Department of Rhetoric & Writing
Department of Rhetoric & Writing

Kendall Gerdes receives 2014 CCCC Gloria Anzaldúa Rhetorician Award

Mon, February 10, 2014

Urbana, IL – 12/17/2013 – Kendall Gerdes, The University of Texas at Austin, has won a 2014 CCCC Gloria Anzaldúa Rhetorician Award in the inaugural year of this award. The Conference on College Composition and Communication (CCCC) is a constituent organization within the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE). Gerdes is one of 3 recipients of this award.

CCCC sponsors the Gloria Anzaldúa Rhetorician Award to support scholars whose work participates in the making of meaning out of sexual and gender minority experiences.

CCCC offers to emerging scholars up to three travel awards of $750 each, sponsors a reception for all award winners, and offers a one-year membership in NCTE and CCCC. The Awards Selection Committee considers originality of research; critical engagement with and contribution to current scholarship in queer studies and rhetoric/composition; and potential for lasting projects.

Gerdes will be announced as a recipient of the CCCC Gloria Anzaldúa Rhetorician Award on Friday, March 21, during the 2014 CCCC Annual Convention in Indianapolis, IN.  

For more information about the CCCC Gloria Anzaldúa Rhetorician Award, including past winners, see

Bookmark and Share