Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies
Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies

LLILAS Benson Events

Foro Urgente: "Venezuela in Question: Political Polarization, Social Suffering, and Relations with the U.S."

Thursday, September 3, 2015 • 3:00 PM

2nd Floor Conference Room, Benson Latin American Collection, SRH Unit 1


LLILAS Faculty Book Series: "Language and Ethnicity among the K'ichee' Maya"

Tuesday, September 8, 2015 • 12:00 PM

2nd Floor Conference Room, Benson Latin American Collection, SRH Unit 1


Exhibition Opening: "Wood, Paper, String: The Art and History of Brazilian 'Cordel' Literature"

Thursday, September 10, 2015 • 5:00 PM

2nd Floor Exhibition Gallery, Benson Latin American Collection


Foodways of Mexico: "El Noreste Mexicano: Delicias del Semidesierto / Delicacies of the Northeastern Mexican Semi-desert"

Thursday, September 17, 2015 • 5:30 PM

IBC Bank, 500 W. 5th Street, Suite 1300, Austin, TX


Symposium: "Caribbean Coral Reefs at Risk"

Thursday, September 24, 2015 • 9:00 AM

Texas Governors' Room, UNB 3.116


Mexican Center Lecture: "Lorena Wolffer on Estados de Excepción / States of Exception"

Friday, October 2, 2015 • 4:00 PM

2nd Floor Conference Room, Benson Latin American Collection, SRH Unit 1


Mexican Center Lecture: "Perspectives on Growth and Competitiveness in Latin America"

Thursday, October 8, 2015 • 4:00 PM

2nd Floor Conference Room, Benson Latin American Collection, SRH Unit 1


Austin Lecture on Contemporary Mexico: "Mexico’s Political Labyrinth"

Friday, October 9, 2015 • 4:30 PM

Quadrangle Room, UNB 3.304


Brazil Center UT-FAPESP Workshop: "Social and Economic Inequality in Brazil"

Tuesday, October 13, 2015

2nd Floor Conference Room, Benson Latin American Collection, SRH Unit 1


Lozano Long Workshop: "Racial Inequality in Brazil"

Thursday, October 15, 2015

2nd Floor Conference Room, Benson Latin American Collection, SRH Unit 1


Documentary Play: "De Novo—Part 1: Lil' Silent"

Friday, October 16, 2015 • 7:00 PM

Utopia Theatre, School of Social Work


Film Screening: "Latin American Filmmaker Series Presents Oscar Ruíz Navia"

Tuesday, October 20, 2015 • 7:30 PM

Marchesa Hall and Theatre, 6406 N. 1-35 #3100, Austin, TX


Film Screening: "Latin American Filmmaker Series Presents Oscar Ruíz Navia"

Wednesday, October 21, 2015 • 5:30 PM

Prothro Theater, Harry Ransom Center


UT-Fulbright Visiting Professor Lecture: "Mechanisms for Promoting Renewable Energy"

Monday, October 26, 2015 • 12:00 PM

2nd Floor Conference Room, Benson Latin American Collection, SRH Unit 1


Symposium: "Gabriel García Márquez: His Life and Legacy"

Wednesday, October 28, 2015

The University of Texas at Austin (various locations)


Colloquium: "Brazil, 1995–2015: Twenty Years of Change / Brasil, 1995–2015: Vinte Anos de Mudanças"

Thursday, November 5, 2015

2nd Floor Conference Room, Benson Latin American Collection, SRH Unit 1


LLILAS Speaker Series: "Democracy and Criminal Violence: Disentangling the Linkages between Drugs and Politics in Mexico"

Monday, November 9, 2015 • 12:00 PM

2nd Floor Conference Room, Benson Latin American Collection, SRH Unit 1


LLILAS Faculty Book Presentation: “Purchasing Whiteness”

Wednesday, November 18, 2015 • 12:00 PM

2nd Floor Conference Room, Benson Latin American Collection, SRH Unit 1



  • Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies

    University of Texas at Austin
    SRH 1.310
    2300 Red River Street D0800
    Austin, Texas 78712