The Economics Department
2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004

Winter Break 2011

Mon, Dec 19, 2011

The university will be closed Friday, December 23rd through Monday, January 2nd for the 2011 winter break. We will return Tuesday, January 3rd.

More Jobs for Mothers, Better Health for Daughters

Thu, Dec 8, 2011

World Bank blog highlights job market candidate Kaveh Majlesi's research on the effect of increased labor demand for older women in Mexico.

Jeff Yuanteng Li (above) and Wenqian Zhang

Two Economics Students Awarded Miller Presidential Scholarship

Mon, Dec 5, 2011

The Economics Department is pleased to announce its selection of undergraduate economics majors Jeff Yuanteng Li and Wenqian Zhang for the 2011-12 Edmund Thornton Miller Endowed Presidential Scholarship.

Winner of Rapoport-King Thesis Scholarship Announced

Sun, Dec 4, 2011

The Economics Department congratulates Hamid Poorsafar as a recipient of a Rapoport-King Thesis Scholarship. Hamid is a senior majoring in Economics, Government, Finance with minors in Mathematics and Core Text and Ideals.

Marika Cabral Selected for 2011 Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award

Tue, Nov 1, 2011

The National Tax Association has selected Marika Cabral for the 2011 Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award for her dissertation “Essays on Insurance and Taxation.”

George Shoukey, Max Stinchcombe, and Benjamin Sperison

2011 Second Year Paper Award Ceremony Held

Tue, Nov 1, 2011

Benjamin Sperisen was chosen for the award for Best Second Year Paper for 2011.

Students Invited to Attend OECD Economics Trivia Event

Tue, Oct 4, 2011

The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) is hosting a trivia night on Monday, October 10th at 6:30pm in SAC 2.120.

Economics Major Chosen as OECD Student Ambassador

Mon, Oct 3, 2011

The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) has selected economics and math major Steve Karson as student ambassador for the University of Texas at Austin.

New ODE Members Inducted

Mon, Oct 3, 2011

ODE at UT, the University’s chapter of the economics honor society, Omicron Delta Epsilon, will induct 20 new members this Fall. Omicron Delta Epsilon is one of the world’s largest academic honor societies and is dedicated to students studying the field of economics.

Congratulations 2011-2012 UEP Scholarship Award Winners!

Mon, Jun 6, 2011

The Department of Economics is proud to announce that eight economics majors have been awarded a 2011-2012 Unrestricted Endowed Presidential Scholarship (UEPS).

Economics Scholars Program Conference

Wed, Apr 6, 2011

Fifteen economics undergraduate students and two economics staff chaperones attended the Economics Scholars Program Conference on Friday, April 1st, 2011 at the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas.

The Economics of Beauty

Thu, Mar 31, 2011

Good-looking people are generally happier than their plain looking or unattractive counterparts, largely because of the higher salaries, other economic benefits and more successful spouses that come with beauty, according to new research from economists at The University of Texas at Austin.

The Texas Economics Association collects donations for Books4Cause.

Fri, Mar 4, 2011

The Texas Economics Association, a student organization for Economics undergraduates, brought its spirit of community service to the halls of the Rapoport building this February.

President Bill Powers addresses the crowd and beloved Bevo watches over the event.

Our New Neighbor, the Student Activity Center, Holds Ribbon Cutting Ceremony

Tue, Feb 8, 2011

President Powers and Student Government President Scott Parks spoke at the ribbon cutting ceremony held on Monday, Feb. 7th.

Audrey Straus (left), recipient of 2010 Senior Thesis Prize in Economics

Announcement of Thesis Award Winner

Wed, Feb 2, 2011

The Department of Economics is very pleased to announce Audrey Straus as the 2010 recipient of the newly established Senior Thesis Prize in Economics.

Economics Award Created to Honor UT Professor

Wed, Feb 2, 2011

The Society for Computational Economics, an international society of scholars that supports research in computational economics and finance, has created an award, the David A. Kendrick Distinguished Service Award, which will be given to individuals who stand out for their contributions to the fields of computational economics and finance.