Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
sociology masthead
Robert Crosnoe, Chair CLA 3.306, Mailcode A1700, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-232-6300

Sociology Majors Elected To Phi Beta Kappa

Ten Sociology majors join prestigious national honor society

Posted: April 13, 2009
The Department of Sociology is proud to congratulate 10 Sociology majors who were recently elected to Phi Beta Kappa at its Spring meeting. Upon joining, they will be inducted into the national honor society at the UT chapter's Spring reception on Sunday, May 10th, in the Ballroom of the ATandT Executive Education and Conference Center, when Executive Vice President and Provost Steven Leslie will be the keynote speaker. Founded in 1776 at the College of William and Mary, Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest honor society in the United States; its three Greek letters translate to "love of learning is the guide of life." The newly-elected Sociology majors are:

Kate Rainey
Christine Tat
Erich Riepen
Elizabeth Copus
Judy Anzaldua
Lisa Newhouse
Saba Danawala
Melissa Gidley
Kinsey Johns
Hannah Neal

bottom border