Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
llilas masthead
Charles R. Hale, Director SRH 1.310, 2300 Red River Street D0800, Austin, TX 78712 • 512.471.5551

CILLA Steering Committee

Megan Crowhurst, Associate Professor of Linguistics, Department of Linguistics
Specializes in Bolivian indigenous languages; phonology, speech perception.

Patience Epps, Assistant Professor, Department of Linguistics
Specialist in Amazonian languages, linguistic typology, languages in contact.

Charles R. Hale, Western Hemispheric Trade Studies Chair and Director, Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies; Professor, Department of Anthropology
Areas of expertise are Latin America and the Caribbean; identity politics, consciousness and resistance, activist anthropology.

Telma Can Pixabaj, graduate student, Department of Linguistics
Speaker of K’ichee’ (Mayan) from Guatemala.

Joel Sherzer, Professor Emeritus, Department of Anthropology
Specialist in North and South American Indian languages, Kuna; linguistic anthropology, ethnography of speaking.

David Stuart, Linda and David Schele Chair in the Art and Writing of Mesoamerica, Department of Art and Art History
Expert in Mayan and Mesoamerican writing, ancient Mayan history and archaeology.

Gerald Torres, H. O. Head Centennial Professor in Real Property Law, School of Law
Areas of expertise in critical race theory, agricultural and environmental law.

Anthony C. Woodbury, Professor, Department of Linguistics
Specialist in Native American linguistics, Eskimo; grammatical theory, field linguistics, oral discourse.

bottom border