Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
medievalstudies masthead medievalstudies masthead
Luisa Nardini, Director MBE 3.602, Mailcode E3100, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-232-2069

Faculty List

Professors

Photo of Mary E Blockley

Mary E Blockley

Associate Professor

blockley@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8362  |  PAR 320

Education   

Ph.D., 1984, Yale University

Interests

  Language and Linguistics, Renaissance Literature, Old English language and literature, History of the English language, Medieval manuscripts, Germanic philology

Joan Holladay

Professor

holladay@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-232-2546  |  DFA 2.128

Education   

PhD., Brown University

Interests

  Gothic Art in France and Germany

Ernest Kaulbach

Professor

ekaulbach@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8365  |  CAL 17

Education   

Ph.D., 1970, Cornell University
Photo of Glenn Peers

Glenn Peers

Professor

gpeers@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-2594  |  DFA 2.508

Education   

Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University

Interests

  Early Medieval and Byzantine Art

Jeffrey Chipps Smith

Kay Fortson Chair in European Art

chipps@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

PhD, Columbia University

Interests

  Northern European art, c. 1400-1700

Photo of Marjorie Curry Woods

Marjorie Curry Woods

Blumberg Centennial Professor of English and University Distinguished Teaching Professor

marjoriewoods@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-8383  |  Calhoun 301

Education   

Ph.D., U. of Toronto

Interests

  Latin palaeography, medieval literature; medieval and renaissance rhetoric and pedagogy; composition exercises in the premodern classroom; modern use of premodern compostion exercises

Associate Professors

Photo of Alison K. Frazier

Alison K. Frazier

Associate Professor

akfrazier@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6375  |  GAR 2.148

Education   

Ph.D., 1997, Columbia University

Interests

  Medieval and Renaissance Europe, especially intellectual history, religion, hagiography, biblical exegesis, manuscripts and printing

Photo of Michael P Harney

Michael P Harney

Associate Professor

harney@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4936  |  BEN 3.148

Education   

Ph.D.-Comparative Literature, University of California, Berkeley

Interests

  Medieval and Renaissance Spanish Literature, Comparative literature, literary theory, cultural theory.

Photo of Geraldine Heng

Geraldine Heng

Associate Professor

heng@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-7480  |  PAR 213

Education   

Ph.D., Cornell University

Guy P Raffa

Associate Professor

guyr@utexas.edu  |  512-232-5492  |  HRH 3.104A

Education   

Ph.D., Indiana University

Interests

  Dante Studies, medieval Italian literature and culture, digital humanities, history and philosophy of science, Italo Calvino and Umberto Eco

Photo of Elizabeth Scala

Elizabeth Scala

Associate Professor

scala@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 1994, Harvard University

Interests

  Medieval Studies, Bibliography and Textual Studies, Literary Theory, Women, Gender and Literature

Denise A. Spellberg

Associate Professor

spellberg@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7202  |  GAR 3.208

Education   

Ph.D., 1989, Columbia University
Photo of Madeline Sutherland-Meier

Madeline Sutherland-Meier

Associate Professor

madelinesm@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-4513  |  BEN 4.134

Education   

Ph.D.-Spanish Literature, University of California, San Diego

Interests

  The Romancero, Medieval, Golden Age and eighteenth-century literature, the Spanish periodical press, disability studies

Assistant Professors

Susan R. Boettcher

Faculty

susan.boettcher@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 1998, University of Wisconsin, Madison

Interests

  Europe: Early Modern, Reformation history, early modern Germany (1450-1806), and the history of the early modern city.

Photo of Michael Johnson

Michael Johnson

Faculty

mjohnson@utexas.edu  |  471 7470  |  HRH 3.110A

Education   

PhD, Emory University

Luisa Nardini

Faculty

nardini@mail.utexas.edu  |  232 2069  |  MBE 3.602

Interests

  musicology with a special interest in the late developments of Gregorian chant, tropes, prosulas, medieval music theory, music and visual arts, manuscript studies

Photo of Na'ama Pat-El

Na'ama Pat-El

Faculty

npatel@austin.utexas.edu  |  232-8292  |  WMB 5.144

Education   

Ph.D.- 2008, Harvard University

Interests

  Comparative Semitic Linguistics, Historical Linguistics, Syntax, Languages in Contact, Linguistic Methodology

Photo of Michael Pesenson

Michael Pesenson

Faculty

mpesenson@utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D, Yale University

Senior Lecturers

Ann Johns

Faculty

acjohns@mail.utexas.edu  |  DFA 2.520

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  My research interests are the art and architecture of late Medieval Siena, Medieval monastic art in Italy, and the development of landscape painting in the early Renaissance.

Photo of Sandra B Straubhaar

Sandra B Straubhaar

Faculty

sstraub@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., German Studies and Humanities, Stanford University

Professors Emeriti

Rebecca Baltzer

Faculty

rbaltzer@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Boston University
Photo of Thomas M Cable

Thomas M Cable

Professor Emeritus

tcable@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 1969, University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Poetry and Poetics, History of the English Language, Rhythms and Rhetoric of English Poetry

William W Kibler

Professor Emeritus

wkibler@utexas.edu  |  512-471-5531  |  HRH 3.108C

Education   

PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Photo of John Kolsti

John Kolsti

Professor Emeritus

jkolsti@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-3607  |  CAL 415

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University
Photo of John M Weinstock

John M Weinstock

Professor

weinstock@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6369  |  BUR 354

Education   

PhD, Indo-European Linguistics, Scandinavian Studies, University of Wisconsin (Madison)

Interests

  Norse and Scandinavian Literature

James Wimsatt

Faculty

wimsattj@nni.com

Education   

Ph.D., 1964, Duke University
bottom border