Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
llilas masthead
Charles R. Hale, Director SRH 1.310, 2300 Red River Street D0800, Austin, TX 78712 • 512.471.5551

Graduate Student Profiles

Rigoberto Ajcalon Choy

Graduate student

rigochoy@utexas.edu

Interests

  gender, power, and masculinity

Nino Bariola

Graduate student

nbariola@utexas.edu

Interests

  political ethnography; political sociology; educational linguistics; linguistic anthropology; indigenous rights

Kathryn Darnall

Graduate student

kdarnall@gmail.com

Interests

  human rights archives; social memory; transitional justice; freedom of information laws in Latin America

Anthony Dest

Graduate student

dest.anthony@gmail.com

Interests

  development; Afro-decendants and violence in Colombia

Jessica Diaz-Hurtado

Graduate student

dh.jessical@gmail.com

Interests

  immigration patterns; civil conflicts

Patricia Evans

Graduate student

patricia-gates@utexas.edu

Interests

  religion, science, and history in colonial Latin America

Bridget Footit

Graduate student

bridget.footit@gmail.com

Interests

  indigenous studies; decolonization; social movements

Aileen Ford

Graduate student

aileenford@utexas.edu

Interests

  international human rights law; defense of civil liberties in Latin America; free press and democratization movements in Mexico; U.S.-Mexico relations

Shayna Friday

Graduate student

fridaysa@utexas.edu

Interests

  indigenous studies; Peru; Andes; tourism; cultural history

Manuel Guadalupe Galaviz

Graduate student

manny_galaviz@yahoo.com

Interests

  analogical archaeology; Postcolonialism; indigenous studies; Chicano studies; U.S.-Mexico border; structural violence; migration

Sebastian Gallardo

Graduate student

gallardo.marco.ec@gmail.com

Interests

  cultural politics; Afro-descendent and indigenous peoples of Latin America; Ecuador

Juanita Gonzalez

Graduate student

juantia.gonzalez@austin.utexas.edu

Interests

  U.S. immigration; religion; media studies

Miguel Gutierrez, Jr.

Graduate student

mgutierrezjr@utexas.edu

Interests

  immigration; Central America; identity; diasporas; transationalism; El Salvador; networks

Cintia M. Huitzil

Graduate student

nhuitzil@aol.com

Interests

  indigenous women; transnational migration; human services

David Hutchinson, II

Graduate student

hutchinson757@gmail.com

Interests

  African Diaspora; migration; Black-indigenous relations; minority languages (Miskitu, Creole, Patois)

Travis Knoll

Graduate student

tknoll43@yahoo.com

Interests

  Catholic intellectuals in Argentina and Brazil, 1930-1980; gender, history, and film in Argentina, circa 1976; urbanization and community memory in Brazil; Peronist resistence, 1955-1960

Sara Law

Graduate student

selaw09@gmail.com

Interests

  democracy in Latin America; agricultural sustainability; tourism; women's rights

Kate Layton

Graduate student

layton.kate@gmail.com

Interests

  Arab diaspora in Latin America; Brazil

Leon H. Leid

Graduate student

leon.leid@gmail.com

Interests

  environmental studies; devleopment studies

Adriana Maria Linares Palma

Graduate student

linares.adriana@utexas.edu

Interests

  archaeology; ancient Maya; Mesoamerica; community outreach

Tony Macias

Graduate student

macias.tony@utexas.edu

Interests

  social movements; megaprojects and mining; social memory; Oaxaca; Mexico

Alysia Mann Carey

Graduate student

manncarey@utexas.edu

Interests

  African Diaspora in the Americas; race and sexual violence; anti-black genocide

Sara McTarnaghan

Graduate student

smctarnaghan@utexas.edu

Interests

  community development; public housing; spatial justice

Mario Mercado Diaz

Graduate student

tiresiasv@gmail.com

Interests

  literature; theory and the city

Teresa Mioli

Graduate student

teresa.mioli@gmail.com

Interests

  democracy in Latin America; media studies

Perla Garcia Miranda

Graduate student

perla_miranda@utexas.edu

Interests

  indigenous studies; indigenous language revitalization; community language activism; transnational migration

Mariana Morante Aguirre

Graduate student

mariana.morante@utexas.edu

Interests

  transmigration; Meixco; sociology; migrants; migration policies

Marianela Munoz Munoz

Graduate student

marianela.munozm@gmail.com

Interests

  Caribbean literature; Central America

Marco Munoz Ruiz

Graduate student

mmmunoz@sbcglobal.net

Interests

  corporate social responsibility

Lorena Paiz Aragon

Graduate student

lvospaiz@gmail.com

Interests

  Guatemala; archaeology; cultural heritage; patrimony management

Ruijie Peng

Graduate student

ruijie.peng@utexas.edu

Interests

  China-Latin America relations; social inequality; development studies

Frank Rodriguez

Graduate student

frank.rodriguez00@gmail.com

Interests

  Mexico-U.S. relations; labor; civic engagement

Edwin Roman-Ramirez

Graduate student

eroman@utexas.edu

Interests

  ancient and contemporary Maya; archaeology; early Classic state formation

Lynn Romero

Graduate student

lromero421@gmail.com

Interests

  Mexico-U.S. relations; journalism; migration

A. Patricia Ruiz-Healy

Graduate student

apnrh@satx.rr.com

Interests

  art history; Mexican modern art; Mexican and Latin American architecture; geometric art; Bauhaus; European artists working in Mexico in the 50s and 60s; nationalism vs. international avant-garde; transnational art

Kelly Strickler

Graduate student

kelly.strickler@gmail.com

Interests

  transportation equity; transportation and public health; informal settlements; sustainability

Sam Tabory

Graduate student

stabory@utexas.edu

Interests

  international development; good governance; regional and urban planning

Angela Tapia

Graduate student

sonquo@gmail.com

Interests

  identity politics; indigenous peoples; Peru; art; women's studies; spirituality

Adam Torres

Graduate student

adamtorres@utexas.edu

Interests

  development studies; water management; U.S.-Mexico relations

Ross Van Horn

Graduate student

rvanhorn0408@gmail.com

Interests

  electoral effects of social program (Bolsa Familia) in Brazil

Scott David Weaver

Graduate student

sweaver@marlboro.edu

Interests

  Mexico; political economy; violence; neoliberalism; cultural studies; critical theory

Charles Wight

Graduate student

charles@latinamericangeo.com

Interests

  human impacts on fluvial systems; hazards; remote sensing; water resources; participatory mapping; climate change

Joseph Woodard

Graduate student

jwoodard@utexas.edu

Interests

  U.S.-Latin America relations; Brazil

Brenda Estela Xum Palacios

Graduate student

bxum@utexas.edu

Interests

  public policies of education in Guatemala and Bolivia; indigenous peoples and leadership; policymaking; education reform processes in Latin America; intercultural bilingual education; processes of dialogue and negotiation; pedagogical approaches for the reproduction of indigenous knowledges; history and culture

Martin do Nascimento

Graduate student

martin.do.nascimento@gmail.com

Interests

  Brazil; media studies; photojournalism; ethics in journalism

bottom border