College of Liberal Arts

English Professor Presents "Friends of Ted" Saturday Morning Literary Chats

Saturday Sep 22, 2012 9:30 AM - 11:00 AM | 807 W. 16th Street

db-image
Book lovers are invited to the “Friends of Ted” (Texas English Department) Saturday morning book chats led by University of Texas at Austin English Professor George Christian. The literary discussions focus on two 19th century European classics: “La Cousine Bette” and “Dead Souls.”

On Sept. 29, the discussion will focus on Honoré de Balzac’s “La Cousine Bette.” Readers of W.M. Thackeray’s “Vanity Fair” will recognize “La Cousine Bette” as a kindred narrative, at once funny (if a bit raunchy) and appalling, cynical and life affirming.

The October book chats will revolve around Nikolai Gogol’s “Dead Souls.” Fans of Dostoyevsky and Tolstoy are sure to enjoy the great comic masterpiece. The narrative follows the provincial travels of a minor bureaucrat named Chichikov, who tours the country looking to buy “dead souls,” deceased serfs who are still registered as property on the tax rolls.

The group warmly welcomes anyone with literary interest. Try to read the novels in advance, but if you are unable, come anyway and enjoy the interesting company and great literature!

The discussions are scheduled on Sept. 29, Oct. 13 and Oct. 27 from 9:30 to 11 a.m. at 807 W. 16th Street. For more details, visit the Friends of Ted blog.

Bookmark and Share