Plan II Honors Logo
Plan II Honors

Plan II Seniors Awarded George H. Mitchell Student Awards for Academic Excellence

Tue, May 1, 2012

The University Co-operative Society and The University of Texas at Austin awarded the 13th annual University Co-op George H. Mitchell Student Awards for Academic Excellence on May 2.

Two of the seven awards recognizing hard work and extraordinary contributions to their fields of study went to Plan II Honors seniors George F. Miller and Jillian Owens. 

George Miller's thesis, Two Planets Orbiting the Eclipsing System NN Serpentis, was the $20,000 grand prize winner.  Miller's faculty superviser was Professor Don Winget, of the Department of Astronomy.  Miller graduates this month and will begin work on a PhD at Harvard in the fall.

Jillian Owens, one of this year's College of Liberal Arts Dean's Distinguished Graduates thesis is titled:  A Wide Net of Hope: Understanding the Success of Joel Osteen and Lakewood Church.  Her supervising professor is Dr. Thomas Tweed of Religous Studies.

Founded in 1896 by William J. Battle, a professor of the Greek language who later served as president of the University from 1914 to 1916, the University Co-op fulfills its 116-year old mission as a non-profit corporation by returning all profits to its owners — UT’s students, faculty, and staff. Since 2000, the Co-op has given more than $32 million to UT in the form of gifts, grants, and rebates.

Bookmark and Share

  •   Map
  • Plan II Honors Program

    University of Texas at Austin
    305 East 23rd St
    CLA 2.102
    Austin, Texas, 78712-1250