Skip Navigation
UT Wordmark
public affairs header title graphic

The Student Lounge: December 2007

Honors and Awards

The Parents' Association named Megan Sudderth (English / Government / Plan II) a finalist for the Texas Parents Outstanding Student Award.

Normandy Scholars enroll in courses focusing on World War II and the three-week Maymester tour of related sites and museums in Europe:

  • Jamie Brod (Government)
  • Lauren Conner (History)
  • Christopher Corbitt (History)
  • Andrew Cross (Plan II)
  • Thomas Divine (Plan II / History)
  • Elena Dufner (Plan II)
  • Anna Emelianova (Plan II / History)
  • Jacob Garner (History / Liberal Arts Honors)
  • Cheryl Joseph (Plan II)
  • Upaasna Kaul (Government)
  • Alyshia Ledlie (History)
  • Zane Martindale (Plan II)
  • Mathew Martinez (Humanities)
  • Colin Pace (Anthropology / History)
  • Alyssa Potasznick  (English)
  • Lauryn Radice (History / Government)
  • Kristin Schneider (Plan II)
  • Garrick Smith (History / Government)
  • Chandra Srivastava (History / Economics)
  • Brian Wilson (History)

Scholarship News

Megan Campbell (Classics), Christian Casey (Classics), Ellen Cole (Classics), Philip Johnson (English), Patrick McKelvey (English) and Michelle Ty (English) earned Rappaport-King Thesis Scholarships.

UTeach-Liberal Arts awarded Kim deWitte (Spanish), Allison Foster (French), Ana Knezevic (English), Anthony Poullard (Spanish) and Marissa Sands (Geography) Jamail Endowed Scholarships to study abroad.

UTeach-Liberal Arts students Keshia Fields (Government), Allison Goldman (Geography) and Jennifer Ward (History) earned Gill Endowed Scholarships for study abroad.

Jerry Henke (Economics) received the Edmund Thornton Miller Endowed Presidential Scholarship in Economics.

Patrick McKelvey and Michelle Ty (English) earned Undergraduate Research Fellowships.

Graduate Student News

The Department of Geography and the Environment swept all major graduate student awards at the meeting of the Southwest Division of the Association of American Geographers. Ingrid Haeckel (1st), Katherine Williams (2nd), and Katia Avilés-Vázquez (3rd) claimed top honors in the paper competition. Jennifer E. Miller won the poster competition.

R.J. Briggs and Teresa Stafford (Economics) earned $30,000 National Science Foundation research fellowships.

This year's recipients of the Bruce D. Smith Memorial Graduate Fellowship in Economics are:

  • Stephen Barnes
  • Conan Crum
  • Pablo D’Erasmo
  • Jason DeBacker
  • Richard Evans
  • Abigail Ferguson
  • Deniz Gevrek
  • Shyam Gouri Suresh
  • Timothy Jones
  • Jing Liu
  • Michelle Rendall
  • Anna Yurko

Olivier Roeder, Zhan Shi, Ahmet Taskin, Henrique Vinhais and Manxiang Xie earned graduate fellowships in economics.

Web Spotlight: Fall Commencement

The College of Liberal Arts fall commencement is Saturday, Dec. 8. For details about the ceremony and answers to common questions, please visit . For information on all university ceremonies and celebrations, visit