Institute of Mental Research
Institute of Mental Research
Search for people
Photo of Sarah Kate Bearman

Sarah Kate Bearman

Assistant Professor

skbearman@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-0287 |
SZB 254G

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Dissemination and implementation of treatment into typical service settings; treatment of youth anxiety, depression, disruptive behavior and post-traumatic stress disorders; treatment integrity, the development of therapist competence; clinical supervision.

Photo of Christopher G Beevers

Christopher G Beevers

Professor and Director of the Institute for Mental Health Research

beevers@utexas.edu |
(512) 232-3706 |
CLA 4.528

Education: Ph.D., University of Miami

Interests: Etiology, maintenance, and treatment of unipolar depression in adults; translational behavioral research; integration of genetic and cognitive perspectives.

Photo of Yessenia Castro

Yessenia Castro

Assistant Professor

ycastro@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-0778 |
HLP 295D

Education: Ph.D., The Florida State University

Interests: Development, evaluation, and dissemination of interventions for health risk behaviors; effects of cultural factors, gender, and race/ethnicity on health behavior; Latino health; psychometrics.

Photo of Bharath Chandrasekaran

Bharath Chandrasekaran

Assistant Professor

bchandra@mail.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-2035 |
CMA 4.137

Education: Ph.D., Purdue University

Interests: Sensory and cognitive processes that underlie speech and music perception in normal and clinical populations using functional magnetic resonance imaging and electrophysiological methods.

Photo of Jessica Church-Lang

Jessica Church-Lang

Assistant Professor

church@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Washington University at St. Louis

Photo of Robert A Josephs

Robert A Josephs

Professor

bob.josephs@utexas.edu |
(512) 471-9788 |
SEA 3.204

Education: Ph.D., University of Michigan

Interests: Person-environment interaction and its contribution to psychopathology, such as depression, anxiety, and alcohol use; human neuroendocrinology, molecular genetics, and social psychology.

Photo of Timothy J. Loving

Timothy J. Loving

Associate Professor

tjloving@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-0973 |
SEA 2.322G

Education: Ph.D., Purdue University

Interests: Interests: Adolescence and young adulthood; interpersonal relationships and its relation to mental health; open science and research transparency.

Photo of Todd Maddox

Todd Maddox

Professor

(512) 475-8494 |
SEA 5.226

Education: PhD, University of California, Santa Barbara

Interests: Cognitive neuroscience of classification, decision-making and attention; translational applications to normal aging, neurological and clinical disorders.

Photo of Igor Marchetti

Igor Marchetti

Postdoctoral Researcher

igor.marchetti@ugent.be |
CLA 4.600

Education: Ph.D., Ghent University

Photo of Marie H Monfils

Marie H Monfils

Assistant Professor

marie.monfils@gmail.com |
(512) 471-4139 |
SEA 6.104

Education: Ph.D., University of Lethbridge

Interests: Fear conditioning, learning, memory, consolidation, extinction, reconsolidation, synaptic plasticity, and long-term potentiation

Photo of Kari Nations

Kari Nations

Research Fellow and Clinical Assistant Professor

kari.nations@mail.utexas.edu |
(512) 475-6817 |
SEA 4.310

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Depression, placebo response, biomarkers of treatment response, treatment outcome research.

Photo of Rebecca Neal-Beevers

Rebecca Neal-Beevers

Psychology Research Scientist

nealr@psy.utexas.edu |
(512) 475-8491 |
CLA 4.526

Education: Ph.D., University of Miami

Interests: Social and communication development in infants and young children; early identification of developmental delay in at-risk populations; autism

Photo of Mark Powers

Mark Powers

Research Associate Professor

mbpowers@utexas.edu |
512-471-4253 |
CLA 4.524

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Nature, causes, and treatment of PTSD and other Anxiety and Substance Use Disorders

Photo of David M Schnyer

David M Schnyer

Professor

schnyer@utexas.edu |
(512) 475-8499 |
SEA 5.246

Education: Ph.D., University of Arizona

Interests: Cognitive neuroscience in healthy and disordered populations, especially aging and depression; EEG, MEG, fMRI methodologies.

Photo of Jason Shumake

Jason Shumake

Biostatistician / Research Assistant Professor

shumake@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 232-2206 |
CLA 4.414

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: statistics and data analysis, individual differences, emotion and emotional disorders, computational neuroanatomy

Photo of Jasper Smits

Jasper Smits

Professor

smits@utexas.edu |
(512) 475-8095 |
CLA 4.522

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Development of behavioral and integrative treatments for anxiety disorders (e.g., social anxiety disorder, panic disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder) and related problems (smoking, overeating, physical inactivity)

Photo of Michael J Telch

Michael J Telch

Professor

telch@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 475-8488 (Direct) (512) 471-3393 (Secretary) |
SEA 3.102

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests: In addition to my academic interests (see above), I enjoy travel, boating, health and fitness, music, and many sports.