Department of Sociology
Search for people

Core Faculty


Photo of Ari Adut

Ari Adut

Associate Professor

ariadut@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-4284 |
CLA 3.518

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Ronald J. Angel

Ronald J. Angel

Professor

rangel@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6315 |
CLA 3.530

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin at Madison

Photo of Javier Auyero

Javier Auyero

Professor

auyero@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-8073 |
CLA 3.624

Education: Ph.D., The New School for Social Research

Interests: Political ethnography, urban politics, environmental sociology

Photo of Sarah Brayne

Sarah Brayne

Assistant Professor (on leave 2015-16)

sbrayne@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.408J

Education: Ph.D., Princeton University

Photo of John S. Butler

John S. Butler

Professor

john.butler@mccombs.utexas.edu |
512-232-6328 |
CLA 3.606

Education: Ph. D. 1974, Organizational Science, Statistics and Methods, Northwestern University

Photo of Ben Carrington

Ben Carrington

Associate Professor

bcarrington@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6341 |
CLA 3.734

Education: Ph.D., 2004, Sociology, Leeds Metropolitan University, UK

Interests: Post/colonial Theory; Sociology of Race; Cultural Sociology; Sociology of Sport, Media and Popular Culture; Cultural Studies; Masculinity and Gender Studies

Photo of Shannon E. Cavanagh

Shannon E. Cavanagh

Associate Professor

scavanagh@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-8319 |
CLA 2.708A

Education: Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Photo of Mounira Charrad

Mounira Charrad

Associate Professor

charrad@utexas.edu |
512-232-6311 |
CLA 3.526

Education: Ph.D., Harvard

Interests: Gender & Women's Rights; Political Sociology; Social Theory; Colonialism; Comparative-Historical Sociology; Globalization; Middle East and North Africa.

Diane Coffey

Assistant Professor (beginning spring 2017)

Education: Ph.D., Princeton University

Photo of Robert Crosnoe

Robert Crosnoe

Professor and Chair of Sociology; C.B. Smith, Sr. Centennial Chair #4

crosnoe@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-3255 (Chair's Office), 512-471-8329 (PRC) |
CLA 2.406F

Education: Ph.D., Stanford

Interests: Human Development, Education, Family, Health, Immigration

Photo of Sheldon Ekland-Olson

Sheldon Ekland-Olson

Professor

seo@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-5224 (CLA), 512-232-5879 (GEA) |
CLA 3.614, GEA 115

Education: Ph.D., University of Washington

Photo of Daniel Fridman

Daniel Fridman

Assistant Professor

dfridman@utexas.edu |
512-232-4811 |
CLA 3.634

Education: Ph.D., Columbia University

Interests: Economic Sociology; Ethnography; Sociology of Finance; Neoliberalism; Consumption; Latin America.

Photo of Jennifer Glass

Jennifer Glass

Professor

jennifer-glass@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-8355 |
CLA 2.702F

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Interests: work and family issues, telecommuting and new labor practices, STEM labor force retention

Photo of Gloria González-López

Gloria González-López

Associate Professor

gloria@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6343 |
CLA 3.504

Education: Ph.D., University of Southern California

Photo of Mark D. Hayward

Mark D. Hayward

Professor of Sociology & Centennial Commission Professor in the Liberal Arts

mhayward@prc.utexas.edu |
512-471-8382 |
CLA 2.622E

Education: Ph.D., Indiana University, Bloomington

Interests: Life course origins of health disparities, morbidity and mortality, biodemography

Photo of William R Kelly

William R Kelly

Professor

wkelly@mail.la.utexas.edu |
512-232-4142 |
CLA 3.512

Education: Ph.D., Indiana University Bloominton

Photo of Ken-Hou Lin

Ken-Hou Lin

Assistant Professor

lin@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-9412 |
CLA 2.702D

Education: Ph.D., University of Massachusetts Amherst

Interests: Inequality, Economy and Society, Finance, Organization, Race, and Methods.

Photo of Leticia Marteleto

Leticia Marteleto

Associate Professor

marteleto@prc.utexas.edu |
512-471-8302 |
CLA 2.708D

Education: Ph.D., University of Michigan

Photo of Chandra L. Muller

Chandra L. Muller

Professor

cmuller@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-8377 |
CLA 2.408G

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Marc A. Musick

Marc A. Musick

Professor

musick@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4271 |
GEB 2.200

Education: Ph.D., Duke University

Photo of Pamela Paxton

Pamela Paxton

Professor

ppaxton@prc.utexas.edu |
512-232-6323 |
CLA 3.738

Education: Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Photo of David Pedulla

David Pedulla

Assistant Professor

dpedulla@utexas.edu |
512-232-6462 |
CLA 2.702C

Education: Ph.D., Princeton University

Photo of Becky Pettit

Becky Pettit

Professor

bpettit@utexas.edu |
512-471-9850 |
CLA 2.622H

Education: Ph.D., Princeton University

Interests: Social Inequality, Race and Ethnicity, Gender, Labor Markets, Research Methods

Photo of Joseph E. Potter

Joseph E. Potter

Professor

joe@prc.utexas.edu |
512-471-8341 |
CLA 2.620C

Education: Ph.D., Princeton University

Photo of Daniel A. Powers

Daniel A. Powers

Professor

dpowers@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6335 |
CLA 2.622J

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin - Madison

Interests: Demography, Infant Mortality, Fertility, Statistics and Methods

Photo of Tetyana Pudrovska

Tetyana Pudrovska

Assistant Professor

tpudrovs@austin.utexas.edu |
CLA 2.622D

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin - Madison

Interests: Population Health Disparities, Gender and Health, Work and Health, Biopsychosocial Stress, Biodemography, Aging

Photo of Kelly Raley

Kelly Raley

Professor

kelly.raley@mail.utexas.edu |
512-232-6333 |
CLA 2.702E

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin - Madison

Interests: Demography, Family, Race and Ethnic Relations, Education, Work Occupations and Organizations, Gender

Photo of Mark Regnerus

Mark Regnerus

Associate Professor

regnerus@prc.utexas.edu |
512-232-6307 |
CLA 3.524

Education: Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Photo of Néstor P. Rodríguez

Néstor P. Rodríguez

Professor

nrodriguez@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-8072 |
CLA 3.528

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Mary Rose

Mary Rose

Associate Professor

mrose@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6336 |
CLA 3.630

Education: Ph.D., Duke University

Interests: Juries and Jury Decision Making, Empirical Analysis of the Law, Social Psychology

Photo of Sharmila Rudrappa

Sharmila Rudrappa

Associate Professor; Director, Center for Asian American Studies

rudrappa@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6310 |
CLA 3.628

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Photo of Harel Shapira

Harel Shapira

Assistant Professor

hshapira@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-8075 |
CLA 3.636

Education: Ph.D., Columbia University

Photo of Debra J. Umberson

Debra J. Umberson

Professor

umberson@prc.utexas.edu |
512-232-6330 |
CLA 2.708B

Education: Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

Interests: Social Ties & Population Health, Aging & the Life Course, Marriage & Family, Same-Sex Unions, Gender & Race, Blended Methods

Photo of Peter Ward

Peter Ward

Professor, Dept of Sociology, C. B. Smith Sr. Centennial Chair # 1 in US-Mexico Relations

peter.ward@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6319 |
SOC CLA 3.730; LBJ = SRH 3.229

Education: Ph.D., University of Liverpool

Interests: Academic: Housing and Governance in Mexico and Latin America. Non academic: Opera & Longhorn Football.

Photo of E. Mark Warr

E. Mark Warr

Professor

mwarr@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6317 |
CLA 3.612

Education: Ph.D., University of Arizona

Interests: Crime, Delinquency, Deviance.

Photo of Alexander Weinreb

Alexander Weinreb

Associate Professor

aweinreb@prc.utexas.edu |
512-471-0437 |
CLA 2.620E

Education: Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Interests: Social and political demography, data collection methods

Abigail Weitzman

Assistant Professor (beginning fall 2016, on leave 2016-17)

Education: Ph.D., New York University

Photo of Christine L Williams

Christine L Williams

Professor

cwilliams@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6321 |
CLA 3.608

Education: Ph.D., University of California - Berkeley

Interests: gender, sexuality, workplace inequality, qualitative research methods, theory

Photo of Michael P Young

Michael P Young

Associate Professor

myoung@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6331 |
CLA 3.514

Education: Ph.D., New York University

Senior Lecturers


Photo of Penny A Green

Penny A Green

Senior Lecturer

pennygreen@utexas.edu |
512-232-6306 |
CLA 3.602

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Classical Sociological and Modern Evolutionary Theory, Globalization, Widening Income Inequality

Photo of Hossein Haghshenas

Hossein Haghshenas

Senior Lecturer

mehdiha@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-8064 |
CLA 3.604

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Lecturers


Kelly Fulton

Lecturer

kgfulton@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4825 |
CLA 4.604

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Jiwon Jeon

Lecturer

JiwonJeon@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4825 |
CLA 4.604

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Photo of Stephanie Osbakken

Stephanie Osbakken

Lecturer

osbakken@utexas.edu |
512-232-6338 |
CLA 3.506

Education: Ph.D., University of Michigan

Lynette Osborne

Lecturer

LOsborne@utexas.edu |
512-471-1533 |
CLA 4.606

Education: Ph.D., Purdue University

Interests: Gender, Education, Women/Minorities in STEM, Deviance, Research Methods/Statistics, Evaluation Research

Photo of Nina Palmo

Nina Palmo

Lecturer

npalmo@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Scott Swearingen

Lecturer

swear@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-1533 |
CLA 4.606

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Affiliated Faculty


Photo of Jacqueline L. Angel

Jacqueline L. Angel

Professor, LBJ School of Public Affairs (Affiliated)

jangel@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-2956 |
SRH 3.217

Education: Ph.D., Rutgers University

Photo of Simone A. Browne

Simone A. Browne

Associate Professor

sbrowne@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2007, Sociology and Equity Studies in Education, University of Toronto

Photo of Wenhong Chen

Wenhong Chen

Assistant Professor, Radio-Television-Film, College of Communication (Affiliated)

wenhong_chen@mail.utexas.edu |
512-471-4952 |
CMA 6.136

Education: Ph.D., University of Toronto

Photo of Toni Falbo

Toni Falbo

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education (Affiliated)

toni@prc.utexas.edu |
512-471-8020 |
CLA2.622F

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles

Photo of Kristine Hopkins

Kristine Hopkins

Research Assistant Professor

khopkins@prc.utexas.edu |
512-471-8313 |
CLA 2.620D

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Yasmiyn Irizarry

Yasmiyn Irizarry

Assistant Professor, African and African Diaspora Studies Department (Affiliated)

yirizarry@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Indiana University, Bloomington

Photo of Catherine Riegle-Crumb

Catherine Riegle-Crumb

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education (Affiliated)

riegle@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-8642 |
MAI 2312

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Stephen Russell

Stephen Russell

Professor, Human Development and Family Sciences, College of Natural Sciences (Affiliated)

stephen.russell@utexas.edu |
SEA 2.444

Education: Ph.D., Duke University

Photo of Lauren Schudde

Lauren Schudde

Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Administration, College of Education (Affiliated)

schudde@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin - Madison

Photo of Eric Tang

Eric Tang

Assistant Professor, Department of African and African Diaspora Studies (Affiliated)

erictang@utexas.edu |
BLS 3.136

Education: Ph.D., New York University

Photo of Paul von Hippel

Paul von Hippel

Assistant Professor, LBJ School of Public Affairs (Affiliated)

paulvonhippel@austin.utexas.edu |
512-537-8112 |
SRH 3.251

Education: Ph.D., Ohio State University

Emeritus Faculty


Harley L Browning

Professor Emeritus

harleybwaldib@yahoo.com

Education: Ph.D., University of California - Berkeley

Photo of W. Parker Frisbie

W. Parker Frisbie

Professor Emeritus

frisbie@prc.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Photo of Omer R. Galle

Omer R. Galle

Professor Emeritus

org@prc.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of John Higley

John Higley

Professor Emeritus

jhigley@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Connecticut

Samuel D Mclemore

Professor Emeritus

Education: Ph.D., Yale

Photo of John Mirowsky

John Mirowsky

Professor Emeritus

mirowsky@prc.utexas.edu |
512-232-7064 |
CLA 2.622G

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Photo of Thomas Pullum

Thomas Pullum

Professor Emeritus; Director of Research, The Demographic and Health Surveys Program, ICF International

tom.pullum@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Bryan R. Roberts

Bryan R. Roberts

Professor Emeritus

brr@prc.utexas.edu |
512-232-6329 |
CLA 3.522

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Catherine E. Ross

Catherine E. Ross

Professor Emeritus

cross@prc.utexas.edu |
512-232-7064 |
CLA 2.622G

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Photo of Gideon A Sjoberg

Gideon A Sjoberg

Professor Emeritus

gsjoberg@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Washington State

Photo of Teresa A Sullivan

Teresa A Sullivan

Professor Emeritus

tas6n@virginia.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Antonio Ugalde

Professor Emeritus

augalde@mail.la.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Stanford


  • Department of Sociology

    The University of Texas at Austin
    305 E 23rd St, A1700
    CLA 3.306
    Austin, TX 78712-1086
    512-232-6300