Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
nais masthead nais masthead
Shannon Speed, Director

Advisory Council

NAIS is led by an Advisory Council, which is made up of NAIS Affiliated Faculty from a variety of backgrounds.  The Advisory Council works in conjunction with our Director and Associate Director.


Dr. Shannon Speed, Anthropology

Associate Director

Dr. James Cox, English

Advisory Council

Dr. Erika Bsumek, History

Dr Luis Carcamo-Huechante, Spanish and Portuguese

Dr. Matthew Cohen, English

Dr. Steven Hoelscher, American Studies

Dr. Martha Menchaca, Anthropology

Dr. Loriene Roy, School of Information

Dr. Pauline Strong, Anthropology

Dr. Circe Sturm, Anthropology

Dr. Gerrald Torres, Law

bottom border