Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
llilas masthead
Charles R. Hale, Director SRH 1.310, 2300 Red River Street D0800, Austin, TX 78712 • 512.471.5551

Past Events

Sat, Dec 18, 2010 9:00 AM | Cisco's Restaurant and Bakery, 1511 E. 6th Street

Meeting: "Amigos de la Frontera Desayuno en Austin"

Fri, Dec 10, 2010 9:00 AM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Workshop: "Dialogues on Gender and Violence in the Americas"

Fri, Dec 3, 2010 8:00 PM | Jovita's, 1619 South 1st Street

Fundraiser: "Caribbean Ensemble"

Thu, Dec 2, 2010 7:30 PM | Avaya Auditorium, ACE 2.302

Reading: "Cristina Garcia"

Tue, Nov 30, 2010 3:30 PM | Music Recital Hall, MRH 2.610

Lecture: "NGO-Action: Rio's Non-Profits in Music and Film"

Mon, Nov 29, 2010 10:15 AM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Workshop: "Alejandro Junco Scholarships Research Workshop"

Sat, Nov 20, 2010

International Education Week

Sat, Nov 20, 2010 2:00 PM | Mexic-Arte Museum, 419 Congress Avenue

Lecture: "Mexico 1810, 1920, 2010"

Fri, Nov 19, 2010

International Education Week

Fri, Nov 19, 2010 9:00 AM | Governors' Room, UNB 3.116

Workshop: "Exploring the Roles of Participatory Mapping"

Fri, Nov 19, 2010 1:00 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Roundtable: "Environmental Suffering in Latin America"

Thu, Nov 18, 2010

International Education Week

Thu, Nov 18, 2010 5:30 PM | DFA 2.204

Film Screening: "Cracking the Maya Code"

Wed, Nov 17, 2010 3:30 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Lecture: "Broken Democracies? The Culture of Violence in El Salvador"

Wed, Nov 17, 2010

International Education Week

Wed, Nov 17, 2010 5:30 PM | SRH 3.122

Film Screening: "Maria En Tierra De Nadie"

Tue, Nov 16, 2010

International Education Week

Mon, Nov 15, 2010

International Education Week

Sun, Nov 14, 2010 7:30 PM | Recital Studio, MRH 2.608

Performance: "Conjunto Ensemble"

Fri, Nov 12, 2010 2:00 PM | Lone Star Room, UNB 3.208

Lecture: "Brazil After the 2010 Elections"

Fri, Nov 12, 2010 9:00 PM | Orun Center of Cultural Arts, 1401-B Cedar Avenue

Celebration: BRASSA Brazil Week Closing Party"

Thu, Nov 11, 2010 10:00 AM | CLAVIS, ART 3.434

Panel: "Contemporary Brazilian Art"

Thu, Nov 11, 2010 4:00 PM | Deans Conference Room, SZB 238

Roundtable: "Education, Work, and Affirmative Action in Brazil"

Wed, Nov 10, 2010 2:00 PM | African American Culture Room, UNB 4.110

Panel: "The Amazon: Facing Global Climate Change"

Wed, Nov 10, 2010 12:00 PM | GAR 4.100

Job Talk: "Native Morality and Sexuality in Colonial Mexico"

Wed, Nov 10, 2010 5:30 PM | Multipurpose Room, San Jacinto Residence Hall

Lecture: "Slamming Oppression with Staceyann Chin"

Tue, Nov 9, 2010 2:00 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Lecture: "Relações Raciais no Brasil Hoje: Conquistas e Desafios"

Mon, Nov 8, 2010 2:00 PM | Utopia Theatre, SSW 2.106

Film Screening: "Onibus 174"

Mon, Nov 8, 2010 7:30 PM | Recital Studio, MRH 2.608

Performance: "Andean Ensemble and Mariachi Ensemble"

Fri, Nov 5, 2010 11:00 AM | Ettern-Harbin Alumni Center

Lecture: "Population Challenges in Latin America"

Thu, Nov 4, 2010 10:00 PM | Copa Bar & Grill, 217 Congress Ave.

Fundraiser: "XXXI Annual ILASSA Student Conference"

Wed, Nov 3, 2010 7:30 PM | Recital Studio, MRH 2.608

Performance: "Caribbean Ensemble"

Thu, Oct 28, 2010 5:30 PM | Atrium, 10th Floor, LBJ Presidential Library

Panel: "The Metamorphosis of Leadership in a Democratic Mexico"

Wed, Oct 27, 2010 12:00 PM | BAT 5.108

Lecture: "Race, Class, and Voter Preferences in Brazil"

Sat, Oct 23, 2010 2:00 PM | Mexic-Arte Museum and Plaza Saltillo

Festival: "Viva la Vida Fest 2010: 27th Annual Dia de los Muertos"

Tue, Oct 19, 2010 4:30 PM | WMB 5.102

Reception: "Serie XVII Art Exhibition"

Tue, Oct 19, 2010 4:00 PM | BEN 2.104

Lecture: "Dialogos do Paraiso Perdido"

Mon, Oct 18, 2010 4:00 PM | BEN 2.104

Poety Reading: "Briceida Cuevas Cob"

Sun, Oct 17, 2010 | Thompson Conference Center

Forum: "Art Archives: Latin America and Beyond from 1920 to Present"

Sat, Oct 16, 2010 9:30 AM | Governors' Room, UNB 3.116

Workshop: "Ritual Speech and Subjectivity"

Sat, Oct 16, 2010 | Thompson Conference Center

Forum: "Art Archives: Latin America and Beyond from 1920 to Present"

Sat, Oct 16, 2010 9:00 AM | Cisco's Restaurant and Bakery, 1511 E. 6th Street

Meeting: "Amigos de la Frontera Desayuno en Austin"

Fri, Oct 15, 2010 9:30 AM | Governors' Room, UNB 3.116

Workshop: "Ritual Speech and Subjectivity"

Fri, Oct 15, 2010 | Thompson Conference Center

Forum: "Art Archives: Latin America and Beyond from 1920 to Present"

Thu, Oct 14, 2010 5:00 PM | Rare Books Room, Benson Latin American Collection

Lecture: "Broken Democracies? The Challenge of Democracy and Freedom of the Press in Nicaragua"

Thu, Oct 14, 2010 9:30 AM | Governors' Room, UNB 3.116

Workshop: "Ritual Speech and Subjectivity"

Tue, Oct 12, 2010 12:00 PM | Chicano Culture Room, UNB 4.206

Lecture: "Follow Your Star"

Thu, Oct 7, 2010 4:00 PM | Quadrangle Room, UNB 3.304

Panel: "The War Next Door: Reporting Mexico, Drugs and the Border"

Wed, Oct 6, 2010 3:30 PM | Eidman Courtroom, UT Law School

Panel: "What Does Real Immigration Reform Look Like?"

Sun, Oct 3, 2010 9:00 AM | Centennial Hall 157, Texas State University

Workshop: "Ancient Maya Hieroglyphic Workshop"

Sat, Oct 2, 2010 9:00 AM | Centennial Hall 157, Texas State University

Workshop: "Ancient Maya Hieroglyphic Workshop"

Fri, Oct 1, 2010 7:00 PM | Centennial Hall 157, Texas State University, San Marcos

Film Screening: "Breaking the Maya Code"

Fri, Oct 1, 2010 9:00 AM | Centennial Hall 157, Texas State University

Workshop: "Ancient Maya Hieroglyphic Workshop"

Fri, Oct 1, 2010 1:00 PM | CMB Studio 4D, Building B

Film Screening: "Brazilian Film, Selected Shorts"

Thu, Sep 30, 2010 4:00 PM | BUR 134

Film Screening: "Tamboro"

Thu, Sep 30, 2010 12:00 PM | Texas Governors' Room, UNB 3.116

Lecture: "Reading Chican@ Like a Queer"

Tue, Sep 28, 2010 3:30 PM | Eastwoods Room, Texas Union 2.102

Panel: "Many Mexicos, 1810-2010: Religion, Independence, and Revolution"

Mon, Sep 20, 2010 7:00 PM | Mabee Ballroom, Ragsdale Center, St. Edward's University

Lecture: "The Life of Laura Mendez de Cuenca: A Pioneer in Women's Rights"

Sat, Sep 18, 2010 4:00 PM | Tacoba Restaurant, 1411 East 7th Street

Celebration: "Bi-Centenario de Chile"

Fri, Sep 17, 2010 7:00 PM | AT&T Conference Center

Fundraiser: "'Enrique's Journey' and 'Which Way Home'"

Thu, Sep 16, 2010 5:00 PM | Benson Latin American Collection

Reception: "Frente a Frente: The Mexican People in Independence and Revolution, 1810–1910"

Thu, Sep 16, 2010 4:00 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Panel: "Coverage of Drug Trafficking and Organized Crime in the Americas"

Wed, Sep 15, 2010 2:00 PM | BEN 2.104

Book Presentation: "Si Me Queres, Quereme Transa"

Wed, Sep 15, 2010 8:30 AM | O's Cafe @ ACES

Open House: Brazil Center of LLILAS

Wed, Sep 15, 2010 6:30 PM | Theatre, UNB 2.228

Film Screening: "Harvest of Loneliness: The Bracero Program"

Wed, Sep 15, 2010 7:00 PM | Mexican American Cultural Center, 600 River Street

Celebration: "Fiesta del Grito de Independencia de México"

Tue, Sep 14, 2010 5:00 PM | Rare Books Room, Benson Latin American Collection

Reception: "Texas After Violence & Human Rights Documentation Initiative"

Thu, Sep 9, 2010 6:00 PM | Mexican American Cultural Center, 600 River Street

Lecture: "The Culinary Birth of a Nation: Gastronomy and the Making of Mexican Identity"

Sat, Aug 21, 2010 9:00 AM | Cisco's Restaurant and Bakery, 1511 E. 6th Street

Meeting: "Amigos de la Frontera Desayuno en Austin"

Thu, Aug 5, 2010 6:00 PM | George Washington Carver Museum, 1165 Angelina Street

Artist Talk: "Werllayne Nunes - Reality x2"

Sat, Jun 19, 2010 9:00 AM | Cisco's Restaurant and Bakery, 1511 E. 6th Street

Meeting: "Amigos de la Frontera Desayuno en Austin"

Wed, May 19, 2010 6:00 PM | MEZ B0.306

Film Screening: "Un viajero inmóvil/The Stationary Traveler"

Fri, May 7, 2010 8:00 PM | Momo's Club, 618 W. 6th Street #200

Fundraiser: "An Evening of Music from around the World"

Fri, May 7, 2010 4:30 PM | Santa Rita Suite, Texas Union

Panel: "CMAS @ 40: Américo Paredes Remembered"

Thu, May 6, 2010 6:00 PM | Monarch Room, The Westin Galleria Houston, 5060 West Alabama, Houston

Lecture: "Current Economic and Political Developments in Latin America and the Investment Environment"

Wed, May 5, 2010 6:00 PM | Mexican American Cultural Center, 601 River Street

Panel: "Many Mexicos, 1810-2010: Texas and the Mexican Independence Movement"

Sat, May 1, 2010 10:00 AM | State Capitol Auditoriums, North Entrance, 1100 Congress Avenue

Public Forum: "National Museum of the American Latino Commission"

Thu, Apr 29, 2010 6:00 PM | Blanton Auditorium

Lecture: "Unknown Gastronomy of Mexico"

Thu, Apr 29, 2010 6:00 PM | Community Engagement Center, 1009 E. 11th Street

Lecture: "Visiting Hutto: Friendship, Solidarity, and Human Rights"

Thu, Apr 29, 2010 4:00 PM | BEN 2.104

Lecture: "A Talk with Adriana Lisboa"

Tue, Apr 27, 2010 5:00 PM | Mexican American Cultural Center

Film Screening: "Whales of Gold"

Mon, Apr 26, 2010 | various locations

Symposium: "Disaster in Context: A Symposium on Haiti"

Sun, Apr 25, 2010 3:00 PM | Mexican American Cultural Center, 600 River Street

Film Screening: "Cruz Reynoso: Sowing the Seeds of Justice"

Sat, Apr 24, 2010 | AT&T Conference Center

Symposium: "11th International Symposium on Online Journalism"

Sat, Apr 24, 2010 12:00 PM | Regal Metropolitan

Film Screening: "Whales of God"

Fri, Apr 23, 2010 2:00 PM | LBJ School, SRH 3.124

Roundtable: "Racism and Anti-racist Strategies in Latin America"

Fri, Apr 23, 2010 | AT&T Conference Center

Symposium: "11th International Symposium on Online Journalism"

Thu, Apr 22, 2010 | various locations

Symposium: "Disaster in Context: A Symposium on Haiti"

Thu, Apr 22, 2010 5:00 PM | ART 1.102

Lecture: "What's African Diaspora Art [History] to Me?"

Tue, Apr 20, 2010 | various locations

Symposium: "Disaster in Context: A Symposium on Haiti"

Mon, Apr 19, 2010 12:00 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Book Presentation: "Converting Words: Maya in the Age of the Cross"

Mon, Apr 19, 2010 7:00 PM | Thompson Conference Center, TCC 1.110

Lecture: "Destiny's Children: A Legacy of War and Gangs"

Mon, Apr 19, 2010 | various locations

Symposium: "Disaster in Context: A Symposium on Haiti"

Mon, Apr 12, 2010 2:30 PM | Santa Rita Room, UNB 3.502

Panel: "Ciudad Juárez: Caught in the Crossfire"

Sat, Apr 10, 2010 2:00 PM | Blanton Auditorium

Conversation: "Cuauhtémoc Medina and Rubén Ortiz Torres"

Fri, Apr 9, 2010 3:00 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Workshop: "Career Affairs Workshop for LLILAS Students"

Thu, Apr 8, 2010 7:00 PM | Benson Latin American Collection, SRH Unit 1

Celebration: "¡A Viva Voz!"

Thu, Apr 8, 2010 1:00 PM | BEN 2.116A

Lecture: "The Culture of Violence: A Comparative Study"

Wed, Apr 7, 2010 6:00 PM | Prothro Theatre, Harry Ransom Center

Lecture: "Propitiatory Festivals of Central Guerrero"

Wed, Apr 7, 2010 1:00 PM | CBA 4.340

Lecture: "Recent Advances in Mayan Linguistics"

Wed, Apr 7, 2010 12:30 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Lecture: "Academic Racism: Black Brazilian Women in Higher Education"

Sun, Mar 28, 2010 2:00 PM | Blanton Auditorium

Conversation: "Manuel Álvarez Bravo: A Double Unfolding"

Thu, Mar 25, 2010 8:00 PM | The Paramount Theatre

Film Screening: "Arráncame la vida/Tear This Heart Out"

Wed, Mar 24, 2010 1:00 PM | ACE 2.402

Lecture: "Music and Race Relations in Colonial Brazil"

Wed, Mar 24, 2010 12:00 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Book Presentation: "National Camera: Photography and Mexico's Image Environment"

Fri, Mar 19, 2010 | Casa Herrera, Antigua, Guatemala

Conference: "2010 Maya Meetings: Early Maya Iconography and Script"

Thu, Mar 18, 2010 | Casa Herrera, Antigua, Guatemala

Conference: "2010 Maya Meetings: Early Maya Iconography and Script"

Wed, Mar 17, 2010 | Casa Herrera, Antigua, Guatemala

Conference: "2010 Maya Meetings: Early Maya Iconography and Script"

Tue, Mar 16, 2010 | Casa Herrera, Antigua, Guatemala

Conference: "2010 Maya Meetings: Early Maya Iconography and Script"

Tue, Mar 9, 2010 4:00 PM | ART 1.120

Lecture: "Voodoo and Haitian Contemporary Art"

Mon, Mar 8, 2010 3:30 PM | Faculty Lounge, TNH 3.214

Lecture: "Analogies and Discontinuities in Colombia and Sri Lanka's Violence"

Thu, Mar 4, 2010 12:30 PM | LBJ Conference Room, CMA 5.160

Book Presentation: "Law of the Jungle"

Tue, Mar 2, 2010 5:00 PM | Rare Books Room, Benson Latin American Collection

Lecture: "Digital Witnessing: A Record of Human Rights and Wrongs"

Fri, Feb 26, 2010 | Eidman Court Room, UT School of Law

Conference: "Walls: What They Make and What They Break"

Thu, Feb 25, 2010 12:30 PM | Blanton Museum of Art

Lecture: "Goya's Influence on Latin American Art"

Thu, Feb 25, 2010 | Eidman Court Room, UT School of Law

Conference: "Walls: What They Make and What They Break"

Wed, Feb 24, 2010 8:00 PM | MACC, 600 River Street

Film Screening: "Las Abandonadas"

Mon, Feb 22, 2010 1:00 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Lecture: "Police: Underdevelopment, Drug Addiction, and Crime"

Mon, Feb 22, 2010 5:00 PM | Goldsmith Lecture Hall

Lecture: "Brasilia: Modern City, Eternal City"

Sat, Feb 20, 2010 1:00 PM | Travis County Expo Center, 7311 Decker Lane

Convention: "Texas Convention for Immigrant Integration: A Call for Reform"

Sat, Feb 20, 2010 | The Texas Union

Conference: "Abriendo Brecha VII: Opening a Path"

Sat, Feb 20, 2010 4:00 PM | Chicano Culture Room, UNB 4.206

Panel: "Race and Inequality in the Americas"

Sat, Feb 20, 2010 9:00 AM | Cisco's Restaurant and Bakery, 1511 E. 6th Street

Meeting: "Amigos de la Frontera Desayuno en Austin"

Fri, Feb 19, 2010 | The Texas Union

Conference: "Abriendo Brecha VII: Opening a Path"

Fri, Feb 19, 2010 2:00 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Information Session: "Junco Scholarships"

Thu, Feb 18, 2010 6:00 PM | Long Center for the Performing Arts, 701 W. Riverside Drive

Lecture: "Transplanted Cuisines: Migrants in the Making of Mexican Cuisine"

Thu, Feb 18, 2010 | The Texas Union

Conference: "Abriendo Brecha VII: Opening a Path"

Thu, Feb 18, 2010 4:00 PM | El Mercado Uptown, 1702 Lavaca Street

Book Reading: "Beyond the Latino World War II Hero: The Social and Political Legacy of a Generation"

Wed, Feb 17, 2010 | AT&T Conference Center

Symposium: "Discourses of Music, Sound, and Film"

Wed, Feb 17, 2010 8:00 PM | MACC, 600 River Street

Film Screening: "Bugambilia"

Tue, Feb 16, 2010 | AT&T Conference Center

Symposium: "Discourses of Music, Sound, and Film"

Tue, Feb 16, 2010 2:00 PM | LBJ Conference Room, CMA 5.160

Lecture: "Rebel Journalism: Five Decades of Reporting from Latin America"

Mon, Feb 15, 2010 | AT&T Conference Center

Symposium: "Discourses of Music, Sound, and Film"

Sun, Feb 14, 2010 | AT&T Conference Center

Symposium: "Discourses of Music, Sound, and Film"

Thu, Feb 11, 2010 8:30 PM | Aces Lounge, 222 East 6th Street

Fundraiser: "Brazilian Carnaval do BRASSA"

Tue, Feb 9, 2010 | Harry Ransom Center

Exhibit: "¡Viva! Mexico's Independence"

Tue, Feb 9, 2010 4:00 PM | BEN 2.104

Lecture: "Brasil y Caribe: Una Perspectiva Comparada"

Sat, Feb 6, 2010 | Thompson Conference Center

Conference: "XXX Annual ILASSA Student Conference"

Fri, Feb 5, 2010 | Thompson Conference Center

Conference: "XXX Annual ILASSA Student Conference"

Thu, Feb 4, 2010 | Thompson Conference Center

Conference: "XXX Annual ILASSA Student Conference"

Tue, Feb 2, 2010 12:00 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Report: "The Natural/Social Disaster in Haiti"

Mon, Feb 1, 2010 5:00 PM | GOL 3.120

Lecture: "Brasilia Turns 50"

Thu, Jan 28, 2010 6:00 PM | Cuatros, 1004 24th Street

Happy Hour: "Brazil Center and Mexican Center Happy Hour"

Thu, Jan 28, 2010 6:30 PM | CMA 3.124

Film Screening: "Quilombo"

Tue, Jan 26, 2010 8:30 AM | O's Cafe, ACES Building

Open House: "Brazil Center Breakfast"

Mon, Jan 25, 2010 7:00 PM | Jones Auditorium, Ragsdale Center, St. Edward's University

Film Screening: "The Other Side of Immigration"

bottom border