Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
llilas masthead
Charles R. Hale, Director SRH 1.310, 2300 Red River Street D0800, Austin, TX 78712 • 512.471.5551

Past Events

Sat, Dec 17, 2005 9:00 AM | Cisco's Restaurant and Bakery, 1511 E. 6th Street

Meeting: ''Amigos de la Frontera Desayuno en Austin''

Mon, Dec 12, 2005 6:00 PM | Texas Union Theatre

Cultural Arts Event: ''Las Posadas 2005''

Mon, Dec 12, 2005 12:00 PM | Chicano Culture Room, Texas Union 4.206

Roundtable Discussion: ''Guadalupe is Her Name, 1531-2005''

Thu, Dec 8, 2005 5:30 PM | WMB 5.102

Exhibit and Opening Reception: ''Guadalupe is Her Name''

Mon, Dec 5, 2005 12:00 PM | EPS 1.128

Lecture: ''Cultural Analysis and Race''

Sat, Dec 3, 2005 6:00 PM | Las Manitas Avenue Cafe, 221 Congress Ave.

Closing Reception: ''Festival de las Plantas''

Fri, Dec 2, 2005 4:00 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.320

Reception: ''UT Public Policy Network''

Fri, Dec 2, 2005 6:00 PM | Mexic-Arte Museum, 419 Congress Ave.

Opening Gala: ''Noche Navideña 2005: Collecting Latin American Art''

Wed, Nov 30, 2005 12:00 PM | Sinclair Suite, Texas Union 3.128

Lecture: ''Paying for Their Status: Undocumented Immigrant Students and College Access''

Sat, Nov 19, 2005 9:00 AM | La Peña, 227 Congress Avenue

Benefit Sale: ''Benefit Sale for Guatemala Mudslide Victims''

Sat, Nov 19, 2005 10:00 AM | Copa Bar and Grill, 217 Congress

Craft Sale Fundraiser: ''Women and Fair Trade: Craft Sale and Education''

Sat, Nov 19, 2005 2:00 PM | Copa Bar and Grill, 217 Congress

Community Forum: ''Building a Culture of Fair Trade''

Fri, Nov 18, 2005 10:00 AM | Copa Bar and Grill, 217 Congress

Craft Sale Fundraiser: ''Women and Fair Trade: Craft Sale and Education''

Thu, Nov 17, 2005 12:00 PM | Main Lobby, LBJ School of Public Affairs

Degree Fair: ''LBJ Dual Degree Fair''

Wed, Nov 16, 2005 12:00 PM | Governors' Room, Texas Union 3.116

Poetry Reading: ''Santo de la Pata Alzada: Poems from the Queer/Xicano/Positive Pen''

Wed, Nov 16, 2005 4:30 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Lecture: ''Development and Globalization: A Central American Perspective''

Wed, Nov 16, 2005 5:00 PM | Benson Latin American Collection Library, Seminar Room

LAS Student Meeting: ''Cabildo Abierto''

Tue, Nov 15, 2005 | Texas Governors' Room, UNB 3.116; Dean's Conference Room, SSW 2.206

Conference: ''Youth, Education, and Juvenile Justice: Perspectives from the U.S. and Brazil''

Mon, Nov 14, 2005 | Texas Governors' Room, UNB 3.116; Dean's Conference Room, SSW 2.206

Conference: ''Youth, Education, and Juvenile Justice: Perspectives from the U.S. and Brazil''

Mon, Nov 14, 2005 2:00 PM | UT Law School, Sheffield Room, TNH 2.111

Lecture: ''Journey for Justice''

Mon, Nov 14, 2005 5:00 PM | School of Music, Recital Studio 2.608

Book Presentation: ''The Latin American Art Song''

Sat, Nov 12, 2005 | University of Texas at El Paso

Conference: ''Envisioning Bracero History''

Fri, Nov 11, 2005 7:30 PM | First Unitarian Universalist Church, 4700 Grover Lane

Lecture: ''Journey for Justice: Stop Impunity Now!''

Fri, Nov 11, 2005 | University of Texas at El Paso

Conference: ''Envisioning Bracero History''

Fri, Nov 11, 2005 8:30 PM | Ruta Maya, 3601 S. Congress

Fundraiser: ''A Community Radio Benefit''

Thu, Nov 10, 2005 | University of Texas at El Paso

Conference: ''Envisioning Bracero History''

Sat, Nov 5, 2005 1:00 PM | Benson Library, SRH 1.115

Workshop: ''Resumes that Get Results''

Sat, Nov 5, 2005 8:00 PM | Barocca Studios, 1623 South Lamar

Fundraiser: ''Annual ILASSA Fundraising Party''

Sat, Nov 5, 2005 8:30 AM | Waller Creek, UT Campus

Volunteer Opportunity: ''Waller Creek Cleanup''

Fri, Nov 4, 2005 7:00 PM | Texas Union Theatre

Film Screening: ''En Route to Baghdad''

Fri, Nov 4, 2005 12:00 PM | Sinclair Suite, Texas Union 3.128

Panel Discussion: ''Dilemmas of UN Humanitarian Intervention: The Case of Iraq''

Thu, Nov 3, 2005 7:00 PM | La Pe±a, 227 Congress Avenue

Book Signing and Reception: ''Erotic Journeys: Mexican Immigrants and Their Sex Lives''

Wed, Nov 2, 2005 2:00 PM | Shelton Chapel, Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary

Lecture: ''Faces of Christianity in Brazil''

Wed, Nov 2, 2005 4:00 PM | Asian Culture Room, Texas Union 4.224

Lecture: ''Migration In and Out of Guatemala: Socioeconomic Effects and Human Rights''

Sat, Oct 29, 2005 6:00 PM | La Pe±a Gallery, 227 Congress Ave.

Exhibition: ''Recuerde: An Exhibition for Dia de los Muertos''

Thu, Oct 27, 2005 7:00 PM | Alamo Drafthouse Cinema, 4th and Colorado

Film Screening: ''Haiti: The Untold Story''

Tue, Oct 25, 2005 6:00 PM | EPS 2.136

Panel Discussion: ''Scholarly Activism''

Sun, Oct 23, 2005 4:00 PM | Westminster Presbyterian Church, 3208 Exposition Blvd.

Concert: ''Sacred Folk Music of Latin America''

Thu, Oct 20, 2005 7:30 PM | Lois Perkins Chapel, Southwestern University, Georgetown

Presentation: ''An Evening with Carlos Fuentes: Readings and Commentary''

Tue, Oct 18, 2005 4:30 PM | Sheffield Room, Law School

Forum: ''Workers' Rights are Human Rights''

Mon, Oct 17, 2005 7:00 PM | BookWoman, 918 West 12th Street

Booksigning and Reception: ''Drive: The First Quartet''

Sat, Oct 15, 2005 9:00 AM | Cisco's Restaurant and Bakery, 1511 E. 6th Street

Meeting: ''Amigos de la Frontera Desayuno en Austin''

Thu, Oct 13, 2005 7:00 PM | Texas Union Showroom, 2.208

Celebration: ''2nd Annual Dia de la Raza Celebration''

Fri, Oct 7, 2005 | Baylor University

Conference: ''Free Trade in the Americas''

Thu, Oct 6, 2005 | Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection, SRH Unit 1

Exhibit: ''Paso a paso: Views of Grassroots Development in Latin America and the Caribbean''

Thu, Oct 6, 2005 | Baylor University

Conference: ''Free Trade in the Americas''

Wed, Oct 5, 2005 6:00 PM | Benson Library, SRH 1.115

Workshop: ''Career Targeting: Focusing Your Career Plan''

Sat, Oct 1, 2005 | Gallista Gallery, 1913 S. Flores, San Antonio

Exhibit: ''Mechicano Alliance of Space Artisans (MASA)''

Sat, Oct 1, 2005 | Chicano Culture Room, Texas Union 4.206

Conference: ''Don Quijote in the Spanish-Speaking World: 1605-2005''

Fri, Sep 30, 2005 | Chicano Culture Room, Texas Union 4.206

Conference: ''Don Quijote in the Spanish-Speaking World: 1605-2005''

Wed, Sep 28, 2005 12:00 PM | Eastwoods Room, Texas Union 2.102

Lecture: ''Beneath the Human Rights—Civil Rights Disconnect''

Fri, Sep 23, 2005 12:15 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Lecture: ''Comparative Social Policy in Latin America''

Tue, Sep 20, 2005 7:00 PM | MEZ B0.306

Film Screening: ''Born in Brazil''

Tue, Sep 20, 2005 11:45 AM | UT Campus Club, Guadalupe and 25th

Luncheon and Lecture: ''U.S.-Mexico Political Relations: Immigration, Drugs, and Related Issues''

Sun, Sep 18, 2005 | Various times and locations

Film Festival: ''Cinematexas International Short Film Festival''

Sat, Sep 17, 2005 | Various times and locations

Film Festival: ''Cinematexas International Short Film Festival''

Fri, Sep 16, 2005 9:00 AM | Avaya Auditorium, ACE 2.302

Conference: ''Brazil: Race and Politics in the Americas''

Fri, Sep 16, 2005 11:00 AM | CMA 5.160

Presentation: ''Chicanos in Journalism: 30 Years Later''

Fri, Sep 16, 2005 3:30 PM | HRH 3.102

Panel Discussion: ''Mexico: Independence and the Future''

Fri, Sep 16, 2005 | Various times and locations

Film Festival: ''Cinematexas International Short Film Festival''

Thu, Sep 15, 2005 | Various times and locations

Film Festival: ''Cinematexas International Short Film Festival''

Thu, Sep 15, 2005 6:00 PM | Waterloo Park, 403 E. 15th Street

Celebration: ''Diez y Seis de Septiembre''

Thu, Sep 15, 2005 1:00 PM | Bates Recital Hall

Memorial Ceremony: "Gerard Behague"

Wed, Sep 14, 2005 12:30 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Brown Bag Lecture: ''The State of the States of Central America''

Wed, Sep 14, 2005 | Various times and locations

Film Festival: ''Cinematexas International Short Film Festival''

Mon, Sep 12, 2005 5:30 PM | West Mall Building, 5th floor

Exhibit and Opening Reception: ''Bienvenida and Serie XII Inaugural Art Exhibition''

Wed, Aug 24, 2005 | Sid Richardson Hall

LLILAS New Student Orientation

Sat, Aug 20, 2005 9:00 AM | Cisco's Restaurant and Bakery, 1511 E. 6th Street

Meeting: ''Amigos de la Frontera Desayuno en Austin''

Thu, Jul 14, 2005 5:00 PM | Tesoros Trading Company, 209 Congress Avenue

Reception: ''De Arte Popular do Brazil e Peru''

Sun, Jul 3, 2005 | Benson Latin American Collection Library

Exhibit: ''Espinas y Esperanzas''

Sat, Jun 18, 2005 9:00 AM | Cisco'­s Restaurant and Bakery, 1511 E. 6th Street

Meeting: ''Amigos de la Frontera Desayuno en Austin''

Fri, May 20, 2005 5:30 PM | Benson Latin American Collection, Reading Room

Reception: ''LLILAS Graduate Student Reception''

Sun, May 1, 2005 | Benson Latin American Collection

Exhibit: ''Mujeres Por La Raza Unida/The Women of La Raza Unida''

Sat, Apr 30, 2005 10:00 AM | SRH 1.313

Workshop: ''Beginning Portuguese for Spanish Speakers''

Thu, Apr 28, 2005 | Bass Lecture Hall

Book Presentation: ''Democracy in Latin America''

Thu, Apr 28, 2005 5:00 PM | Bass Lecture Hall, LBJ School

Symposium: ''Democracy in Latin America: Political Change in Comparative Perspective''

Wed, Apr 27, 2005 8:00 PM | ALLGO, 701 Tillery Street

Performance: ''The Book of Daniel'' and ''Kitundu!''

Tue, Apr 26, 2005 12:00 PM | Texas Governors' Room, Texas Union 3.116

Lecture: ''Becoming Brazilian: Ethnicity and National Identity''

Tue, Apr 26, 2005 8:00 PM | ALLGO, 701 Tillery Street

Performance: ''The Book of Daniel'' and ''Kitundu!''

Mon, Apr 25, 2005 8:00 PM | ALLGO, 701 Tillery Street

Performance: ''The Book of Daniel'' and ''Kitundu!''

Sun, Apr 24, 2005 | Various times and locations

Film Festival: ''8th Cine las Americas International Film Festival''

Sun, Apr 24, 2005 8:00 PM | ALLGO, 701 Tillery Street

Performance: ''The Book of Daniel'' and ''Kitundu!''

Sat, Apr 23, 2005 | Various times and locations

Film Festival: ''8th Cine las Americas International Film Festival''

Fri, Apr 22, 2005 3:30 PM | WIN 2.112

Lecture: ''My Favorite Things: The Harmonics of Hybridity''

Fri, Apr 22, 2005 | Various times and locations

Film Festival: ''8th Cine las Americas International Film Festival''

Thu, Apr 21, 2005 | Various times and locations

Film Festival: ''8th Cine las Americas International Film Festival''

Thu, Apr 21, 2005 12:00 PM | Asian Culture Room, Texas Union 4.224

Lecture: ''Indigenous Peoples in Brazilian Amazonia: Data Sources and Some Demographic Analysis''

Wed, Apr 20, 2005 | Various times and locations

Film Festival: ''8th Cine las Americas International Film Festival''

Tue, Apr 19, 2005 7:00 PM | Eastwoods Room, Texas Union 2.102

Colloquium: ''2005 Honors Colloquium in Mexican American Studies''

Tue, Apr 19, 2005 | Texas Union

Conference: ''Cine las Americas Conference''

Mon, Apr 18, 2005 | Texas Union

Conference: ''Cine las Americas Conference''

Sun, Apr 17, 2005 | April 15, UTC 4.124; April 16, UTC 4.132; April 17, UTC 4.132

Conference: ''Symposium About Language and Society—Austin (SALSA) XIII''

Sat, Apr 16, 2005 9:00 AM | Juan in a Million Restaurant, 2300 East C©sar Chavez Street

Meeting: ''Amigos de la Frontera Desayuno en Austin''

Sat, Apr 16, 2005 | April 15, UTC 4.124; April 16, UTC 4.132; April 17, UTC 4.132

Conference: ''Symposium About Language and Society—Austin (SALSA) XIII''

Sat, Apr 16, 2005 10:00 AM | Waterloo Park

Fundraiser: ''Walk for Safe Families and Safe Streets''

Fri, Apr 15, 2005 9:00 AM | LBJ Library and Museum, 8th floor atrium

Symposium: ''LBJ and Latin America: New Documents, New Perspectives''

Fri, Apr 15, 2005 4:30 PM | Sinclair Suite, Texas Union 3.128

Lecture: ''Etnicidad, estado y nación, 1808–1914''

Fri, Apr 15, 2005 5:00 PM | MEZ Auditorium

Film Screening: ''El crimen del Padre Amaro''

Fri, Apr 15, 2005 | April 15, UTC 4.124; April 16, UTC 4.132; April 17, UTC 4.132

Conference: ''Symposium About Language and Society—Austin (SALSA) XIII''

Wed, Apr 13, 2005 11:00 AM | UGL Porch

University Event: ''Stressfest 2005''

Wed, Apr 13, 2005 | April 12, Texas Union Theatre; April 13, BEN 2.104

Conference: ''Dialogues on the Mexico-U.S. Border Violence''

Tue, Apr 12, 2005 | April 12, Texas Union Theatre; April 13, BEN 2.104

Conference: ''Dialogues on the Mexico-U.S. Border Violence''

Tue, Apr 12, 2005 7:00 PM | Bass Lecture Hall, LBJ School

Public Forum: ''Women Engaging Globally''

Mon, Apr 11, 2005 4:00 PM | Santa Rita Room, Texas Union 3.502

Lecture: ''Aztlan Recalled to Life: Chicanos, Religious Orientations, and the Search for Home"

Fri, Apr 8, 2005 8:15 AM | SRH 1.313

Workshop: ''Conducting Field Research in Latin America''

Fri, Apr 8, 2005 12:00 PM | Eastwoods Room, Texas Union 2.102

Lecture: ''College Persistence of Mexican Americans''

Thu, Apr 7, 2005 7:30 PM | St. Ignatius Catholic Church, 126 West Oltorf

Public Forum: ''Blood, Sweat, and Fear: Workers' Rights in the U.S. Meat and Poultry Plants''

Thu, Apr 7, 2005 4:00 PM | BEN 2.104

Lecture: ''Modernidad, Movilidad, Cultura''

Thu, Apr 7, 2005 8:00 PM | Bates Recital Hall

Performance: ''The Brazilian Trombone Ensemble and Judith Hancock''

Mon, Apr 4, 2005 5:30 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Workshop: ''Interview Workshop''

Sat, Apr 2, 2005 8:00 PM | Lab Theatre, 23rd and San Jacinto Streets

Performance: ''The Austin Project Jam Sessions: Performance/Poetry/Movement''

Sat, Apr 2, 2005 12:00 PM | Pan Am Hillside Stage, 2100 W. 3rd Street

Celebration: ''Reflection and Tribute to Romero''

Fri, Apr 1, 2005 | Thompson Conference Center Auditorium 1.110; LBJ School of Public Affairs, SRH 3.102

International Conference Workshop: ''The Metropolitan Question: Governance and Decentralization in the Americas''

Fri, Apr 1, 2005 12:00 PM | EPS 1.128

Lecture: ''What is the Color of Sacred?''

Thu, Mar 31, 2005 | Thompson Conference Center Auditorium 1.110; LBJ School of Public Affairs, SRH 3.102

International Conference Workshop: ''The Metropolitan Question: Governance and Decentralization in the Americas''

Wed, Mar 23, 2005 12:10 PM | Eidman Courtroom, UT School of Law

Lecture: ''Security and Justice in Mexico''

Fri, Mar 11, 2005 1:00 PM | LBJ Library, 8th floor

Conference: ''Labor in the Americas''

Thu, Mar 10, 2005 1:00 PM | LBJ Library, 8th floor

Conference: ''Labor in the Americas''

Mon, Mar 7, 2005 5:00 PM | CMA Building, LBJ Room 5.160

Lecture: ''Democracy, Transparency, and Mexico's IFAI''

Fri, Feb 11, 2005 3:30 PM | SRH 1.111

Conference: ''Working Borders''

Thu, Feb 10, 2005 3:30 PM | SRH 1.111

Conference: ''Working Borders''

bottom border