Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
southasia masthead southasia masthead
Kamran Asdar Ali, Director WCH 4.132, Mailcode G9300, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-3550

Past Events

Sun, May 24, 2015 5:30 PM | Fine Arts Theater, Manor High School, 12700, Gregg Manor Road, TX

SHOBANA'S ENCHANTING BALLET OF KRISHNA (IN ENGLISH)

Sun, May 24, 2015 8:00 AM | CLA Building, Room 1.302A,B,C,D,E & F

AID Annual Conference

Sat, May 23, 2015 8:00 AM | CLA Building, Room 1.302A,B,C,D,E & F

AID Annual Conference

Sun, May 17, 2015 12:00 PM | Alamo Drafthouse Cinema, 320 East 6th Street, Austin TX 78701

Nepal Earthquake Relief Fundraiser

Thu, May 14, 2015 7:00 PM | Southwest Theatres - Lake Creek, 13729 Research Blvd, #1500, Austin TX 78750

"Lakshmi" Film Screening with Filmmaker, Nagesh Kukonoor

Sat, May 9, 2015 7:30 PM | Bates Recital Hall

Javanese Gamelan Concert and Group Tabla Recital

Tue, May 5, 2015 5:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118), UT Austin Campus

FJWU Visiting Scholars Research Symposium

Tue, May 5, 2015 7:00 PM | Avaya Auditorium (POB 2.302), 201 East 24th Street

Citizens Reclaiming Pakistan with Mohammad Jibran Nasir

Sun, May 3, 2015 10:00 PM | The North Door

Bollywood Bash

Mon, Apr 27, 2015 6:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118), UT Austin Campus

Perspectives on Gender and Sexuality in Texts & Contexts

Tue, Apr 21, 2015 3:00 PM | Studio 4D in CMB (CMB 4.122)

Workshop and screening with visiting fellow and filmmaker, Stephanie Spray

Sat, Apr 18, 2015 | CLA 1.302B

GLOBAL COMMODITY FLOWS

Fri, Apr 17, 2015 12:00 PM | University of Texas, Communications Center Building A (CMA 4.152), 2504 Whitis Ave., Austin http://www.utexas.edu/maps/main/buildings/cma.html

Lunch with Indian Journalist P. Sainath

Fri, Apr 17, 2015 12:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118), UT Austin Campus

Sanskrit Open House

Fri, Apr 17, 2015 | CLA 1.302B

GLOBAL COMMODITY FLOWS

Thu, Apr 16, 2015 6:30 PM | Belo Center for New Media Auditorium (BMC 2.106), 300 W. Dean Keeton, Austin TX

Journalist P. Sainath on Culture and Politics of Rural India

Thu, Apr 16, 2015 | CLA 1.302B

GLOBAL COMMODITY FLOWS

Thu, Apr 9, 2015 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118), UT Austin Campus

Bombay Noir

Thu, Apr 9, 2015 12:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118), UT Austin Campus

UT Telugu Students Association Presents - Spring 2015 Event

Mon, Apr 6, 2015 2:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

Film screening of Johnny Gaddar

Thu, Apr 2, 2015 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118), UT Austin Campus

Seminar Series Talk: 'Biotrash: The Afterlives of Medical Garbage in Chennai' by Sarah Hodges, University of Warwick

Tue, Mar 31, 2015 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118), UT Austin Campus

Seminar Series Talk: 'Street Life: Urban Journeys, Mobile Spectators and Cinema Experience in Chennai' by Stephen Hughes, SOAS

Tue, Mar 31, 2015 6:00 PM | CLA 1.302B, UT Austin Campus

Pakistan's Foreign Policy: Challenges and Opportunities

Sat, Mar 28, 2015 | Saturday day, March 28 SAC 5.118, Saturday evening, March 28 Creative Showcase @ Studium

New Directions in Anthropology

Fri, Mar 27, 2015 | Friday March 27th - Glickman Center CLA 1.302B, Saturday (day) March 28th - SAC 5.118, Saturday (evening) March 28th - Creative Showcase @ Studium

New Directions in Anthropology

Wed, Mar 25, 2015 12:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118), UT Austin Campus

Panel Discussion

Tue, Mar 24, 2015 6:00 PM | The Carter Auditorium, St. Edwards University

Labor Rights, Gender Equality and Worker Safety: A Conversation on the Garment Industry in Bangladesh

Mon, Mar 23, 2015 7:00 PM | SAC Auditorium (1.402)

Dancing for Rama: An Artistic Exploration of Episodes from the Ramayana

Thu, Mar 12, 2015 3:00 PM | MRH 2.614, UT Austin Campus

Lecture Demonstration: Folk and Popular Music of Pakistan

Fri, Feb 27, 2015 1:00 PM | Edgar A Smith Building

Symposium: Legacies of Non-Violence in Art and and Society

Wed, Feb 25, 2015 6:00 PM | UTC 1.116

Bangladeshi Garment Workers Speak Out

Sat, Feb 21, 2015 10:00 AM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH4.118)

Jashn-e Gail Minault: Celebration of a Legacy

Fri, Feb 20, 2015 1:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH4.118)

Jashn-e Gail Minault: Celebration of a Legacy

Thu, Feb 19, 2015 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118), UT Austin Campus

Seminar Series Talk: 'Selected (Tamil) Shorts: Readings from the Short Fiction of D. Dilip Kumar' by Martha Selby, UT Austin

Thu, Jan 29, 2015 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118), UT Austin Campus

"The Death of an Author": Silencing and Censorship in Tamil Nadu

Sat, Jan 24, 2015 6:00 PM | Fine Arts Theater, Lanier High School, 1201 Payton Gin Rd. Austin TX 78758

Gita Govinda Songs Of Love & Longing

bottom border