Skip Navigation
UT Wordmark
human resources header title graphic

Liberal Arts Staff Excellence Award

In 1985, the College established an annual staff awards program to honor outstanding staff members. The winners of the award will receive a cash award and a framed certificate signed by the Dean, and will be invited to an awards luncheon hosted by the Dean. Up to four awards are given out annually.

Eligibility requirements

  • Nominees must have been employed in the College of Liberal Arts for two or more years in a classified title for 20 hours a week or more.
  • Faculty and students are not eligible for this award.
  • Former award winners are eligible for renomination after five years (see list below).


  • The nomination period will run from April 2 through April 21, 2014.
  • Students, staff, and faculty from the University community may submit nominations.
  • Nominations will be evaluated on the following merits:
  • Impact on the College/University
  • Demonstrate a high level of collaboration, cooperation and communication
  • Consistently perform at a level above normal job requirements.
  • Nominations are submitted online and are kept confidential.
  • All nominations must be received by 5:00 pm, April 21, 2014.
  • To nominate a person, you must provide the following information: The Liberal Arts employee's name, department, job title, and your reason(s) for nomination.

Congratulations to the following 2013-2014 Staff Excellence Award Winners!


Stacey Amorous
Senior Program Coordinator
Liberal Arts Honors Program

William Fatzinger
Graduate Program Coordinator
Program in Comparative Literature

Heather Gatlin
Administrative Manager
Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies

Martha Gonzalez
Administrative Associate
Department of History

Kevin Hsu
Senior Administrative Associate
Department of Sociology

Ben Rapstine
Graduate Program Coordinator
Department of Linguistics


Carolina Villanueva
Administrative Assistant
Department of Government

Recent recipients (Not eligible)

Grant Barger, Denise Beachum, Mark Boze, Beth Chichester, Leslie Crooks, Paloma Díaz, Sally Dickson, Mary Dillman, Adriana Dingman, John Fleming, Laura Flack, Michelle Hughes, Stephanie Kaufman, Mary Kleba, David Macha, Olga Macha, Courtney Meador, Beth Norris, Roelia Rios, Suloni Robertson, Myra Rodriguez, Kim Snyder, Amy Stewart, Stephanie Valdez

Previous Excellence Award winners from 1995-present