Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies
Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies
Search for people

Rachel Adeleye

Graduate student

radeleye@utexas.edu

Interests: oral story telling; Afro-Brazilian studies; natural hair movement; movimento negro; identity formation; youth empowerment; access to information; discourse production; race; information studies

Caroline Daigle

Graduate student

caroline.daigle1@gmail.com

Interests: community planning; gender and development; NGOs in Laitn America; access to resources; marginalized populations

Alicia Danze

Graduate student

alicia.danze@utexas.edu

Interests: Latin American feminism, femicide, sexual violence, poverty/marginality; grassroots social movements; U.S. political/cultural imperialism

Moravia De La O

Graduate student

mdelao@utexas.edu

Interests: human rights defenders; acompañamiento psico-social; Mexico; trauma; drug war; female-identified activists

Martin do Nascimento

Graduate student

martin.do.nascimento@gmail.com

Interests: Brazil; media studies; photojournalism; ethics in journalism

Julia Duranti

Graduate student

jduranti@utexas.edu

Interests: Colombia; Afro-descendant, idigenous, and campesin@ movements; neoliberalism; violence; forced displacement; development studies; social change; activist research; peace-building

Brian Eggert

Graduate student

brianeggert@utexas.edu

Interests: media studies; mobile information technology; networks; race; Brazil; Mexico

Aileen Ford

Graduate student

aileenford@utexas.edu

Interests: international migration; gender violence; feminism; U.S.-Mexico relations; human rights law

Sebastian Gallardo

Graduate student

gallardo.marco.ec@gmail.com

Interests: cultural politics; Afro-descendent and indigenous peoples of Latin America; Ecuador

Julio Gutierrez

Graduate student

jgutierrez2084@gmail.com

Interests: neoliberalism in Latin America; critical theory; subjectivity; El Salvador

Jose Guzman

Graduate student

jignacioguz@gmail.com

Interests: democracy in Latin America; developmental studies; environmental studies

Daniela Hernandez Salazar

Graduate student

daniela8hernandez@gmail.com

Interests: democratization; government transparency and accountability; clientelism; anthropology; development in Latin America; social and economic policy; race, gender, sexuality, and social class; geospatial analysis using GIS

Francisco Herrera

Graduate student

francisco.j.herrera@utexas.edu

Interests: social movements; collective action; Afro-descendant and idigenous politics; development; nation-building; citizenship; critical theory

Rebecca Jackson

Graduate student

rebejackson91@gmail.com

Interests: media studies; transnational media flow; immigration; identity formation; decolonial media practices; media representation; diasporas of Latin America

Alexandra Lamina Luguana

Graduate student

magalylamina@gmail.com

Interests: Ecuador; indigenous studies; social change; conservation and sustainable management of natural resources in the Amazon; urban planning

Michaela Machicote

Graduate student

mmachicote@gmail.com

Interests: Black race and identity in Puerto Rico; Puerto Ricans in the U.S.

Vincent Mauro

Graduate student

vincentrinomauro@utexas.edu

Interests: political parties and party systems; inequality; political economy and economic development; Latin American politics

Kathryn McDonald

Graduate student

klmcdon90@gmail.com

Interests: history and anthropology of Mexico

Devin Oliver

Graduate student

oliver.251@utexas.edu

Interests: Brazil; Black LGBT youth; violence; gay tourist spaces; social media; transnational queer studies; Black geographies; African diaspora; feminist political geography; participatory mapping

Gabriel Ortiz van Meerbeke

Graduate student

gaorvan@utexas.edu

Interests: community and regional planning; critical theory; insurgent citizenship; modes of representation; production and appropriation of space

Lynn Panepinto

Graduate student

lpanepinto@utexas.edu

Interests: social work with Latinos; trauma; immigration; children; families; child abuse reporting

Jheison Romain

Graduate student

jvromain@gmail.com

Interests: challenges for democratic stability in Latin America; effective inclusion of underrepresented groups; ICTs and development; development studies; African Diaspora

Cynthia Rubio

Graduate student

cnrubio@utexas.edu

Interests: language brokering; Latina/o education in the U.S.; gender; class

Jose Rubio-Zepeda

Graduate student

jrubiozep@utexas.edu

Interests: transnationalism and identity; migration; African Diaspora in Central America and the Caribbean, especially the Dominican Republic; globalization; sustainability; development; cultural studies; masculinity; class; gender; sexuality and ethnicity

Giovana Sanchez

Graduate student

giovana@utexas.edu

Interests: women's history and gender studies; Brazilian history; education; subaltern studies

Sam Tabory

Graduate student

stabory@utexas.edu

Interests: international development; good governance; regional and urban planning

Scott David Weaver

Graduate student

sdweaver@utexas.edu

Interests: Mexico; violence; critical theory; law

Emma Whittington

Graduate student

eew5c@virginia.edu

Interests: information organization; access to information; libraries and archives

Sara Zavaleta

Graduate student

sara.m.zavaleta@utexas.edu

Interests: race; mental health; gender; sexuality; immigration; public health; social justice


  • Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies

    University of Texas at Austin
    SRH 1.310
    2300 Red River Street D0800
    Austin, Texas 78712