Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
southasia masthead southasia masthead
Kamran Asdar Ali, Director WCH 4.132, Mailcode G9300, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-3550

Past Events

Mon, Nov 24, 2014 8:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

Talk by Ustad Raza Ali Khan

Thu, Nov 20, 2014 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

South Asia Seminar Series: Anastasia Piliavsky, University of Cambridge

Mon, Nov 17, 2014 6:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

Reading Ghalib in Mir's Light

Sat, Nov 15, 2014 6:30 PM | C.D. FULKES MIDDLE SCHOOL ROUND ROCK, TX, 400 W. Anderson lane, Round Rock, TX, 78664

CARNATIC MAESTRO T.M. KRISHNA IN AUSTIN

Fri, Nov 14, 2014 11:00 AM | Texas Union Theater

Free Film Screening: Awesome Asian Bad Guys

Thu, Nov 13, 2014 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

South Asia Seminar Series: Prof. S. Akbar Zaidi, Columbia University

Thu, Nov 13, 2014 | Marchesa Theater, 6406 N I H 35 # 3100, Austin, TX 78752

7th Austin Asian American Film Festival

Wed, Nov 12, 2014 6:00 PM | BME 4.202H

Let's Talk India: Child Labor & Child Trafficking

Sun, Nov 9, 2014 5:30 PM | At the home of Sandra Boccara, 3210 Elmridge Street, Houston TX 77025

Zinda Bhaag (Run for Your Life): A Screening

Fri, Nov 7, 2014 6:00 PM | AVaya Auditorium (POB 2.302), 201 East 24th Street

Movie Screening with Director and Producer: Zinda Bhaag (Run for Your Life)

Thu, Nov 6, 2014 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

South Asia Seminar Series: Prof. Carla Petievich, UT Austin

Tue, Nov 4, 2014 7:30 PM | AFS at the Marchesa (6226 Middle Fiskville Rd)

Film Screening: The Eyes and Ears of Bengal: Six Classic Films by Satyajit Ray

Fri, Oct 31, 2014 12:15 PM | Room 3.122, Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs

Healthcare in Bhutan: Remarkable Successes and Remaining Challenges

Tue, Oct 28, 2014 7:30 PM | AFS at the Marchesa (6226 Middle Fiskville Rd)

Film Screening: The Eyes and Ears of Bengal: Six Classic Films by Satyajit Ray

Mon, Oct 27, 2014 5:00 PM | 10700 Anderson Mill Road, Suite #208, Austin, TX, 78750 ( Bollywood Shake Studio)

Dr. Ananda Dance Workshop

Sun, Oct 26, 2014 5:00 PM | Travis High School Auditorium, 1211 E.Oltorf, Austin, TX, 78704 (Junction of I-35 and Oltorf )

A BALLET ON HYMNS OF INDIA ( Slokas from Natyashastra)

Sun, Oct 26, 2014 5:00 PM | Travis High School Auditorium, 1211 E.Oltorf, Austin, TX, 78704 (Junction of I-35 and Oltorf )

Dr. Ananda Dance Ballet

Thu, Oct 23, 2014 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

Bhopal's Struggle of Memory Against Forgetting

Tue, Oct 21, 2014 7:30 PM | AFS at the Marchesa (6226 Middle Fiskville Rd)

Film Screening: The Eyes and Ears of Bengal: Six Classic Films by Satyajit Ray

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 5:00 PM | Travis High School Auditorium, 1211 E.Oltorf, Austin, TX, 78704

AN INSPIRING BALLET “NRITYOPAHARA” & “NAVARASA”

Wed, Oct 15, 2014 7:30 PM | AFS at the Marchesa (6226 Middle Fiskville Rd)

Film Screening: Gulabi Gang

Tue, Oct 14, 2014 7:30 PM | AFS at the Marchesa (6226 Middle Fiskville Rd)

Film Screening: The Eyes and Ears of Bengal: Six Classic Films by Satyajit Ray

Sat, Oct 11, 2014 7:00 PM | Ragsdale Center, St.Edwards University, Austin, Tx

A Soul Stirring Carnatic Music Concert

Thu, Oct 9, 2014 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

South Asia Seminar Series: Prof. S. Akbar Hyder, Asian Studies, UT Austin

Tue, Oct 7, 2014 7:30 PM | AFS at the Marchesa (6226 Middle Fiskville Rd)

Film Screening: The Eyes and Ears of Bengal: Six Classic Films by Satyajit Ray

Sun, Oct 5, 2014 7:30 PM | Bates Recital Hall

Jugalbandi: An Evening of Indian Classical Music

Sat, Oct 4, 2014 8:30 AM | The Pat May Center, 1849 B Central Drive, Bedford TX 76022

HEB ISD and the HIndi Urdu Flagship Present - Hindi Is Here!

Thu, Oct 2, 2014 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

South Asia Seminar Series: Prof. Janice Leoshko, Art & Art History, UT Austin

Tue, Sep 30, 2014 7:30 PM | AFS at the Marchesa (6226 Middle Fiskville Rd)

Film Screening: The Eyes and Ears of Bengal: Six Classic Films by Satyajit Ray

Sun, Sep 28, 2014 2:30 PM | Southwest Theaters - Lake Creek (Formerly Alamo Drafthouse Lakecreek) 13729 Research Blvd. #1500, Austin, Texas 78750

Film Screening: Kaphal (Wild Berries)

Thu, Sep 25, 2014 5:30 PM

MUTINY: Asians Storm British Music

Thu, Sep 25, 2014 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

Book Launch Celebration: Rigveda by Joel Brereton and Stephanie Jamison

Tue, Sep 23, 2014 7:30 PM | AFS at the Marchesa (6226 Middle Fiskville Rd)

Film Screening: The Eyes and Ears of Bengal: Six Classic Films by Satyajit Ray

Fri, Sep 19, 2014 8:00 PM | Raymond E. Hartfield Performing Arts Center, 500 McNeil Drive, Austin TX 78729

The Indian Classical Music Circle of Austin (ICMCA) presents a concert with Pandit Birju Maharaj

Tue, Sep 16, 2014 7:30 PM | AFS at the Marchesa (6226 Middle Fiskville Rd)

Film Screening: The Eyes and Ears of Bengal: Six Classic Films by Satyajit Ray

Tue, Sep 9, 2014 7:30 PM | AFS at the Marchesa (6226 Middle Fiskville Rd)

Film Screening: The Eyes and Ears of Bengal: Six Classic Films by Satyajit Ray

Mon, Sep 8, 2014 5:30 PM | Glickman Center

Slow Ethnography Roundtable

Fri, Sep 5, 2014 1:00 PM | Blanton Museum of Art

Slow Ethnography: Ethnographic-painting Demonstration

Tue, Sep 2, 2014 7:30 PM | AFS at the Marchesa (6226 Middle Fiskville Rd)

Film Screening: The Eyes and Ears of Bengal: Six Classic Films by Satyajit Ray

Sun, May 18, 2014 2:30 PM | Southwest Theaters - Lake Creek (Formerly Alamo Drafthouse Lakecreek) 13729 Research Blvd. #1500, Austin, Texas 78750

The National Award winning Documentary GULABIGANG screening and Q&A with director Nishtha Jain in attendance

Sat, Apr 26, 2014 5:30 PM | C.D. Fulkes Middle School, 400 W Anderson Lane, Round Rock, TX

Music and Dances of India Festival (Musical Ramanavami Festival)

Thu, Apr 24, 2014 7:00 PM | Avaya Auditorium (POB 2.302)

'Fandry' Movie Screening and Discussion with Filmmaker - Mr. Nagraj Manjule

Thu, Apr 24, 2014 6:00 PM | NOA 1.126

Roundtable Discussion: Censorship vs. Freedom of Expression

Wed, Apr 23, 2014 12:00 PM | Perry-Castañeda Library (PCL), Room 2.500

The Copper Plates from Kollam Talk and Exhibition

Tue, Apr 22, 2014 | CLA 1.302B

The Anthropocene in the Longue Duree

Thu, Apr 17, 2014 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

South Asia Seminar Series: Cabeiri Robinson, University of Washington

Thu, Apr 10, 2014 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

South Asia Seminar Series: Zahid Hussain, Author and Journalist

Mon, Apr 7, 2014 7:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room

Hindi-Urdu Flagship Presents: Journeys in Urdu Seminar Series

Thu, Mar 27, 2014 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

South Asia Seminar Series: Alexander Evans, United Nations

Fri, Mar 21, 2014 12:00 PM | Meyerson conference room, WCH 4.118

Talk by Jens Braavig: “Aśoka and the Beginning of the Mahāyāna”

Sat, Mar 15, 2014 8:00 PM | Bar 96- 96 Rainey st.

SXSW Showcase: Underbaby

Thu, Feb 27, 2014 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

South Asia Seminar Series: William Fisher, Clark University

Tue, Feb 25, 2014 7:00 PM | Belo Center for New Media, 300 W. Dean Keaton (KUT building) Room 5.208

Panel Discussion: Is Intolerance on the Rise in india?

Thu, Feb 13, 2014 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

South Asia Seminar Series: Tayyab Mahmud, Seattle University School of Law

Fri, Feb 7, 2014 8:30 AM | SAC 3.112 Balcony Room B

Transcultural Lenses on Islam

Thu, Feb 6, 2014 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

South Asia Seminar Series: Frederic Grare, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

Thu, Jan 23, 2014 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

South Asia Seminar Series: Andrew Wilder, United States Institute of Peace

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 11:00 AM | Thompson Conference Center

India – Country at the Cross Roads - Seminar at the UT Forum

bottom border