Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
southasia masthead southasia masthead
Kamran Asdar Ali, Director WCH 4.132, Mailcode G9300, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-3550

Past Events

Sun, Nov 13, 2011 3:30 PM | Texas Union Theatre

Community Event: Navarasa - Nritya Sangam Fall Benefit Show

Sat, Nov 12, 2011 6:30 PM | 4100 Westbank Drive, Austin TX

SAI Co-sponsored Event: Jhalak 2011

Fri, Nov 11, 2011 3:30 PM | Gebauer (GEB 3.312) 3:30-5pm

Book Launch - Tamil Love Poetry: The Five Hundred Short Poems of the Ainkurunuru

Thu, Nov 3, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

CANCELLED: Book Launch

Tue, Nov 1, 2011 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

The POSCO-India story: A Teach-In

Fri, Oct 28, 2011 6:00 PM | AVAYA Auditorium (ACE 2.302)

SAI Sponsored Event - Meherjaan Film Screening

Thu, Oct 27, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

SAI Co-sponsored Event: The Truth about the Truth Act (Satyakriya)

Sun, Oct 23, 2011 4:30 PM | UT Campus, Student Activity Center (near Speedway & 21st St, next to Gregory Gym)

Community Event: Naadasudha presenting "Sangeetham: Improvisation in Carnatic Music"

Mon, Oct 17, 2011 12:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

SAI Co-sponsored Event: "Audacious Birds Of Dusk: Queer Bengali Cinema"

Thu, Oct 13, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

SAI Sponsored Event - Fall 2011 South Asia Seminar Series

Sun, Oct 9, 2011 6:00 PM | Texas Union Theater (UNB 2.228)

Film Screening: 'Bhopali'

Sun, Oct 2, 2011 4:30 PM | Westlake H.S. Auditorium

Community Event: Jugalbandhi

Sat, Oct 1, 2011 | AVAYA Auditorium (ACE 2.302) & Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

SAI Sponsored Event: Bureaucracy Through South Asia Conference

Fri, Sep 30, 2011 | AVAYA Auditorium (ACE 2.302) & Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

SAI Sponsored Event: Bureaucracy Through South Asia Conference

Sat, Sep 24, 2011 2:00 PM | AVAYA Auditorium (ACE 2.302)

SAI Co-sponsored Event - Rise Up in Service: The Life of Mahatma Gandhi (1869-1948)

Sat, Sep 24, 2011 6:00 PM | C.D. Fulkes Middle School, 300 W. Anderson Avenue.

Community Event - Carnatic Concert: HeArtbeat Ensemble

Mon, Sep 19, 2011 3:30 PM | Sheffield Room (TNH 2.211)

Human Rights Happy Hour Speaker Series

Fri, Sep 16, 2011 11:00 AM | Avaya Auditorium (ACE 2.302). Free and open to the public.

South Asia Institute Golden Jubilee Week: Celebrating 50 years of South Asian Studies at The University of Texas at Austin

Mon, Sep 12, 2011 6:00 PM | Avaya Auditorium (ACE 2.302). Free and open to the public.

South Asia Institute Golden Jubilee Week: Celebrating 50 years of South Asian Studies at The University of Texas at Austin

Thu, Sep 1, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

South Asia Institute's Fall Welcome Reception

Thu, Jul 28, 2011 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Habib University Pakistan: Students and Interested Faculty Please Attend

Sat, Jul 23, 2011 4:00 PM | The Mabee Ballroom, Ragsdale Center, St. Edward's University

Dakshayagam: A Dance Drama

Sun, May 1, 2011 5:00 PM | South Performing Arts Center, 2150 Cypress Creek Road, Cedar park TX 78613

Maestros Jugalbandhi

Fri, Apr 29, 2011 3:00 PM | Meyerson Room (WCH 4.118)

Hindi Translation Round Table

Thu, Apr 28, 2011 3:30 PM | WCH 4.118

Spring 2011 South Asia Seminar Series

Fri, Apr 22, 2011 7:30 PM | Bates Recital Hall

South Asia Institute Golden Jubilee Series: Indian classical music

Thu, Apr 21, 2011 3:30 PM | WCH 4.118

Spring 2011 South Asia Seminar Series

Wed, Apr 20, 2011 6:30 PM | University Teaching Center (UTC) 3.122

Sufism lecture

Tue, Apr 19, 2011 7:30 PM | WCH 4.118

Famed Urdu broadcaster Abul Hasan Naghmi to visit HUF

Mon, Apr 18, 2011 6:15 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

Film Screening: Mani Ratnam's BOMBAY (Tamil version)

Fri, Apr 15, 2011 3:30 PM | Robert A. Welch Hall (WEL 2.256)

South Asia Institute Alternatives Series

Thu, Apr 14, 2011 3:30 PM | WCH 4.118

CANCELLED: Spring 2011 South Asia Seminar Series

Thu, Apr 7, 2011 3:30 PM | WCH 4.118

Spring 2011 South Asia Seminar Series

Wed, Apr 6, 2011 7:00 PM | 5604 Manor, 5604 Manor Road, Austin, 78723

Conversation with P. Sainath

Tue, Apr 5, 2011 7:00 PM | University of Texas, FAC 21(the Flawn Academic Center, formerly known as the Undergraduate Library, is just east of the Texas Union)

P. Sainath on “Mass Media v. Mass Reality: From Farm and Field to Wall Street Deals”

Sat, Apr 2, 2011 9:00 AM | Thompson Conference Center

Global-Local Partnerships for the 21st Century: A UN Collaborative

Thu, Mar 31, 2011 6:00 PM | UTC 2.102A

Islamophobia: Shari'ah Law

Mon, Mar 28, 2011 | WCH 4.132

Mahatma Gandhi Memorial Scholarship Deadline

Thu, Mar 24, 2011 3:30 PM | WCH 4.118

Spring 2011 South Asia Seminar Series

Wed, Mar 23, 2011 11:00 AM | WCH 4.118

Session: Wilson Chair candidate

Tue, Mar 22, 2011 2:00 PM | Burdine Hall (BUR) 436A

What is Religious and What is Secular in Premodern Japan?

Tue, Mar 15, 2011 6:30 PM | Mister Tramps European Sports Pub and Cafe

Film screening: Sita Sings the Blues

Thu, Mar 10, 2011 3:30 PM | WCH 4.118

Spring 2011 South Asia Seminar Series

Wed, Mar 9, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Yoga for Cats, Yoga for Dogs: Reflection on Contemporary Yoga Practice

Wed, Mar 9, 2011 7:00 PM | GSB 2.124

Islamophobia: Mind & Media

Sat, Mar 5, 2011 11:00 AM | Campus-wide

Explore UT opens the university's doors to all

Fri, Mar 4, 2011 1:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

Christine Fair, candidate for Wilson Chair in Pakistan Studies

Fri, Mar 4, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

China Seminar: Culture and Citizenship in East Asia: A Historical Perspective

Thu, Mar 3, 2011 3:30 PM | WCH 4.118

Spring 2011 South Asia Seminar Series

Thu, Mar 3, 2011 12:00 PM | Batts 5.108

Christine Fair, candidate for Wilson Chair in Pakistan Studies

Fri, Feb 25, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Autobiography is Another Story: "Lives" in Hindi

Fri, Feb 25, 2011 2:30 PM | Atwood Library, 300 Calhoun Hall

Transnational Modernisms: a roundtable discussion

Wed, Feb 23, 2011 2:30 PM | The Texas Union - 3.116 Texas Governors' Room

The Texas Language Center Fulbright Colloquium

Fri, Feb 18, 2011 | University of Texas School of Law

Aftershocks: Legacies of Conflict

Thu, Feb 17, 2011 3:30 PM | WCH 4.118

Spring 2011 South Asia Seminar Series

Thu, Feb 17, 2011 | University of Texas School of Law

Aftershocks: Legacies of Conflict

Mon, Feb 14, 2011 6:00 PM | WCH 4.118

Film Screening: Garm Hawa

Sat, Feb 12, 2011 | All conference events are in UTC 4.124 unless otherwise noted.

Texas Asia Conference

Fri, Feb 11, 2011 | All conference events are in UTC 4.124 unless otherwise noted.

Texas Asia Conference

Thu, Feb 10, 2011 6:00 PM | Flawn Academic Center Auditorium (FAC 21)

Sangeetham

Mon, Feb 7, 2011 | WCH 4.132

FLAS Application DEADLINE EXTENDED

Mon, Jan 31, 2011 3:00 PM | University of Texas, CMA 5.160 (LBJ Room), Guadalupe and Dean Keeton, Austin

Alternatives Series: Film Screening

Mon, Jan 31, 2011 6:00 PM | WCH 4.118

Film Screening: Pyaasa

Thu, Jan 27, 2011 3:30 PM | WCH 4.118

Spring 2011 South Asia Seminar Series

bottom border