Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
sociology masthead
Robert Crosnoe, Chair CLA 3.306, Mailcode A1700, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-232-6300

Sociology majors elected to Phi Beta Kappa

Posted: April 19, 2011

The Sociology Department congratulates the eight Sociology majors who were recently elected to Phi Beta Kappa at its Spring meeting.  Upon joining, they will be inducted into the national honor society at the UT chapter's Spring reception on Sunday, May 8, in the Ballroom of the AT&T Center, when Senior Associate Dean David Laude will be the keynote speaker.  Founded in 1776 at the College of William and Mary, Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest honor society in the United States; its three Greek letters translate to "love of learning is the guide of life."  The newly-elected Sociology majors are as follows:

Mia Avramescu

Diana Cho

Mary Drews

Sarah Magnelia

Kayleigh McNelis

Michael Sierra-Arevalo

Raymond Tambe

Katharina Wallbaum

bottom border