Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
britishstudies masthead britishstudies masthead
W. Roger Louis, Philippa Levine, Director HRC 3.202, Mailcode F1900, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-475-7228

Past Events

Fri, Dec 2, 2011

Christmas Party

Fri, Nov 25, 2011

Thanksgiving: -- No Meeting

Fri, Nov 18, 2011 2:45 PM | Tom Lea Rooms, Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center 3.206

'Locke and the Limits of Toleration'

Fri, Nov 11, 2011 2:45 PM | Prothro Theater, Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center 3.206

'The History of Oxford University Press'

Fri, Nov 4, 2011 2:45 PM | Tom Lea Rooms, Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center 3.206

'Crime, Punishment, and Governance in Eighteenth-Century Britain'

Fri, Oct 28, 2011 2:45 PM | Tom Lea Rooms, Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center 3.206

'The Betrayal of Adam Smith'

Fri, Oct 21, 2011 2:45 PM | Tom Lea Rooms, Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center 3.206

‘A New Grand-Transatlantic-Drama: Britain and the Anglo-American War of 1812’

Fri, Oct 14, 2011 2:45 PM | Tom Lea Rooms, Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center 3.206

'Surprising Resilience: Historians of British Conservatism since 1945'

Fri, Oct 7, 2011 2:45 PM | Tom Lea Rooms, Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center 3.206

‘Shakespeare and Home Front during World War II’

Fri, Sep 30, 2011 2:45 PM | Tom Lea Rooms, Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center 3.206

‘The Royal Wedding and the Making of a Modern Princess’

Fri, Sep 23, 2011 2:45 PM | Prothro Theatre, Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center

‘What’s for Dinner on a Desert Island: Feast and Famine in The Tempest’

Fri, Sep 16, 2011 2:45 PM | Tom Lea Rooms, Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center 3.206

‘Poverty, Politics, and Roast Beef: Poor Relief and the Nation in Early Nineteenth-Century Britain’

Fri, Sep 9, 2011 2:45 PM | Tom Lea Rooms, Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center 3.206

‘The Territory of My Imagination: Rediscovering Dan Jacobson’s South Africa’

Fri, Sep 2, 2011 2:45 AM | Tom Lea Rooms, Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center 3.206

'The Scots, Irish, English, and Welsh in the Making of Texas'

Fri, Aug 26, 2011 2:45 AM | Tom Lea Rooms, Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center 3.206

'The Oxford of Maurice Bowra and Hugh Trevor Roper'

Fri, May 6, 2011 3:00 PM | Tom Lea Rooms, HRC 3.206

John Higley on Vilfredo Pareto and elite patterns in America and Britain

Fri, Apr 29, 2011 3:00 PM | Tom Lea Rooms, HRC 3.206

Priscilla Roberts on Henry James and the weakening of British Power

Fri, Apr 22, 2011 3:00 PM | Tom Lea Rooms, HRC 3.206

Geoffrey Wheatcroft on Britain as a client state

Fri, Apr 15, 2011 3:00 PM | Tom Lea Rooms, HRC 3.206

Andrew Lycett on Conan Doyle and Rudyard Kipling

Fri, Apr 8, 2011 3:00 PM | Tom Lea Rooms, HRC 3.206

Joanna Lewis on the wind of change

Fri, Mar 25, 2011 | Tom Lea Rooms, HRC 3.206

Deborah Harkness on the science of magic

Fri, Mar 11, 2011 | Tom Lea Rooms, HRC 3.206

Philip Bobbitt on the Special Relationship

Fri, Mar 4, 2011 3:00 PM | Tom Lea Rooms, HRC 3.206

'Brent Scowcroft and Mrs. Thatcher'

Fri, Feb 25, 2011 3:00 PM | Tom Lea Rooms, HRC 3.206

'George Bernard Shaw: Modernist'

Fri, Feb 18, 2011 3:00 PM | Tom Lea Rooms, HRC 3.206

'Demonic Possession in Early Modern Britain'

Fri, Feb 4, 2011 3:00 PM | Tom Lea Rooms, HRC 3.206

'George Bernard Shaw: Modernist'

Fri, Jan 28, 2011 3:00 PM | Tom Lea Rooms, HRC 3.206

'Sister Arts: The Erotics of Lesbian Landscape'

Fri, Jan 21, 2011 3:00 PM | Tom Lea Rooms, HRC 3.206

'Naked Colonialism: Displaying the Unclothed Body'

bottom border