Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
southasia masthead southasia masthead
Kamran Asdar Ali, Director WCH 4.132, Mailcode G9300, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-3550

Past Events

Tue, Dec 3, 2013 1:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

Presentations by Visiting Scholars from Fatima Jinnah Women University

Tue, Dec 3, 2013 12:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room

FJWU Scholar Presentations

Mon, Dec 2, 2013 5:30 PM | Studio 4D in CMB

Act of Killing Screening

Mon, Nov 25, 2013 7:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room

Performance by Riyaaz Qawwali

Fri, Nov 22, 2013 1:00 PM

Rāmāyaṇa Colloquium

Thu, Nov 21, 2013 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

South Asia Seminar Series: Afsar Mohammad, University of Texas - Austin

Mon, Nov 18, 2013 8:30 AM | POB 2.402

Videoconferencing session led by Dr. Hina Azam

Thu, Nov 14, 2013 6:00 PM | Belo Center for New Media, 2nd floor Auditorium

RTF Community Screening - "BARFI!" 100 years of Bollywood

Wed, Nov 13, 2013 8:30 AM | POB 2.402

Videoconferencing session led by Dr. Hina Azam

Mon, Nov 11, 2013 12:00 PM | SAC 5.118

Kamran Ali: Cinema and the City

Sun, Nov 10, 2013 11:00 AM | Gregory Gym

Pratham 3 on 3 Basketball Tournament

Sat, Nov 9, 2013 7:00 PM | Hogg Auditorium

Jhalak 2013: A National Bollywood Fusion Dance Competition

Fri, Nov 8, 2013 7:30 PM | The Marchesa

Film screening of "I Am"

Fri, Nov 8, 2013 2:00 PM | The Meyerson conference room

A Panel Discussion with the ‘I AM’ Filmmaker, Onir

Fri, Nov 8, 2013 12:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Rāmāyaṇa Colloquium Organizational Meeting

Thu, Nov 7, 2013 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

South Asia Seminar Series: Sadia Saeed, Yale University

Thu, Nov 7, 2013 8:00 AM | POB 2.402

Videoconferencing Session led by Dr. Mohamed Gouda

Sat, Nov 2, 2013 | University of Texas at Austin, Student Activity Center (SAC). Legislative Assembly Room (2.302)

Texas Asia Conference: Tradition and Transition: November 1st - November 2nd

Fri, Nov 1, 2013 | University of Texas at Austin, Student Activity Center (SAC). Legislative Assembly Room (2.302)

Texas Asia Conference: Tradition and Transition: November 1st - November 2nd

Thu, Oct 31, 2013 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

South Asia Seminar Series: Asad Ahmed, UC Berkeley

Sun, Oct 27, 2013 1:00 PM | MEZ 1.306

Colloquium on Islam Session #2

Thu, Oct 24, 2013 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

South Asia Seminar Series: Sajjad Rizvi, Univeristy of Exeter

Fri, Oct 18, 2013 1:30 PM | CMB Studio 4D

20th Annual Gender and Sexuality Lecture by Pratibha Parmar

Sun, Oct 13, 2013 9:00 AM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

Bangladesh: Contested Pasts, Competing Futures

Wed, Oct 9, 2013 7:30 PM | Austin, TX at Alamo Drafthouse Lakeline

Film Screening: Rat Race & Timbaktu

Tue, Oct 8, 2013 2:00 PM | Meyerson Conference room (WCH 4.118)

Meeting with Oslo delegation

Sun, Oct 6, 2013 1:00 PM

Film Screening: Gandhi

Sat, Oct 5, 2013 7:30 PM | Bates Recital Hall

A Homage to Pandit Ravi Shankar

Sat, Oct 5, 2013 4:00 PM | Jones Auditorium, St. Edwards University, Austin

Concert: ABHISHEK RAGHURAMAN

Thu, Oct 3, 2013 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

South Asia Seminar Series: Sean Pue, Michigan State University

Sun, Sep 29, 2013 8:30 AM | UT- Gregory Plaza

Be the Change National Day of Service

Thu, Sep 26, 2013 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

South Asia Seminar Series: Gail Minault, University of Texas - Austin

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

South Asia Seminar Series: Shahzad Bashir, Stanford University

Thu, Sep 12, 2013 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

South Asia Seminar Series: Lamia Karim, University of Oregon

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 12:15 PM | LBJ School of Public Affairs, First Floor Lobby

Memorial Tribute to Professor Shama Gamkhar

Tue, Sep 10, 2013 12:00 PM | Middle East Reading Room, Calhoun Hall 516

Talk by Kamala Visweswaran, Associate Professor, Department of Anthroplogy

Mon, Sep 9, 2013 5:30 PM | Avaya Auditorium (POB 2.302)

Health and Gender in Pakistan

Fri, Aug 23, 2013 7:00 PM | Long Center, 701 W Riverside Dr. Austin TX

Om Shanti Om- Once Upon a Time in Bollywood

Sat, Apr 27, 2013 10:00 AM

Tribute to Kathryn Hansen

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 7:00 PM | Texas Union Theater (UNB 2.228)

Nautanki at UT- Indal Haran (The Abduction of Indal)

Thu, Apr 25, 2013 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

SAI Sponsored Spring 2013 Seminar Series- Janaki Bakhle, Columbia University

Wed, Apr 24, 2013 5:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

The Mahatma Misunderstood

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

SAI Sponsored Spring 2013 Seminar Series- Munis Faruqui, University of California-Berkeley

Tue, Apr 16, 2013 1:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

Professional Development Workshop for Graduate Students

Thu, Apr 11, 2013 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

Book Launch: The Pity of Partition: Manto's Life, Times and Work across the India-Pakistan Divide

Tue, Apr 9, 2013 6:00 PM | Austin History Center, 810 Guadalupe St.

South Asian American Digital Archive Lecture & Reception with Samip Mallick

Thu, Apr 4, 2013 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

Mountbatten, Nehru, Ambedkar and the Independence of India

Thu, Apr 4, 2013 2:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

Buddhism in Burma

Mon, Mar 25, 2013 12:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

Professional Development Workshop for Graduate Students

Fri, Mar 22, 2013 9:00 AM | Student Activity Center (SAC)

"The Feeling Body"

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 9:00 AM | Student Activity Center (SAC)

"The Feeling Body"

Fri, Mar 1, 2013 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

Welcome Reception

Thu, Feb 28, 2013 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

Talk by Sanjeev Uprety, Tribhuvan University, Nepal

Mon, Feb 25, 2013 11:30 AM | University of Texas School of Law (TNH 3.127)

"Zero Dark Thirty" and Torture in American Discourse

Sat, Feb 23, 2013 9:00 AM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

Teacher Training Workshop on Bhutanese-Nepali Refugees

Fri, Feb 22, 2013 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

Talk by Andrew Nelson, University of North Texas

Thu, Feb 21, 2013 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

SAI Sponsored Spring 2013 Seminar Series- Syed Akbar Hyder, University of Texas at Austin

Thu, Feb 14, 2013 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

SAI Sponsored Spring 2013 Seminar Series- Laura Brueck, University of Colorado - Boulder

Tue, Feb 12, 2013 5:30 PM | Liberal Arts Building CLA 0.112

The Human Cost of India's Race for Development

Fri, Feb 8, 2013 9:00 AM | University of Texas School of Law

Impunity, Justice and and the Human Rights Agenda

Thu, Feb 7, 2013 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

SAI Sponsored Spring 2013 Seminar Series- Daud Ali, University of Pennsylvania

Thu, Jan 31, 2013 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

Finding a Place for Asoka

Thu, Jan 24, 2013 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

SAI Sponsored Fall 2012 Seminar Series - Steven Lindquist, Southern Methodist University

Wed, Jan 23, 2013 3:00 PM | Union Sinclair Room, UNB 3.128

Social Discourse Aboard the Hindi Urdu Flagship

Sat, Jan 12, 2013 9:30 AM | Meyerson Conference Room, Will C. Hogg Bldg. (WCH 4.118)

AIM South Asia- Teacher Training Workshop on Tibetan Buddhism

Fri, Jan 11, 2013 5:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

Monks and Mandalas

bottom border