History Department
History Department

Karl Hagstrom Miller Selected to Receive President’s Associates Teaching Excellence Award

Wed, December 18, 2013
Photo of Prof. Karl Hagstrom Miller by Tamir Kalifa.
Photo of Prof. Karl Hagstrom Miller by Tamir Kalifa.

Three faculty members from the College of Liberal Arts have been selected to receive the President's Associates Teaching Excellence Award for the 2013-2014 academic year at The University of Texas at Austin, including Karl Hagstrom Miller, Associate Professor in the Department of History.

This $5,000 award recognizes great teaching of undergraduates in the core curriculum. The recipients will be honored with a banquet in the spring.

"I congratulate Karl" wrote Alan Tully, Chair of the History Department, in an announcement to History faculty, "for classroom teaching deserving of this award."

The two other distinguished recipients are Héctor Domínguez Ruvalcaba, Associate Professor of Spanish and Portuguese, and Elizabeth Richmond-Garza, Associate Professor of English.

The awards are based upon selections received from the deans and department chairs in the College of Liberal Arts, the College of Natural Sciences and the School of Undergraduate Studies. All selections are reviewed by the vice provost, who then makes recommendations to the executive vice president and provost.

Karl Hagstrom Miller: Bringing Award-Winning Research to the Classroom
Designing History's Future: Course Transformation Program in the History Department at UT Austin

Bookmark and Share