Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
llilas masthead
Charles R. Hale, Director SRH 1.310, 2300 Red River Street D0800, Austin, TX 78712 • 512.471.5551

Past Events

Sat, Dec 20, 2008 9:00 AM | Cisco's Restaurant and Bakery, 1511 E. 6th Street

Meeting: ''Amigos de la Frontera Desayuno en Austin''

Mon, Nov 24, 2008 8:00 PM | Recital Studio, MRH 2.608

Live Music: ''Early Music Ensemble''

Wed, Nov 19, 2008 1:00 PM | SRH Breezeway

Dedication: ''''El Rey' Replica Dedication Ceremony''

Tue, Nov 18, 2008 4:00 PM | ATT Conference Center Ballroom

Lecture: ''Nuevos Retos que Mexico Tendra que Enfrentar''

Tue, Nov 18, 2008 5:30 PM | LBJ School South Lobby, SRH Unit 3

Photo Exhibit: ''Indigenous Struggles for Autonomy in Chile: The Role of Technology''

Sat, Nov 15, 2008 8:00 PM | Recital Studio, MRH 2.608

Live Music: ''Tex-Mex Conjunto Ensemble''

Fri, Nov 14, 2008 12:15 PM | SRH 1.320

Lecture: ''Black Images in Mexican Media''

Fri, Nov 14, 2008 7:00 PM | Recital Studio, MRH 2.608

Live Music: ''South American Ensemble and Mariachi Ensemble''

Fri, Nov 14, 2008 10:00 AM | Eastwoods Room, Texas Union 2.102

Panel: ''Amazon ABCs: Ants, Birds, and Other Critters''

Fri, Nov 14, 2008 6:00 PM | Carver Museum, 1165 Angelina Street

Lecture: ''The Black Presence in Mexico''

Thu, Nov 13, 2008 12:00 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Information Session: ''Opportunities for Study Abroad in Brazil''

Thu, Nov 13, 2008 2:00 PM | Sinclair Suite, Texas Union 3.128

Panel: ''Emerging Artists and Artistic Expression in Brazil''

Wed, Nov 12, 2008 8:00 PM | Recital Studio, MRH 2.608

Live Music: ''Caribbean Ensemble''

Wed, Nov 12, 2008 1:00 PM | International Center of Austin, 201 E. 2nd Street

Workshop: ''Doing Business with Brazil''

Tue, Nov 11, 2008 2:00 PM | Texas Governors' Room, Texas Union 3.116

Panel: ''Renewable Energy in Latin America: Current Issues''

Mon, Nov 10, 2008 11:00 AM | Conference Room, Jester A232A

Conference: ''Zumbi dos Palmares: 2008 Black Brazilian Consciousness Day''

Mon, Nov 10, 2008 10:00 AM | Eastwoods Room, Texas Union 2.102

Panel: ''Afro-Brazilian Quilombo Communites' Struggle for Land''

Fri, Nov 7, 2008 7:00 PM | Historic Victory Grill, 1104 E. 11th Street

Fundraiser: ''ILASSA Student Conference Fundraising Party''

Thu, Nov 6, 2008 7:00 PM | Jones Auditorium, Ragsdale Center, St. Edward's University

Book Presentation: ''Update: The U.S. and Cuba''

Tue, Nov 4, 2008 11:00 AM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Lecture: ''Poverty and Favelas: Past and Present''

Fri, Oct 31, 2008 1:30 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Lecture: ''The Role of the U.S. in the Organization of American States''

Mon, Oct 27, 2008 4:30 PM | AT and T Conference Center, Room 203

Lecture: ''The Politics of Economics in Latin America''

Thu, Oct 23, 2008 | Texas A&M University, College Station, TX

Symposium: ''The African Presence in Mexico''

Wed, Oct 22, 2008 6:00 PM | Rare Books Room, Benson Latin American Collection

Book Presentation: ''El Lindero que Definio a la Nacion/The Border That Defined a Nation''

Wed, Oct 22, 2008 3:30 PM | Fleming Room, Law School 1.108BA

Informal Talk: ''Merienda with Visiting Resource Professor Roberto Gargarella''

Wed, Oct 22, 2008 | Texas A&M University, College Station, TX

Symposium: ''The African Presence in Mexico''

Mon, Oct 20, 2008 7:00 PM | MEZ 0.306

Film Screening: ''The War on Democracy''

Sat, Oct 18, 2008 9:00 AM | Cisco's Restaurant and Bakery, 1511 E. 6th Street

Meeting: ''Amigos de la Frontera Desayuno en Austin''

Fri, Oct 17, 2008 5:30 PM | Central Market Deck, 40th and N. Lamar

Happy Hour: ''Brazil Center Social Hour''

Fri, Oct 17, 2008 4:00 PM | UTC 2.112A

Lecture: ''1491: Landscapes of the Americas before Columbus''

Sun, Oct 12, 2008 | Various Locations, UT Campus

Conference: ''1968: A Global Perspective''

Sat, Oct 11, 2008 | Various Locations, UT Campus

Conference: ''1968: A Global Perspective''

Fri, Oct 10, 2008 | Various Locations, UT Campus

Conference: ''1968: A Global Perspective''

Thu, Oct 9, 2008 | Various Locations, UT Campus

Conference: ''1968: A Global Perspective''

Wed, Oct 8, 2008 | Various Locations, UT Campus

Conference: ''1968: A Global Perspective''

Tue, Oct 7, 2008 | Various Locations, UT Campus

Conference: ''1968: A Global Perspective''

Thu, Oct 2, 2008 12:15 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Lecture: ''Problems with Development in Rural Mexico''

Mon, Sep 29, 2008 8:00 PM | Garrison Hall

Film Screening: ''Quanto Vale ou e por Quilo''

Mon, Sep 29, 2008 12:00 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Brown Bag Lecture: ''Centennial Anniversary: Joaquim Maria Machado de Assis''

Mon, Sep 22, 2008 12:00 PM | BUR 214

Lecture: ''The World Urban Hierarchy: From Top to Bottom''

Fri, Sep 19, 2008 12:00 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Lecture: ''Africanizing the Early Iberian Atlantic World''

Tue, Sep 16, 2008 5:00 PM | Main Mall, UT Campus

Celebration: ''Celebracion de la Independencia''

Mon, Sep 15, 2008 8:00 PM | GAR 0.102

Film Screening: ''Erendira''

Mon, Sep 15, 2008 12:00 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Brown Bag Lecture: ''Human Rights in Chile''

Fri, Sep 12, 2008 5:00 PM | Scholtz Garden, Trinity and 16th Street

Happy Hour: ''Brazil Center and Mexican Center Happy Hour''

Fri, Sep 12, 2008 12:00 PM | Rare Books and Manuscripts Reading Room, Benson Latin American Collection

Panel Discussion: ''Pinochet and the Pursuit of Justice: Chile 35 Years Later''

Thu, Sep 11, 2008 5:30 PM | Auditorium, MEZ 1.306

Film Screening: ''Missing''

Wed, Sep 10, 2008 12:00 PM | LBJ Room, CMA 5.160

Reading: ''Mexican Enough: My Life between the Borderlands''

Sat, Aug 16, 2008 9:00 AM | Cisco's Restaurant and Bakery, 1511 E. 6th Street

Meeting: ''Amigos de la Frontera Desayuno en Austin''

Sat, Jun 21, 2008 9:00 AM | Cisco's Restaurant and Bakery, 1511 E. 6th Street

Meeting: ''Amigos de la Frontera Desayuno en Austin''

Fri, Jun 20, 2008 7:00 PM | Mexic Arte Museum, 419 Congress Avenue

Exhibit Opening: ''The Aztec and Maya Revival''

Thu, Jun 19, 2008 7:00 PM | Harry Ransom Center

Lecture: ''Memory and Reconciliation: Civil War and Trauma in El Salvador''

Fri, Jun 6, 2008 | Blanton Museum of Art

Exhibit Opening: ''WorkSpace: Fabian Bercic''

Thu, May 22, 2008 7:00 PM | Harry Ransom Center

Lecture: ''Ominous Parallels: El Salvador as Foreshadowing''

Thu, May 8, 2008 7:00 PM | Harry Ransom Center

Lecture: ''Destiny's Children: L.A. Gangs in Post-war El Salvador''

Fri, May 2, 2008 8:00 PM | Momo's, 6th and Rio Grande

Fundraiser: ''UT Ethnomusicology Ensembles''

Wed, Apr 30, 2008 7:00 PM | Harry Ransom Center

Curator's Tour: ''Inside El Salvador''

Tue, Apr 29, 2008 | Avaya Auditorium

Conference: ''What's Left of the Latin American Left?''

Mon, Apr 28, 2008 | Avaya Auditorium

Conference: ''What's Left of the Latin American Left?''

Sat, Apr 26, 2008 | Various locations

Graduate Symposium: ''New Directions in Anthropology''

Fri, Apr 25, 2008 | Various locations

Graduate Symposium: ''New Directions in Anthropology''

Fri, Apr 25, 2008 5:00 PM | Sao Paulo's Restaurante, 2809 San Jacinto Boulevard

Open House: ''Brazil Center''

Thu, Apr 24, 2008 8:30 PM | AHG 136

Festival: ''Fandango''

Mon, Apr 21, 2008 12:00 PM | Sinclair Suite, Texas Union 3.128

Lecture/Demonstration: ''Learning Conjunto''

Sat, Apr 19, 2008 9:00 AM | Cisco's Restaurant and Bakery, 1511 E. 6th Street

Meeting: ''Amigos de la Frontera Desayuno en Austin''

Fri, Apr 18, 2008 8:30 AM | UT Alumni Center, 2110 San Jacinto Boulevard

Conference: ''An American Story: Mexican American Entrepreneurship and Wealth Creation''

Fri, Apr 18, 2008 8:00 PM | Recital Studio, MRH 2.608

Performance: ''Caribbean Ensemble''

Fri, Apr 18, 2008 4:30 PM | Main Dining Room, Campus Club, 25th and Guadalupe

Symposium: ''Pistols, Pens, and Guitars: Celebrating 50 Years of Americo Paredes' 'With His Pistol in His Hand'''

Wed, Apr 16, 2008 8:00 PM | Recital Studio, MRH 2.608

Performance: ''Mariachi Ensemble/South American Ensemble''

Tue, Apr 15, 2008 6:30 PM | CMA A2.320

Lecture: ''Some Things We Can Learn from Images of War''

Sat, Apr 12, 2008 | Governors' Room, Texas Union 3.116

Conference: ''Latinos and Public Policy in Texas''

Fri, Apr 11, 2008 | Governors' Room, Texas Union 3.116

Conference: ''Latinos and Public Policy in Texas''

Fri, Apr 11, 2008 11:00 AM | Recital Hall, MRH 2.614

Recital: ''Chamber Music during the Court of D. Joao in Brazil''

Thu, Apr 10, 2008 | Prothro Theater, Harry Ransom Center

Conference: ''Mexico-U.S. Migration: Rural Transformation and Development''

Wed, Apr 9, 2008 | Prothro Theater, Harry Ransom Center

Conference: ''Mexico-U.S. Migration: Rural Transformation and Development''

Tue, Apr 8, 2008 5:00 PM | BEN 2.104

Lecture: ''Historia de la Literatura Maya''

Sat, Apr 5, 2008 9:30 AM | Thompson Conference Center 2.120

Symposium: ''Dida in Perspective: Race, Class, and Gender in Brazil''

Fri, Apr 4, 2008 4:00 PM | MAI 212

Lecture: ''Racial Memory and the Ghost of Modernity''

Fri, Apr 4, 2008 9:00 AM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Workshop: ''LLILAS Field Research Workshop''

Fri, Apr 4, 2008 9:00 AM | The University of Texas at Austin

Teacher Workshop: ''Looking at Contemporary Brazil through the Eyes of Dida''

Thu, Apr 3, 2008 6:00 PM | George Washington Carver Museum and Cultural Center, 1165 Angelina Street

Exhibit Opening Reception: ''Olhar de Tambor/The Drum's View''

Thu, Apr 3, 2008 4:30 PM | Benson Latin American Collection Library

Celebration and Opening Reception: ''¡A Viva Voz!''

Thu, Apr 3, 2008 5:15 PM | Chicano Culture Room, Texas Union 4.206

Lecture: ''Setting the Rules of Freedom: The Trajectory of the Press Jury''

Thu, Apr 3, 2008 12:00 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

LLILAS Faculty Speaker Series: ''Nature, Empire, and Nation''

Tue, Apr 1, 2008 4:00 PM | CMA 5.160

Panel Discussion: ''Masterpieces of Cinema Novo''

Mon, Mar 31, 2008 7:00 PM | MEZ 0.306

Film Screening: ''Vidas Secas/Barren Lives''

Sun, Mar 30, 2008 2:00 PM | Barnes and Noble at the Arboretum

Book Signing: ''The Mass Media and Latino Politics''

Sun, Mar 30, 2008 12:00 PM | Mexican American Cultural Center

Open House: ''Hecho a Mano/Made by Hand''

Thu, Mar 27, 2008 12:00 PM | Santa Rita Room, Texas Union 3.502

Lecture: ''Transitional Myths: Recontextualizing Cultural Iconographies''

Thu, Mar 27, 2008 8:00 PM | MonkeyWrench Books, 110 E. North Loop

Film Screening: ''El Violin''

Wed, Mar 26, 2008 8:30 PM | CAL 100

Film Screening: ''Ratas, Ratones, Rateros''

Tue, Mar 25, 2008 6:00 PM | Creative Research Laboratory, 2832 E. MLK Avenue

Film Screening: ''Drive Thru''

Tue, Mar 25, 2008 11:00 AM | GAR 1.102

Workshop: "Graduate Student Research Workshop"

Mon, Mar 24, 2008 7:00 PM | Austin Center for Architecture, 801 W. 12th Street

Lecture: ''Guantanamo, Past and Future: An Insider's View''

Sat, Mar 22, 2008 3:00 PM | Copa Bar and Grill, 217 Congress Avenue

Workshop and Celebration: ''Drum Workshops with Neguinho do Samba''

Fri, Mar 21, 2008 12:00 PM | Texas Union Theatre

Film Screening: ''Ya Basta!: Kidnapped in Mexico''

Tue, Mar 18, 2008 12:00 PM | Texas Governors' Room, Texas Union 3.116

Lecture: ''Media and Politics in Lula's Brazil''

Tue, Mar 18, 2008 4:00 PM | BEN 2.104

Lecture: ''Las Escales de Asturias''

Thu, Mar 6, 2008 12:00 PM | African American Culture Room, Texas Union 4.110

Panel: ''Indigenous Land Use Patterns''

Wed, Mar 5, 2008 12:00 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Roundtable: ''Research Opportunties in the Amazon Basin''

Tue, Mar 4, 2008 12:00 PM | Texas Governors' Room, Texas Union 3.116

Panel: ''Conceptualizing Amazonia''

Fri, Feb 29, 2008 6:30 PM | DFA 2.204

Conversation: ''A Conversation with Regina Jose Galindo''

Thu, Feb 28, 2008 8:00 PM | Recital Studio, MRH 2.608

Recital: ''Viento Sur''

Thu, Feb 28, 2008 7:30 PM | Comedor de Profesores, Colegio de Mexico, Mexico, D.F.

Reception: ''Mexican Alumni of the College of Liberal Arts''

Thu, Feb 28, 2008 12:30 PM | MBE 2.114

Master Class: ''Viento Sur''

Wed, Feb 27, 2008 8:30 PM | CAL 100

Film Screening: ''En el hoyo''

Wed, Feb 27, 2008 5:00 PM | ART 1.110

Lecture: ''Restoring Maya Architecture''

Tue, Feb 26, 2008 3:00 PM | Blanton Museum of Art

Conversation: ''A Conversation with Dino Bruzzone''

Sun, Feb 24, 2008 3:00 PM | Blanton Museum of Art

Performance: ''Virgen de los Indios''

Fri, Feb 22, 2008 6:00 PM | Capitol City Brewing Company, 2 Massachusetts Avenue, NE, Washington D.C.

Alumni Reception: ''D.C. Alumni Reception''

Fri, Feb 22, 2008 | AVAYA Auditorium and UT Club

Conference: ''Transitions in the Cuban Revolution''

Thu, Feb 21, 2008 | AVAYA Auditorium and UT Club

Conference: ''Transitions in the Cuban Revolution''

Wed, Feb 20, 2008 8:30 PM | CAL 100

Film Screening: ''Falcão: Meninos do Trafico''

Wed, Feb 20, 2008 5:30 PM | Jones Auditorium, St. Edward's University

Lecture: ''Indigenous Responses to Neoliberal Expansionism in Contemporary Latin America''

Wed, Feb 20, 2008 7:15 PM | AVAYA Auditorium, ACE 2.302

Lecture: ''The Art of Political Murder: Who Killed the Bishop?''

Tue, Feb 19, 2008 3:30 PM | Eidman Jury Room, UT Law School

Lecture: ''The U.S. and Torture: History and Jurisprudence''

Sat, Feb 16, 2008 9:00 AM | Cisco's Restaurant and Bakery, 1511 E. 6th Street

Meeting: ''Amigos de la Frontera Desayuno en Austin''

Sat, Feb 16, 2008 9:00 PM | Victory Grill, 1104 East 11th Street

Fundraiser: ''¡Noche Cubana!''

Fri, Feb 15, 2008 9:00 AM | Campus Club

Workshop: ''Urban Segregation and Labor in the Americas''

Thu, Feb 14, 2008 9:00 AM | Campus Club

Workshop: ''Urban Segregation and Labor in the Americas''

Wed, Feb 13, 2008 8:30 PM | CAL 100

Film Screening: ''Cidade dos Homens''

Sat, Feb 9, 2008 | Thompson Conference Center

Conference: ''XXVIII Annual ILASSA Student Conference''

Fri, Feb 8, 2008 12:00 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Brown Bag Discussion: ''Discussion with Carlos Gaviria''

Fri, Feb 8, 2008 12:00 PM | Sinclair Suite, Texas Union

Conversation: ''Conversaciones on Marginalized Feminisms en las Americas''

Fri, Feb 8, 2008 | Thompson Conference Center

Conference: ''XXVIII Annual ILASSA Student Conference''

Thu, Feb 7, 2008 | Thompson Conference Center

Conference: ''XXVIII Annual ILASSA Student Conference''

Wed, Feb 6, 2008 4:00 PM | BEN 2.104

Information Session: ''Summer 2008 in Brazil''

Tue, Feb 5, 2008 3:30 PM | Eidman Court Room

Lecture: ''Individual Body/Collective Body''

Thu, Jan 31, 2008 | GAR

Celebration: ''Come Back to Garrison!''

Thu, Jan 31, 2008 4:00 PM | CAL 100

Information Session: ''Summer 2008 in Brazil''

Mon, Jan 14, 2008 12:00 PM | NUR 1.106, 1700 Red River Street

Lecture: ''Does the Hispanic Paradox in Mortality Extend to Disablement?''

bottom border