Professors


Photo of Sung-Sheng (Yvonne) Chang

Sung-Sheng (Yvonne) Chang

Professor

yvonne@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6036 |
WCH 4.124

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests: Chinese Area IV and Literature


Rowena Fong

Professor, Ruby Lee Piester Centennial Professor in Services to Children and Families

rfong@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-1393 |
School of Social Work: 3.122G

Education: Ed.D., Harvard University


Photo of Huaiyin Li

Huaiyin Li

Professor, Director of Center for East Asian Studies

hli@utexas.edu |
512-475-7910 |
GAR 3.202

Education: Ph.D., 2000, University of California, Los Angeles

Interests: Modern Chinese history; Contemporary Chinese economy, society, and politics; Imperial China; Chinese culture and religion; Gender and family; Agrarian studieS; Comparative studies of development and globalization


Photo of Mark Metzler

Mark Metzler

Professor

mmetzler@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7262 |
GAR 3.404

Education: Ph.D., 1998, University of California, Berkeley


Photo of John W. Traphagan

John W. Traphagan

Professor, Centennial Commission in the Liberal Arts Fellow #2

jtrap@utexas.edu |
512-232-0874 |
BUR 520

Education: Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh

Interests: Astrobiology | Japanese religion & society | ritual | medical anthropology | science, technology, and culture | entrepreneurship in Japan


Associate Professors


Photo of Kirsten Cather

Kirsten Cather

Associate Professor

kcather@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-0031 |
WCH 4.112

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Japanese literature and film; censorship; fictional and non-fictional representations of suicide; literary and filmic adaptations


Lalitha Gopalan

Associate Professor

lalitha.gopalan@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4071 |
CMA 6.118


Photo of Heather Hindman

Heather Hindman

Associate Professor

h.hindman@mail.utexas.edu |
512-471-1667 |
WCH 4.104G

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Critical development, entrepreneurialism, expatriate communities, social theory, global labor and gender


Photo of Madeline Y. Hsu

Madeline Y. Hsu

Associate Professor; Department of History

myhsu@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-9303 |
GAR 3.106

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Interests: Asian American studies, migration, transnationalism, and ethnic studies


Photo of Ward Keeler

Ward Keeler

Associate Professor

ward.keeler@gmail.com |
512-471-8520 |
SAC 4.128

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Anthropology and expressive culture, including music, theatre, and literature; language and culture; postcoloniality; Java and Bali (Indonesia), and Burma.


Photo of Su Yeong Kim

Su Yeong Kim

Associate Professor

projectfamily@gmail.com |
(512) 471-5524 |
SEA 2.322C

Education: Ph.D. HDFS, University of California, Davis


Photo of Tse-min Lin

Tse-min Lin

Associate Professor

tml@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7248 |
BAT 4.144

Education: Ph.D., University of Minnesota


Photo of Patricia Maclachlan

Patricia Maclachlan

Associate Professor

pmaclachlan@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1724 |
BAT 3.150

Education: Ph.D., Columbia University

Interests: Interest group behavior in Japan; Japanese postal politics and reform; consumerism in advanced industrial democracies; comparative political institutions.


Robert M Oppenheim

Associate Professor

rmo@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-7279 |
WCH 5.134

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Korean anthropology and history; science/tech/society; heritage; objects/materiality; history of anthropology


Photo of Nancy K. Stalker

Nancy K. Stalker

Associate Professor

nancy.stalker@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6044 |
WCH 4.130

Education: Ph.D., 2002, Stanford University

Interests: 20th century cultural history, new religious movements, gender


Photo of Scott Wolford

Scott Wolford

Faculty

swolford@austin.utexas.edu |
BAT 4.152

Education: Ph.D., Emory University


Assistant Professors


Photo of Wenhong Chen

Wenhong Chen

Assistant Professor

wenhong_chen@mail.utexas.edu |
512-471-4952 |
CMA 6136

Education: Ph.D., University of Toronto


Joshua Eisenman

Assistant Professor

eisenman@utexas.edu


Photo of Amy Liu

Amy Liu

Assistant Professor

amy.liu@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Emory University


Photo of Xiaobo Lü

Xiaobo Lü

Assistant Professor

xiaobolu@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7257 |
BAT 3.152

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Interests: Distributive politics of development; Chinese politics; comparative and international political economy


Youjeong Oh

Assistant Professor

youjeong@utexas.edu |
512-475-6032 |
WCH 5.120A

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Urban processes in Korea and East Asia; Korean popular culture; Gender and space


Photo of David M Sena

David M Sena

Assistant Professor

dsena@utexas.edu |
512-471-7965 |
WCH 5.104C

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Early Chinese history, language, and culture


Yun-Chiahn Sena

Assistant Professor

ysena@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4970 |
DFA 2.118

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago


Photo of Chien-hsin Tsai

Chien-hsin Tsai

Assistant Professor

tsai@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-1302 |
WCH 5.104B

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University


Senior Lecturers


Photo of Yukie Aida

Yukie Aida

Senior Lecturer

aiday@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6049 |
WCH 5.110

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin


Photo of Camilla H Hsieh

Camilla H Hsieh

Senior Lecturer

camilla@utexas.edu |
512-475-6046 |
WCH 5.132

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas

Interests: Chinese language pedagogy


Chiu-Mi Lai

Senior Lecturer

cmlai@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6054 |
WCH 5.112

Education: Ph.D., University of Washington


Photo of Kyung Park

Kyung Park

Senior Lecturer

pkyung@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6045 |
WCH 5.130

Education: MA, Yonsei University, Seoul, Korea

Interests: Korean Language


Photo of Naoko Suito

Naoko Suito

Senior Lecturer

n.suito@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-8497 |
WCH 5.105

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas

Interests: Japanese language; Curriculum and Instruction, Instructional Technology


Photo of Wen-Hua Teng

Wen-Hua Teng

Senior Lecturer

whteng@utexas.edu |
512-475-6047 |
WCH 5.128

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Pedagogical grammar of Chinese; curriculum design; technology-enhanced CFL pedagogy


Lecturers


Photo of Chih-Wei (Elsa) Chang

Chih-Wei (Elsa) Chang

Lecturer

elsa.chang@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6041 |
WCH 5.116

Education: MA, Univeristy of Texas at Austin


Photo of Jeanette C Chen

Jeanette C Chen

Lecturer

jeanettechen@utexas.edu |
512-475-6041 |
WCH 5.116

Interests: Languages


Chikako H Cooke

Lecturer

hirayama_cooke@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-1843 |
WCH 5.136


Junko Hatanaka

Lecturer

jhatanaka@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6042 |
WCH 5.124

Education: MA in Japanese, MS in Rhetoric and Technical Communications, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Michigan Technological University


Akemi Katayama

Lecturer

akataya@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6043 |
WCH 5.126

Education: MA, 2012, MA, 1996, The University of Alberta, Portland State University

Interests: Second language acquisition and language pedagogy


Yi-Chun Lin

Lecturer

yichunlin@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6042 |
WCH 5.124

Education: M.A., Graduate Institute of Teaching Chinese as a Second Language, National Taiwan Normal University.


Sang-Hoon Park

Lecturer

shoony@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6045 |
WCH 5.130

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin


Tomoko Sakuma

Lecturer

t.sakuma@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6041 |
WCH 5.116

Education: Ph. D., University of Texas at Austin


Midori Tanaka

Lecturer

midori@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7104 |
WCH 5.138

Education: MA, University of Oregon

Interests: Japanese language and lingustics; pedagogy


Other faculty


Tracy Dahlby

Professor, Frank A. Bennack, Jr. Chair in Journalism

tracy.dahlby@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-6272 |
CMA 5.150F

Education: MA, Harvard University


Susan Mays

Faculty

smays@utexas.edu |
BUR 562

Education: PhD and MA, Columbia and Harvard

Interests: East Asia; China; economic & technological development; global economic history


Meng-Fen Su

East Asian Studies Librarian

msu@austin.utexas.edu |
512-495-4323 |
PCL 2.302A