Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
llilas masthead
Charles R. Hale, Director SRH 1.310, 2300 Red River Street D0800, Austin, TX 78712 • 512.471.5551

Masters Student Profiles

Rachel Adeleye

Graduate student

radeleye@utexas.edu

Interests

  oral story telling; Afro-Brazilian studies; natural hair movement; movimento negro; identity formation; youth empowerment; access to information; discourse production; race; information studies

Kathryn Darnall

Graduate student

kdarnall@gmail.com

Interests

  human rights archives; social memory; transitional justice; freedom of information laws in Latin America

Jessica Diaz-Hurtado

Graduate student

dh.jessical@gmail.com

Interests

  immigration patterns; civil conflicts

Brian Eggert

Graduate student

brianeggert@utexas.edu

Interests

  media studies; mobile information technology; networks; race; Brazil; Mexico

Bridget Footit

Graduate student

bridget.footit@gmail.com

Interests

  decolonizations; indigenous rights; Bolivian Altiplano; alternatives to Western Modernity; social movements; vivir bien

Aileen Ford

Graduate student

aileenford@utexas.edu

Interests

  international migration; gender violence; feminism; U.S.-Mexico relations; human rights law

Manuel Guadalupe Galaviz

Graduate student

manny_galaviz@utmail.com

Interests

  U.S.-Mexico borderlands; Chicana/o art; environmental justice; identity politics

Sebastian Gallardo

Graduate student

gallardo.marco.ec@gmail.com

Interests

  cultural politics; Afro-descendent and indigenous peoples of Latin America; Ecuador

Juanita Gonzalez

Graduate student

juantia.gonzalez@austin.utexas.edu

Interests

  education; non-profit programs; immigration; media studies

Miguel Gutierrez, Jr.

Graduate student

mgutierrezjr@utexas.edu

Interests

  immigration; Central America; identity; diasporas; transationalism; El Salvador; networks

Jose Guzman

Graduate student

jignacioguz@gmail.com

Interests

  democracy in Latin America; developmental studies; environmental studies

David Hutchinson, II

Graduate student

hutchinson757@gmail.com

Interests

  African Diaspora; migration; Black-indigenous relations; minority languages (Miskitu, Creole, Patois)

Rebecca Jackson

Graduate student

rebejackson91@gmail.com

Interests

  media studies; transnational media flow; immigration; identity formation; decolonial media practices; media representation; diasporas of Latin America

Travis Knoll

Graduate student

tknoll43@yahoo.com

Interests

  Catholic intellectuals in Argentina and Brazil, 1930-1980; gender, history, and film in Argentina, circa 1976; urbanization and community memory in Brazil; Peronist resistence, 1955-1960

Alexandra Lamina Luguana

Graduate student

magalylamina@gmail.com

Interests

  Ecuador; indigenous studies; social change; conservation and sustainable management of natural resources in the Amazon; urban planning

Sarah McMinn Lane

Graduate student

smmcminn@gmail.com

Interests

  female political activism; identity politics; ethical management of information resources

Sara Law

Graduate student

selaw09@gmail.com

Interests

  Cuba; agricultural sustainability; women’s rights

Kate Layton

Graduate student

layton.kate@gmail.com

Interests

  Arab diaspora in Latin America; Brazil; motorcycles; motorcycle studies; urban studies; public health

Michaela Machicote

Graduate student

mmachicote@gmail.com

Interests

  Black race and identity in Puerto Rico; Puerto Ricans in the U.S.

Kathryn McDonald

Graduate student

klmcdon90@gmail.com

Interests

  history and anthropology of Mexico

Sara McTarnaghan

Graduate student

smctarnaghan@utexas.edu

Interests

  community development; public housing; spatial justice

Mario Mercado Diaz

Graduate student

tiresiasv@gmail.com

Interests

  detective; amante de ron caribeño y lector

Teresa Mioli

Graduate student

teresa.mioli@gmail.com

Interests

  democracy in Latin America; media studies

Mariana Morante Aguirre

Graduate student

mariana.morante@utexas.edu

Interests

  transmigration; Mexico; sociology; migrants; migration policies

Devin Oliver

Graduate student

oliver.251@utexas.edu

Interests

  transnational sexuality studies; postcolonialism; Black feminism; African Diaspora; tourism; urban branding; community development; cultural politics; social movements; Brazil

Gabriel Ortiz van Meerbeke

Graduate student

gaorvan@utexas.edu

Interests

  community and regional planning; critical theory; insurgent citizenship; modes of representation; production and appropriation of space

Ruijie Peng

Graduate student

ruijie.peng@utexas.edu

Interests

  China-Latin America relations; labor relations; alternative development; Andean studies

Frank Rodriguez

Graduate student

frank.rodriguez00@gmail.com

Interests

  Mexico-U.S. relations; labor; civic engagement

Jheison Romain

Graduate student

jvromain@gmail.com

Interests

  challenges for democratic stability in Latin America; effective inclusion of underrepresented groups; ICTs and development; development studies; African Diaspora

Cynthia Rubio

Graduate student

cnrubio@utexas.edu

Interests

  immigration; race; gender; class; education

Jose Rubio-Zepeda

Graduate student

jrubiozep@utexas.edu

Interests

  transnationalism and identity; migration; African Diaspora in Central America and the Caribbean, especially the Dominican Republic; globalization; sustainability; development; cultural studies; masculinity; class; gender; sexuality and ethnicity

Sam Tabory

Graduate student

stabory@utexas.edu

Interests

  international development; good governance; regional and urban planning

Scott David Weaver

Graduate student

sdweaver@utexas.edu

Interests

  Mexico; violence; critical theory; law

Charles Wight

Graduate student

charles@latinamericangeo.com

Interests

  human impacts on fluvial systems; hazards; remote sensing; water resources; participatory mapping; climate change

Martin do Nascimento

Graduate student

martin.do.nascimento@gmail.com

Interests

  Brazil; media studies; photojournalism; ethics in journalism

bottom border