Department of Philosophy
Department of Philosophy

Ignazio A. Angelelli

Professor Emeritus

angelelli@utexas.edu |
|

Education: PhD, University of Fribourg, Switzerland

Interests: Logic, history of logic, early modern philosophy


Photo of David I Beaver

David I Beaver

Professor

dib@utexas.edu |
471-9028 |
CAL 414

Education: PhD, Edinburgh


Photo of Daniel A Bonevac

Daniel A Bonevac

Professor

bonevac@austin.utexas.edu |
232-4333 |
WAG 403

Education: PhD, Pittsburgh

Interests: Philosophical logic, metaphysics, ethics, cognitive science, Non-Western philosophy, Christian philosophy


Robert S Boyer

Professor Emeritus

boyer@cs.utexas.edu |
471-9745 |
MAI 2014

Education: PhD, UT Austin

Interests: Logic, automatic theorem proving, ancient philosophy


Grayson D Browning

Professor Emeritus

browning@mail.utexas.edu |
471-6777 |
WAG 231

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Pragmatist Movement, Ontology and Morality, Metaphysics, The Moral Stance, Theory of Knowledge


L. Ray Buchanan

Associate Professor

raybuchanan@mail.utexas.edu |
471-7396 |
WAG 416B

Education: PhD, New York University

Interests: Philosophy of Language, Action Theory, Philosophy of Mind


Photo of J. Budziszewski

J. Budziszewski

Professor

jbud@undergroundthomist.org |
512-232-7229 |
MEZ 3.106

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Interests: See biography


Robert L Causey

Professor Emeritus

rlc@cs.utexas.edu

Education: PhD, University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Logic, philosophy of science, artificial intelligence


Photo of Jonathan Dancy

Jonathan Dancy

Professor

jdancy@austin.utexas.edu |
471-2620 |
WAG 305

Education: MA, B Phil, Oxford University

Interests: Ethics, Philosophy of Action, Epistemology, Early Modern Philosophy


John Deigh

Professor

jdeigh@law.utexas.edu |
471-6753, 472-1379 |
TNH 4.109

Education: PhD, University of California at Los Angeles

Interests: Ethics, political philosophy


Josh Dever

Associate Professor

dever@austin.utexas.edu |
471-5611 |
WAG 407

Education: PhD, University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Logic, philosophy of language


Photo of Sinan Dogramaci

Sinan Dogramaci

Assistant Professor

WAG 408B

Education: PhD, NYU


Katherine Laura Dunlop

Assistant Professor

kdunlop@utexas.edu |
(512) 232-8467 |
WAG 410B

Education: Ph.D., UCLA


Matthew L. Evans

Associate Professor

evansmatt@austin.utexas.edu

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin


Robert J Hankinson

Professor

rjhankinson@mail.utexas.edu |
471-5572 |
WAG 409

Education: PhD, Cambridge

Interests: Ancient philosophy, early modern philosophy, metaphysics, history and philosophy of science


Photo of Kathleen M Higgins

Kathleen M Higgins

Professor

kmhiggins@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-5564 |
WAG 203

Education: PhD, Yale

Interests: Nietzsche, Schopenhauer, aesthetics, philosophy of music, Non-Western philosophy, philosophy of emotion


Herbert I Hochberg

Professor Emeritus

hochberg@mail.utexas.edu |
471-6766 |
WAG 410C

Education: PhD, Iowa

Interests: Metaphysics, epistemology, ethics, logic


Cory F Juhl

Professor and Associate Chair

juhl@austin.utexas.edu |
471-4944 |
WAG 419

Education: PhD, Pittsburgh

Interests: Philosophy of science, philosophy of mind, philosophy of religion


Hans Kamp

Visiting Professor

hanskamp@austin.utexas.edu |
471-4880 |
WAG 221

Education: PhD, University of California at Los Angeles

Interests: Language and Thought, Philosophy of Language (Propositional Attitudes)


Photo of Robert H Kane

Robert H Kane

Professor Emeritus

rkane@uts.cc.utexas.edu |
471-6776 |
WAG 219

Education: PhD, Yale

Interests: Free Will, Moral Responsibility, Ethics, Contemporary Moral Problems, Philosophy of Religion, Mind & Action, Knowledge & Valuation, Ideas & Social Change in the 21st Century, Intro to Philosophy


Photo of Robert C Koons

Robert C Koons

Professor

koons@austin.utexas.edu |
471-5530 |
WAG 405

Education: PhD, University of California at Los Angeles

Interests: Logic, metaphysics, philosophy of religion, Christian philosophy


Charles A. Krecz

Senior Lecturer

ckrecz@mail.utexas.edu |
471-5642 |
WAG 423

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Metaphysical systems, Contemporary moral problems, process philosophy and pragmatism


Photo of Jeffrey C. Leon

Jeffrey C. Leon

Lecturer

jcleon@mail.utexas.edu |
471-6780 |
WAG 315

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Philosophy of science, applied ethics, ethical theory, human nature


Jon E. Litland

Assistant Professor

jon.litland@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4880 |
WAG 221

Education: PhD, Harvard

Interests: Metaphysics, Logic, Philosophy of Logic, Philosophy of Mathematics


Norman M Martin

Professor Emeritus

martin@cs.utexas.edu |
471-5387 |
WAG 316

Education: PhD, University of California at Los Angeles

Interests: Humans and computers, logic and set theory, computability and decidibility, symbolic logic, discrete mathematics


Photo of Al P. Martinich

Al P. Martinich

Roy Allison Vaughan Centennial Professor in Philosophy

martinich@austin.utexas.edu |
484-8186 |
WAG 416A

Education: PhD, University of California at San Diego

Interests: History of political philosophy, Hobbes, Locke, Hume, philosophy of language


Photo of Michelle Montague

Michelle Montague

Associate Professor

michellemontague@mac.com |
512-471-5387 |
WAG 317

Education: PhD, University of Colorado at Boulder

Interests: philosophy of mind and metaphysics


Photo of Alexander Mourelatos

Alexander Mourelatos

Professor Emeritus

apdm@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-6749 |
WAG 200C

Education: PhD, Yale

Interests: Ancient philosophy, early Greek science, philosophical linguistics


Photo of Stephen Phillips

Stephen Phillips

Professor

phillips@mail.utexas.edu |
471-5080 |
WAG 301

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests: Indian philosophy, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of religion


Photo of Ian N Proops

Ian N Proops

Professor

iproops@austin.utexas.edu |
471-6752 |
WAG 209

Education: PhD, Harvard University

Interests: Kant, History of Analytic Philosophy, Early Modern Philosophy


Photo of Richard M Sainsbury

Richard M Sainsbury

Professor

marksainsbury@austin.utexas.edu |
471-5433 |
WAG 403A

Education: DPhil, Oxford

Interests: Philosophy of language, philosophy of mind, metaphysics, Frege, Russell, Hume


Sahotra Sarkar

Professor

sarkar@mail.utexas.edu |
232-7122 |
WAG 415A

Education: PhD, Chicago

Interests: Philosophy of biology, philosophy of science, environmental ethics, Kant


Photo of Miriam Schoenfield

Miriam Schoenfield

Assistant Professor

mschoenfield@austin.utexas.edu |
WAG 408B

Education: PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Interests: Epistemology, Ethics


Thomas K Seung

Professor

t.k.seung@austin.utexas.edu |
471-6808 |
WAG 431

Education: PhD, Yale

Interests: Philosophy of law, continental philosophy, political philosophy, Kant


Nicole Smith

Lecturer

nasmith@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-4857

Education: PhD, Bowling Green State University

Interests: Ethics and Moral Psychology


Tara A Smith

Professor

tara@austin.utexas.edu |
471-6777 |
WAG 231

Education: PhD, Johns Hopkins

Interests: Moral, Political & Legal Philosophy


Photo of David Sosa

David Sosa

Professor and Chair

david_sosa@austin.utexas.edu |
471-4857 |
WAG 316CB

Education: Ph.D., Princeton University

Interests: Epistemology, ethics, metaphysics, philosophy of mind, philosophy of language


Photo of Galen Strawson

Galen Strawson

Professor

gstrawson@mac.com |
512-471-6776 |
WAG 219

Education: DPhil, Oxford 1983

Interests: philosophy of mind, metaphysics, moral psychology, Locke, Hume, Kant, Nietzsche


Michael Tye

Professor

mtye@mail.utexas.edu |
471-6789 |
WAG 425

Education: PhD, State University of New York at Buffalo

Interests: Philosophy of mind, metaphysics, philosophy of language


Photo of Stephen A White

Stephen A White

Professor

sawhite@utexas.edu |
512 475-7457 |
WAG 117

Education: PhD, University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Ancient ethics, Aristotle, Plato, Stoicism


Photo of Paul B Woodruff

Paul B Woodruff

Professor; Distinguished Teaching Professor

paul.woodruff@austin.utexas.edu |
471-6788 |
WAG 331

Education: PhD, Princeton

Interests: Ancient philosophy, aesthetics, philosophy and literature