Brown Bag Seminar Schedule

Fall 2015 Schedule

September 4, 2015, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302E
"Fall 2015 Brown Bag Kickoff"
Debra Umberson - umberson@prc.utexas.edu
Population Research Center and Department of Sociology, The University of Texas at Austin

September 11, 2015, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302E
"Risk and Protective Factors for Academic and Mental Health Problems in Young Latino Children"
Esther Calzadaesther.calzada@austin.utexas.edu
School of Social Work, The University of Texas at Austin

September 18, 2015, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302E
"Revenge and Social Status in Groups"
Stephen Benard - sbenard@indiana.edu
Schuessler Institute for Social Research and Department of Sociology, Indiana University

September 25, 2015, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.106
TBD

October 2, 2015, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302E
"Race, Gender, and Unemployment Scarring"
David Pedulladpedulla@utexas.edu
Population Research Center and Department of Sociology, The University of Texas at Austin

October 9, 2015, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302E
"Fertility Desires and the Course of Fertility Decline in Africa"
John Casterline - casterline.10@osu.edu
Department of Sociology, Ohio State University

October 16, 2015, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302E
"The Organizational Production of National Earnings Inequalities, Germany 1995-2010"
Donald Tomaskovic-Devey - tomaskovic-devey@soc.umass.edu
Department of Sociology, UMass Amherst

October 23, 2015, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302E
"Minority Representation and Minority Health Outcomes"
Eric McDanielemcdaniel@austin.utexas.edu
Population Research Center and Department of Government, The University of Texas at Austin

October 30, 2015, 12:00-1:00 pm

SAC 2.302 - Legislative Assembly Room

Jennifer Van Hookjxv21@psu.edu
Population Research Institute and Department of Sociology and Criminology, Penn State

November 6, 2015, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302E

Youngjoo Chacha5@indiana.edu
Department of Sociology, Indiana University

November 13, 2015, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302E

Bruce Western
Malcolm Wiener Center for Social Policy and Department of Sociology, Harvard University

November 20, 2015, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302E
"Neighborhood Selection:  Latest Findings from the Geographic Research on Wellbeing (GROW) Study"
Catherine Cubbinccubbin@austin.utexas.edu
Population Research Center and School of Social Work, The University of Texas at Austin

December 4, 2015, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302E
"Recent Findings about Chinese Only Children"
Toni Falbotoni@prc.utexas.edu
Population Research Center and Department of Educational Psychology, The University of Texas at Austin


Many of the presentations from Spring 2010 onward are available on the "Recordings" page.



Brown Bag Archives