Slavic and Eurasian Studies

Professors


Photo of Robert Moser

Robert Moser

Professor

rmoser@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7278 |
BAT 4.148

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin


Photo of Joan Neuberger

Joan Neuberger

Professor

neuberger@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7219 |
GAR 2.102

Education: Ph.D., 1985, Stanford University


Photo of Mary Neuburger

Mary Neuburger

Professor and Chair of Department

burgerm@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-3607 |
BUR 456

Education: Ph.D., 1997, University of Washington

Interests: Southeastern europe, urban culture, consumption, gender, ethnic conflict, and nationalism


Associate Professors


Photo of Thomas Garza

Thomas Garza

University Distinguished Teaching Associate Professor and Director, Texas Language Center

tjgarza@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-3607 |
HRH 4.190 and BUR 458

Education: Ed.D., Harvard University, 1987

Interests: Russian language teaching methodology/Applied linguistics/Contemporary Russian culture/The Chechen wars and the media/Post-Soviet youth culture/Language teaching pedagogy/Russian popular culture/Modern Russian language/Contemporary Russian media


Photo of Keith Livers

Keith Livers

Associate Professor

kalivers@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-9128 |
BUR 468

Education: Ph.D., University of Michigan


Photo of Charters Wynn

Charters Wynn

Associate Professor

wynn@utexas.edu |
512-475-7234 |
GAR 1.120

Education: Ph.D., 1987, Stanford University


Assistant Professors


Photo of Craig Campbell

Craig Campbell

Assistant Professor

craig.campbell@utexas.edu |
EPS 4.128

Education: Ph.D., University of Alberta

Interests: Siberia, Central Siberia, Indigenous Siberians, Evenki, Evenkiia, Reindeer hunting and herding, Travel and mobility, Socialist colonialism, early forms of Sovietization. Visual and intermedia ethnography


Photo of Tatiana Kuzmic

Tatiana Kuzmic

Assistant Professor

tkuzmic@austin.utexas.edu |
BUR 472

Education: Ph.D., University of Illinois


Photo of Tatjana Lichtenstein

Tatjana Lichtenstein

Assistant Professor

lichtens@austin.utexas.edu |
475-6171 |
GAR 0.110

Education: Ph.D. 2009, University of Toronto, Canada


Photo of Michael Pesenson

Michael Pesenson

Assistant Professor, Graduate Advisor

mpesenson@utexas.edu |
512 232 9132 |
BUR 464

Education: Ph.D, Yale University


Photo of Petre Petrov

Petre Petrov

Assistant Professor

petrov@utexas.edu |
(512) 232-9130 |
BUR 402

Education: Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh

Interests: Russian and Western modernism; socialist realism; Stalinist culture; Soviet language and ideology; theory of ideology; Marxism; critical theory


Lecturers


Photo of Christian Hilchey

Christian Hilchey

Lecturer

hilchey@austin.utexas.edu |
BUR 474

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Language pedagogy, Czech instructional material development, Texas Czech communities, food culture, Czech linguistics, verbal prefixes, Czech dialects


Photo of Mark Hopkins

Mark Hopkins

Lecturer

markhopkins@utexas.edu |
(512) 471-3607 |
BUR 462

Education: PhD, UT Austin

Interests: Language pedagogy/applied linguistics, 20th- & 21st-century Czech and Russian literature, contemporary Czech language, contemporary Russian language, Texas Czech dialect and community, mysticism and nonduality in Slavic literature, and music in language education


Photo of Bella B. Jordan

Bella B. Jordan

Lecturer

belka@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-9127 |
BUR 470

Education: Ph.D., UT Austin

Interests: History, travel, architecture


Photo of Bernadeta Kaminska

Bernadeta Kaminska

Lecturer

BernadetaKaminska@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-9133 |
BUR 580

Education: M.A., Adam Mickiewicz University Poznań (Poland)

Interests: Polish language teaching methodology, development of materials for teaching Polish.


Photo of Marina Potoplyak

Marina Potoplyak

Lecturer

marina.potoplyak@utexas.edu |
(512) 471-3607 |
BUR 466

Education: PhD, UT Austin

Interests: Russian Modernism, Russian Avant-Garde, Russian Pedagogy, Instructional Technology, Russian Food History, Russian Revolutionary Groups


Photo of Larisa Zlatic

Larisa Zlatic

Lecturer

larisaz@lztranslation.com |
GAR 3.410

Education: PhD in Linguistics, University of Texas at Austin


Other faculty


Photo of Leslie O'Bell

Leslie O'Bell

Associate Professor, Retired

lobell@utexas.edu |
(512) 472-5080

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University


Professors Emeriti


Photo of John Kolsti

John Kolsti

Professor Emeritus

jkolsti@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-3607 |
CAL 415

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University


Photo of Sidney Monas

Sidney Monas

Professor Emeritus

smonas@mail.utexas.edu |
512-471-5001 |
HRC 3.325


Photo of Gilbert Rappaport

Gilbert Rappaport

Professor Emeritus

grapp@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., UCLA


Photo of Seth Wolitz

Seth Wolitz

Professor Emeritus

slwolitz@mail.utexas.edu |
512 471 5531 |
HRH 3.114A

Education: Ph.D., Yale University


Assistant Instructors


Jason Roberts

Assistant Instructor

j.roberts@utexas.edu |
BUR 370

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin