History Department
History Department

College of Liberal Arts Pro Bene Meritis Award honors two Visiting Committee members — both history alumni

Tue, March 8, 2011
Visiting Committee members Carolyn and Peyton Townsend
Visiting Committee members Carolyn and Peyton Townsend

Honorees are chosen for their outstanding service to the College of Liberal Arts. This year's recipients will be honored at an awards ceremony on Thursday, April 28 at the San Jacinto Residence Hall Multi-Purpose Room.

Carolyn Townsend is a civic volunteer and former academic language therapist. A dedicated supporter of the College of Liberal Arts, she serves as Chair of the Liberal Arts Advisory Council and on the Executive Committee for the Chancellor's Council. She also serves on the Department of History Visiting Committee.

She was a member of the Commission of 125 in the mid 2000's. The Commission was a group of citizens charged with recommending initiatives for the university to implement over the next 25 years on how to best serve the citizens of Texas and improve undergraduate curriculum.

Peyton Townsend
is First Vice-President at RBC Wealth Management. A longtime member of The University of Texas at Austin community, Townsend serves on the University of Texas Development Board, the Liberal Arts Advisory Council, the McCombs School of Business Advisory Council, and the Department of History Visiting Committee. He also served as Chair of the Investments Committee at the Texas Exes for seven years.

The Townsends are also both on the Longhorn Foundation Advisory Council, the Thomas Jefferson Center for the Study of Core Text and Ideas Visiting Committee, and in the Texas Leadership Society with a bequest to the Normandy Scholars Program.

Retired Distinguished Teaching Professor of History G. Howard Miller was also chosen this year.

Bookmark and Share