movements; Qualitative Methods; Latin America

Jaya Soni

Graduate student

jayasoni@yahoo.com

Emily Spangenberg

Graduate student

spangenberg@utexas.edu  |  CLA 3.214D

Education   

M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  political sociology, qualitative methods, environmental inequality, geospatial (GIS) analysis, Latin America

Photo of Ellyn Arevalo Steidl

Ellyn Arevalo Steidl

Graduate student

arevaloellyn@utexas.edu  |  College of Liberal Arts Building; 2:702B

Education   

B.A., St. Olaf College
Photo of Amanda Stevenson

Amanda Stevenson

Graduate student

stevenam@prc.utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Demography, fertility, policy, social movements, social media

Mary Stitt

Graduate student

mstitt@utexas.edu

Education   

MA, Latin American Studies, Tulane University

Interests

  Race and ethnicity, education, community-based participatory research

Photo of Brittany Stoker

Brittany Stoker

Graduate student

Photo of Esther Sullivan

Esther Sullivan

Graduate student

esthersullivan@utexas.edu

Education   

M.A. Sociology, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  urban sociology, inequality, poverty, housing, ethnography, geospatial (GIS) analysis

Photo of April Sutton

April Sutton

Graduate student

suttonam@prc.utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., The University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Ori Swed

Ori Swed

Graduate student

oriswed@utexas.edu  |  512-4718452  |  CLA 4.612

Interests

  Mcro-Sociology, Ineqaulity, Conflict, Culture, Historical Comparative, Political Sociology, Theory, Middle East

Photo of Kara Takasaki

Kara Takasaki

Graduate student

kara.takasaki@utexas.edu  |  CLA 3rd Floor, Cubicle 31

Education   

M.A., The University of Chicago

Interests

  social stratification, work and family conflict, health inequities, microsociological violence, intergenerational and intimate relationships

Photo of Margaret Tate

Margaret Tate

Graduate student

maggietate@utexas.edu  |  CLA 4.608

Interests

  qualitative methods, visual studies, urban sociology, race, gender, culture, surveillance and inequality

Jessica Thomas

Graduate student

jessica.m.thomas@utexas.edu  |  CLA 3rd Floor Sociology, Cubicle #32

Education   

B.A., University of California, Davis

Interests

  Gender; Work & Occupations; Political Economy; Neoliberalism; Organizations

Mario Venegas

Graduate student

Aida Villanueva Monta

Graduate student

Photo of Ying-Ting Wang

Ying-Ting Wang

Graduate student

yingting.wang@utexas.edu

Education   

M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Timothy Werwath

Graduate student

Photo of Christine Wheatley

Christine Wheatley

PhD Candidate

christine.wheatley@utexas.edu  |  CLA 3.205B

Education   

M.A., Colorado State University

Interests

  Political Sociology, Migration, Law, Race/Ethnicity, Gender/Sexuality, Labor

Minley Xu

Graduate student

minlexu22@gmail.com

Education   

M.S., Purdue University

Maro Youssef

Graduate student

bottom border