Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
llilas masthead
Charles R. Hale, Director SRH 1.310, 2300 Red River Street D0800, Austin, TX 78712 • 512.471.5551

LLILAS Faculty Highlights

Posted: March 21, 2006

Several LLILAS faculty have received awards, appointments, and other notable honors in recent weeks. We are proud to highlight their distinguished accomplishments.

Henry Dietz, Professor of Government and Associate Director and Graduate Adviser at LLILAS, was given the 2006 Friar Centennial Teaching Fellowship, the largest undergraduate faculty award at The University of Texas. Dr. Dietz received the $12,000 award in recognition of his three decades of outstanding teaching and service to thousands of UT undergraduates.

Government professors Raul Madrid and Kurt Weyland received Faculty Research Assignments for 2006-2007.

The Association of American Geographers (AAG) bestowed the 2006 Distinguished Scholarship award on William Doolittle (Geography and the Environment).

Naomi Lindstrom (Spanish and Portuguese) has been appointed to the editorial board of "Modern Jewish Studies," the annual issue of the journal "Yiddish" dedicated to studies of current-day Jewish authors writing in any language.

bottom border