Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
southasia masthead southasia masthead
Kamran Asdar Ali, Director WCH 4.132, Mailcode G9300, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-3550

Faculty List

Anthropology

Photo of Kamran Asdar Ali

Kamran Asdar Ali

Director - South Asia Institute / Associate Professor

asdar@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.475.6039  |  WCH 4.132B

Education   

Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
Photo of Ward Keeler

Ward Keeler

Associate Professor

ward.keeler@gmail.com  |  471-8520  |  EPS 1.146

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Kamala Visweswaran

Kamala Visweswaran

Associate Professor

kvis@mail.utexas.edu  |  471-8516  |  EPS 1.206

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University

Architecture

Patricia Wilson

Professor

patriciawilson@utexas.edu  |  512.471.0130  |  SUT 3.122

Education   

Ph. D., Cornell University

Art History

Michael Charlesworth

Professor

mick@mail.utexas.edu  |  +1 512-232-2345  |  DFA 2.126

Janice Leoshko

Associate Professor

jleoshko@austin.utexas.edu  |  232-2581  |  DFA 2.110

Education   

Ph.D., Ohio State University

Asian Studies

Photo of Joel Brereton

Joel Brereton

Associate Professor

jpb@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6024  |  WCH 4.114

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University

Vidhu Chaturvedi

Lecturer

vidhu@austin.utexas.edu  |  Work: 512-471-0304, Cell: 512-924-4630  |  WCH 5.114 (NOTE : I am usually to be found at WCH 4.104 (Hindi Urdu Flagship, main hall); rather than at WCH 5.114 (my chamber )

Education   

MA, Banaras Hindu University, (Varanasi, India)

Interests

  1.Preparation of all kinds of Instructional Materials, 2. Vocabularies (Love words, nuances of their meanings and usage), 3. Classical and Popular Hindi Films, especially from 1940s, 50s, 60s and 70s having interesting linguistic features 4. Popular and Classical Hindi Literature and 5. Language in the Socio Cultural Context and 6. Influence of Socio-Cultural Environment in the Formation, Structure and Expressions of Language.

Donald R Davis

Associate Professor

drdj@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7921  |  WCH 4.114

Education   

PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Sanskrit; Dharmaśāstra; Law and Religion; Medieval India; Malayalam

Photo of Oliver Freiberger

Oliver Freiberger

Associate Professor

of@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8239  |  WCH 4.104A

Education   

Ph.D., Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, Germany

Interests

  Indian Buddhism | asceticism | comparison in the study of religion

Photo of Edeltraud Harzer

Edeltraud Harzer

Senior Lecturer

harzer@austin.utexas.edu  |  232-3575  |  WCH 5.135

Education   

Ph.D., University of Washington

Interests

  Sanskrit, Indian philosophy and literature, Material culture

Photo of Shahnaz Hassan

Shahnaz Hassan

Lecturer

snzhasan@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-0304  |  HRH 3.102

Education   

B.A., University of the Punjab
Photo of Heather Hindman

Heather Hindman

Associate Professor

h.hindman@mail.utexas.edu  |  471-1667  |  WCH 5.103

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

S. Akbar Hyder

Associate Professor

syedakbarhyder@gmail.com  |  475-6031  |  WCH 4.134

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University
Photo of Afsar Mohammad

Afsar Mohammad

Lecturer

afsar@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7921  |  HRH 3.102

Education   

Ph.D, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Photo of Carla Petievich

Carla Petievich

Visiting Professor

petievichc@mail.utexas.edu  |  475-6035  |  WCH 4.122

Photo of Sankaran Radhakrishnan

Sankaran Radhakrishnan

Senior Lecturer

radha@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6048  |  WCH 5.136

Education   

Ph.D., Annamalai University
Photo of Martha Selby

Martha Selby

Professor

mas@austin.utexas.edu  |  475-6040  |  WCH 4.134

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Gautami Shah

Senior Lecturer

gshah@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

M.S., Purdue University

Jishnu Shankar

Senior Lecturer

jshankar@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-1219  |  WCH 5.105

Education   

Doctorate, Syracuse University
Photo of Rupert Snell

Rupert Snell

Professor and Director of Hindi Urdu Flagship

rupertsnell@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-7955  |  WCH 4.130

Education   

Ph.D., University of London

Economics

Photo of Leigh Linden

Leigh Linden

Assistant Professor

leigh.linden@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Electrical & Computer Engineering

Photo of J.K. Aggarwal

J.K. Aggarwal

Professor

aggarwaljk@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-1369  |  Engineering Science Bldg Room 135

Vijay Garg

Professor

garg@ece.utexas.edu  |  512.471.9424  |  ACE 5.436

Sriram Vishwanath

Assistant Professor

sriram@ece.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-1190  |  ENS 439A

English

Mia Carter

Associate Professor

miaC@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-8733  |  PAR 123

Education   

Ph.D., English and Modern Studies, 1992, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Photo of Brian Doherty

Brian Doherty

Senior Lecturer

bfd@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-8798  |  PAR 326

Education   

Ph.D., 1994, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Photo of Barbara Harlow

Barbara Harlow

Professor

bharlow@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-8716  |  PAR 26

Education   

Ph.D., 1977, SUNY- Buffalo

Ernest Kaulbach

Professor

ekaulbach@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-8365  |  CAL 17

Education   

Ph.D., 1970, Cornell University
Photo of Snehal Shingavi

Snehal Shingavi

Assistant Professor

snehal.shingavi@utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 2008, University of California, Berkeley

Interests

  Anglophone South Asian literature, Hindi/Urdu literature, Literature in Translation and Translation Theory, Theories of “the nation” (anticolonialism, nationalism, statism, postcolonialism, postnationalism, cosmopolitanism, globalization, transnationalism, internationalism), Classical Marxism

Photo of Hannah C Wojciehowski

Hannah C Wojciehowski

Professor

gemelli@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-8768  |  PAR 230

Education   

Ph.D., 1984, Yale University

Interests

  globalization and transculturation in pre-modernity; medieval and Renaissance travel literature; neurocriticism

Ethnomusicology

Stephen Slawek

Professor

slawek@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-0671  |  MBE 3.202

Government

Photo of Gary J. Jacobsohn

Gary J. Jacobsohn

Professor

gjacobsohn@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1444  |  MEZ 3.110

Education   

Ph.D., Cornell University
Photo of Paula Newberg

Paula Newberg

Professor

pnewberg@austin.utexas.edu  |  232-7270  |  BATS 4.102

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

History

Photo of Indrani Chatterjee

Indrani Chatterjee

Professor

ichatterjee@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., History, 1996, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London
Photo of Sumit Guha

Sumit Guha

Faculty

sguha@austin.utexas.edu  |  474-7236  |  2.140 GAR

Education   

Ph.D., History, 1981, University of Cambridge
Photo of Philippa Levine

Philippa Levine

Professor

philippa@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.232.1236  |  HRC 3.202B

Education   

D.Phil., 1984, Oxford University (St. Antony's College)

Interests

  Asian colonies of the British Empire

Photo of Wm. Roger Louis

Wm. Roger Louis

Professor

britishstudies@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-9274  |  HRC 3.202

Education   

D.Phil., 1962, and D.Litt., 1979, Oxford University

Interests

  History of the British Empire and Commonwealth, the Middle East, India, and end of empires

Photo of Gail Minault

Gail Minault

Professor

gminault@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7214  |  GAR 3.118

Education   

Ph.D., 1972, University of Pennsylvania
Photo of Cynthia Talbot

Cynthia Talbot

Associate Professor

ctalbot@austin.utexas.edu  |  475-7229  |  GAR 3.406

Education   

PhD, 1988, University of Wisconsin at Madison

Interests

  Medieval and early modern history of South Asia

Photo of James M. Vaughn

James M. Vaughn

Assistant Professor

jmvaughn@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 2008, University of Chicago

Information, Risk & Operations Management

Prabhudev Konana

Professor

pkonana@mail.utexas.edu  |  471-5219

Journalism

Robert W. Jensen

Faculty

rjensen@uts.cc.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph. D., University of Minnesota

Law

Photo of Karen Engle

Karen Engle

Professor

kengle@law.utexas.edu  |  512.232.7066

Education   

J.D., Havard University

Marketing

Kate Gillespie

Associate Professor

kate.gillespie@mccombs.utexas.edu  |  512.471.5438  |  CBA 7.258

Education   

Ph.D., London Business School

Vijay Mahajan

Professor

vijay.mahajan@mccombs.utexas.edu  |  +1 512 471 1128   |  CBA 7.202

Rajagopal Raghunathan

Professor

raj.raghunathan@mccombs.utexas.edu  |  471-2987  |  CBA 7.232

Interests

  Affect and Decision Making, Hedonic and Utilitarian Consumption

Middle Eastern Studies

Photo of Faegheh Shirazi

Faegheh Shirazi

Professor

fshirazi@uts.cc.utexas.edu  |  232-9416  |  WMB 6.128

Education   

Ph.D., Ohio State University

Philosophy

Photo of Daniel A Bonevac

Daniel A Bonevac

Professor

bonevac@austin.utexas.edu  |  232-4333  |  WAG 403

Education   

PhD, Pittsburgh

Interests

  Philosophy; Logic; Moral Issues; Ethics; Philosophy in Popular Culture; Christian Philosophy.

Photo of Stephen Phillips

Stephen Phillips

Professor

phillips@mail.utexas.edu  |  471-5080  |  WAG 301

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University

Physics

E. C. George Sudarshan

Professor

sudarshan@physics.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-5229  |  RLM 9.328

Interests

  Elementary particle physics; quantum optics; quantum field theory; gauge field theories; fibre bundles; classical mechanics; foundations of physics

Public Affairs

Jason Cons

Research Assistant Professor

jasoncons@utexas.edu

Photo of David Eaton

David Eaton

Professor

eaton@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.471.8972  |  SRH 3.204

Education   

Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
Photo of Leigh Linden

Leigh Linden

Assistant Professor

leigh.linden@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Photo of Varun Rai

Varun Rai

Assistant Professor

raivarun@gmail.com  |  512-471-5057  |  SRH 3.256

Education   

Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering, Stanford University

Radio, Television & Film

Lalitha Gopalan

Associate Professor

lalitha.gopalan@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-9374  |  CMA 6.174

Shanti Kumar

Associate Professor

shantikumar@mail.utexas.edu  |  232-3498  |  WWH 404

Education   

Ph.D., Indiana University-Bloomington

Madhavi Mallapragada

Assistant Professor

madhavim@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-9239  |  CMA 6.172

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Photo of Karin Wilkins

Karin Wilkins

Professor

karin.wilkins@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Religious Studies

Photo of A. Azfar Moin

A. Azfar Moin

Assistant Professor

amoin@utexas.edu  |  512 232-7224  |  BUR 518

Education   

PhD, University of Michigan

Interests

  Sufism and Sainthood in Islam; Sacred Kingship; Early Modern Iran, Central Asia, and South Asia

Sociology

Photo of Sharmila Rudrappa

Sharmila Rudrappa

Associate Professor

rudrappa@austin.utexas.edu  |  232-6310  |  BUR 574

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Emeritus Faculty

John Bordie

Professor Emeritus, Linguistics

jgbordie@utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University
Photo of James Brow

James Brow

Professor Emeritus

jbrow@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Washington

Harry Cleaver, Jr.

Associate Professor Emeritus

hmcleave@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.475.8535  |  BRB 3.162

Donald Davis, Jr.

Professor Emeritus, Library and Information Science

Education   

Ph.D. in library science, University of Illinois at Urbana
Photo of Mohammad Ghanoonparvar

Mohammad Ghanoonparvar

Professor Emeritus, Middle Eastern Studies

mrghanoonparvar@utexas.edu  |  475-6605  |  WMB 5.132

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas- Austtin
Photo of William Glade

William Glade

Professor Emeritus

gladew@att.net  |  512.471.3211  |  BRB 1.116

Photo of Kathryn Hansen

Kathryn Hansen

Professor Emeritus

kgh@austin.utexas.edu  |  475-6035  |  WCH 4.122

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Photo of Robert Hardgrave, Jr.

Robert Hardgrave, Jr.

Louann and Larry Temple Centennial Professor Emeritus in the Humanities

rlh@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  South Asia: domestic and international politics (India specialty), comparative ethnic conflict, British India: European images and artists' representation.

Photo of Robert King

Robert King

Professor Emeritus, Linguistics

rking@austin.utexas.edu  |  923-3502  |  CAL 507

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
Photo of Patrick Olivelle

Patrick Olivelle

Professor Emeritus

jpo@uts.cc.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6032  |  WCH 4.112

Education   

Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Photo of Thomas Pullum

Thomas Pullum

Professor Emeritus, Sociology

tpullum@icfi.com  |  232-6314  |  BUR 518

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Herman Van Olphen

Herman Van Olphen

Professor Emeritus

hvo@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
bottom border