Department of Sociology
Search for people
Photo of Anima Adjepong

Anima Adjepong

Graduate student

adjepong@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor. Cube 1

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Cultural Studies; Diaspora; Immigration; Postcolonial Theory; Sociology of Sport; Sexualities; Gender; Race and Ethnicity; Qualitative Sociology

Photo of Kathleen Averett

Kathleen Averett

Graduate student

kate.averett@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.214B

Education: MDiv, Harvard University

Interests: Gender, Sexuality, LGBTQ Studies, Family, Childhood, Mixed-Methods Research, Qualitative Methods

Anna Banchik

NSF Graduate Research Fellow

abanchik@gmail.com

Education: B.S., University of Washington, Seattle

Photo of Nino Bariola

Nino Bariola

Graduate student

nbariola@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.214C

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: economic sociology, political sociology, work and organizations, inequality, fiscal sociology, health, ethnography

Carlos Barreto-Beck

Graduate student

Photo of Sarah Blanchard

Sarah Blanchard

PhD Candidate

sfblanchard@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.414G

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Claude Bonazzo

Claude Bonazzo

Graduate student

cbonazzo@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Texas State University

Photo of Eric Enrique Borja

Eric Enrique Borja

Graduate student

ericeborja@gmail.com

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Social Media, Social Movements, Collective Action, Race and Ethnicity in Brazil, Political Sociology, Education, Quantitative Methods, Qualitative Methods.

Photo of Amanda Bosky

Amanda Bosky

Graduate student

abosky@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.408

Education: J.D., Loyola University Chicago School of Law

Interests: Education, Social Stratification & Mobility

Photo of Letisha Brown

Letisha Brown

Doctoral Student

letisha12@utexas.edu

Interests: Race/Ethnicity, Body/Embodiment, Social Relationships, Food Practices, Intersectionality

Photo of Shantel Buggs

Shantel Buggs

Graduate student

sgbuggs@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor

Education: M.A., University of Houston

Interests: Race & Ethnicity; Gender; Sexualities; Critical Mixed-Race/Multiracial Studies; Popular Culture; Theory; Qualitative Methodology

Photo of Caitlin Canfield

Caitlin Canfield

Graduate student

ccanfield@prc.utexas.edu |
CLA 2.620B

Education: M.P.H., Tulane University School of Public Health & Tropical Medicine

Interests: Demography, Reproductive and Sexual Health, Disparities in Health Access & Outcomes, Mixed Methods, Community-Engaged Research.

Photo of Phillip Cantu

Phillip Cantu

Graduate student

cantuphillip@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., Southwestern University

Caitlin Carroll

Graduate student

caitlin_carroll@utexas.edu |
608-620-5658 |
CLA 3rd Floor, Cube 4

Education: M.A., Political Science, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests: Gender; politics; global feminisms; immigration; religion; feminist theory

Photo of Jamie Carroll

Jamie Carroll

Graduate student

jmcarroll@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.702B

Education: M.A., University of New Orleans

Interests: Education, Work Occupations and Organizations, Creativity, Civic Participation

Photo of Shih-Yi Chao

Shih-Yi Chao

Graduate student

sychao@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Tunghai University

Photo of Yu Chen

Yu Chen

Doctoral Student, PRC Graduate Student Trainee

chenyu@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in Latin American Studies, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Urbanization, housing, informal economy, comparative and historical sociology; China, Mexico, Cuba

Photo of Candrianna Clem

Candrianna Clem

Graduate student

candiclem@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Purdue University

Photo of Caitlyn Collins

Caitlyn Collins

Graduate student

caitlyn.collins@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.214E

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Gender; Work; Families; Social Policy; Inequality; Comparative/Cross-National Research; Qualitative Methods

Photo of Thatcher Combs

Thatcher Combs

Graduate student

Photo of Elizabeth Cozzolino

Elizabeth Cozzolino

Graduate student

elizabeth.cozzolino@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.406G

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Gender, The Family, Stratification, Criminal Justice

Photo of Jacinto Cuvi Escobar

Jacinto Cuvi Escobar

Graduate student

jacintocuvi@austin.utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Sciences Po

Interests: Inequality, Informal Economies, Development, Urban Sociology, Latin America

Kevin Dahaghi

Graduate student

kdahaghi@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor. Cubicle 7

Education: B.A., Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Interests: Immigration/migration; incarceration; crime victimization; neighborhoods; inequality; residential segregation and attainment

Photo of Jorge Derpic

Jorge Derpic

Graduate student

jderpic@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Political Sociology, Criminology & Delinquency, Urban Studies, Poverty & Inequality, Qualitative Methods

Rachel Donnelly

Graduate student

redonnelly@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.622A

Education: B.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Demography; Determinants of Health and Health Disparities; Aging and the Life Course; Gender; Intergenerational Transmission of Health and Inequality; Quantitative Methods and Statistics

Matthew Farina

Graduate student

matthew.p.farina@gmail.com

Education: M.A., University of California, Berkeley

Photo of Brandyn Paige Gabriel

Brandyn Paige Gabriel

Graduate student

paige.gabriel@utexas.edu

Interests: Gender, Family, Work, Qualitative Methods

Photo of Marc Garcia

Marc Garcia

Graduate student

marcagarcia@utexas.edu

Education: M.S., Texas A&M University

Photo of Erika D Grajeda

Erika D Grajeda

Graduate student

egrajeda@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Carmen Gutierrez

Carmen Gutierrez

Graduate student

carmen.gutierrez@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.406G

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Hyun Jeong Ha

Hyun Jeong Ha

Graduate student

hjha@mail.utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Seoul National University

Interests: Political Sociology, Gender, Ethnic Groups and Nationalism, Comparative and Historical Method, Middle East

Photo of Caitlin Hamrock

Caitlin Hamrock

Graduate student

CaitlinHamrock@gmail.com

Education: B.A., University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

Maricarmen Hernandez

Graduate student

Photo of Katherine Hill

Katherine Hill

Graduate student

hillkathy@utexas.edu

Interests: Gender; Race & Ethnicity; Asia/Asian America; Intimate Markets; Labor Markets; Immigration; Social Inequality; Social Stratification

Photo of Koit Hung

Koit Hung

Graduate student

hung.koit@gmail.com

Education: MPhil, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Daniel Jaster

Graduate student

jaster@utexas.edu

Education: M.S., University of Oregon

Janice Jeang

Graduate student

jpj@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Department of Sociology

Photo of Katherine Jensen

Katherine Jensen

Graduate student

kajensen@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.214E

Education: M.A, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Race/Racism, the State, Immigration, Ethnography, Asylum and Refugee Studies, Latin America, African Diaspora

Photo of Paul Kasun

Paul Kasun

PRC Graduate Student Trainee; PhD Candidate

frpaul@utexas.edu |
5127697513 |
PRC

Education: M.A., Kenrick-Glennon Seminary

Photo of Robyn Keith

Robyn Keith

Graduate student

robynakeith@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor, Cubicle #16

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Friendship; Social Isolation; Voluntary Associations; Communication Technologies; Social Networks and Social Capital; Gender and Sexuality; Mixed Methods

Photo of Andrew Krebs

Andrew Krebs

Graduate student

andrew.krebs@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., DePaul University

Interests: Law and Society

Photo of Shannon Malone

Shannon Malone

Graduate student

shannonmalone@utexas.edu

Education: M.S., University of Pennsylvania

Interests: Gender, Race & Ethnicity, Social Networks, Social Capital, Collective Action, Women's Leadership, Health, Stratification, and Social Policy

Vrinda Marwah

Graduate student

vrinda.marwah@utexas.edu

Interests: Reproductive health and technologies, Gender, Sexuality, Race and Ethnicity, Qualitative Methodology, Contemporary India, Social Movements, Law and Policy, State

Jennifer McMorris

Graduate student

Jennifere.mcmorris@gmail.com

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Corey McZeal

Corey McZeal

Graduate student

cmczeal@utexas.edu

Photo of Megan Neely

Megan Neely

Graduate student

mtneely@utexas.edu |
Sociology Department, CLA 3rd Floor

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Gender, Race, and Class; Work and Organizations; Income Inequality; Economic Sociology; Gender and Politics

Pamela Neumann

Graduate student

pneumann@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Latin American Studies, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Political sociology, gender, development, Latin America, ethnography, social theory

Emily Paine

Graduate student

e.paine@utexas.edu |
CLA PRC 2.214B

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Gender & Gender Identity, Sexualities, Race & Ethnicity, Health, Intersectionality, Mixed Methods, Social Movements.

Photo of Cristian Paredes

Cristian Paredes

PhD Candidate

clparedese@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Houston

Photo of Evangeleen Pattison

Evangeleen Pattison

Graduate student

epattison@prc.utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Ruijie Peng

Graduate student

ruijie.peng@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.306

Education: PhD in Sociology, The Department of Sociology

Interests: Work and Organization; Economic Development; Science and Technology; Immigraiton

Photo of Marcos Perez

Marcos Perez

Graduate student

marcosperez@austin.utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Alejandro Ponce De Leon

Alejandro Ponce De Leon

Graduate Student

poncedeleoncalero@utexas.edu |
Cubicle #41, Third floor. CLA

Education: M.A. in Cultural Studies, Universidad de los Andes

Interests: Colombia; Armed Violence; Cultural Studies; Ethnography.

Photo of Juan Portillo

Juan Portillo

Graduate student

juanra85@gmail.com

Education: PhD, Sociology (class of 2016), The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Chicana feminism, decolonial methodologies, college students, media

Beth Prosnitz

Graduate student

bprosnitz@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The New School

Interests: Political Sociology, Social Movements, Citizenship, Gender

Photo of Nicholas E. Reith

Nicholas E. Reith

Doctoral Candidate

nreith@utexas.edu |
646-821-1880

Education: M.A., Georgetown University

Robert Ressler

Graduate student

rwress@utexas.edu |
512-270-1404 |
2.406A

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Non-profits, education, stratification, inequality, bike riding, making pizza, happy hours

Photo of Brandon Robinson

Brandon Robinson

Graduate student

barobinson@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Sexualities; Gender; Race & Ethnicity; Health & HIV/AIDS; Cyberspace; LGBTQ Studies; Qualitative Methodologies

Photo of Katherine Rogers

Katherine Rogers

Graduate student

katierogers@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor #14

Education: B.A., Colorado College

Interests: Gender, Sexualities, Race & Ethnicity, Youth Subcultures, Qualitative Methods, Theory

Photo of Luis Romero

Luis Romero

Graduate student

yucateco@utexas.edu |
3rd Floor CLA

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Immigration, Political Sociology, State Action, Social Movements, Research Methodology

Photo of Vivian Shaw

Vivian Shaw

Graduate student

vivianshaw@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Asian & Asian American Studies; Culutral Studies; Ethnography and Qualitative Methods; Gender; Race & Ethnicity; Science and Technology; Japan

Photo of Connor Sheehan

Connor Sheehan

Graduate student

connor.sheehan@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Colorado at Boulder

Photo of Gracia Sierra

Gracia Sierra

Graduate student

gracia.sierra@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Duke University

Samantha Simon

Graduate student

samanthasimon@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., University of Pennsylvania

Robert Sitko

Graduate student

bobsitko@gmail.com

Photo of Julie Skalamera

Julie Skalamera

Graduate student

julie.skalamera@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Ilya Slavinski

Ilya Slavinski

Graduate student

ilya.slavinski@utexas.edu

Education: M.S., London School of Economics

Interests: Social Movements, Latin America, Alternative Justice, Worker Cooperatives

Photo of Chelsea Smith

Chelsea Smith

Graduate student

chelsea.c.smith@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.406B

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Families; Children, Youth, and Adolescents; Demography; Longitudinal Quantitative Methods

Photo of Katherine Sobering

Katherine Sobering

Graduate student

ksobering@utexas.edu

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Inequality; Work and Organizations; Social Movements; Qualitative Methods; Latin America

Emily Spangenberg

PhD Candidate

spangenberg@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.214C

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Environmental Inequality; Ethnography; GIS & Geospatial Analysis; Health; Human Rights; Latin America; Political Sociology; Qualtitative Methodologies; Social Movements & Collective Behavior

Photo of Ellyn Arevalo Steidl

Ellyn Arevalo Steidl

PRC Graduate Student Trainee; NICHD Predoctoral Trainee

arevaloellyn@utexas.edu |
College of Liberal Arts Building; 2:702A

Education: B.A., St. Olaf College

Interests: Family, Social Demography, Education, Work and Occupations

Photo of Amanda Stevenson

Amanda Stevenson

Graduate student

stevenam@prc.utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Demography, reproductive health, fertility, policy, social movements and emotions

Photo of Mary Ellen Stitt

Mary Ellen Stitt

Graduate student

mstitt@utexas.edu

Education: MA, Latin American Studies, Tulane University

Interests: Race and ethnicity, education, community-based participatory research

Haley Stritzel

Graduate student

haley-stritzel@utexas.edu |
2.406G

Education: B.A., University of Tulsa

Interests: Family, demography, social policy, crime and punishment, quantitative methods

Photo of Ori Swed

Ori Swed

PRC Graduate Student Trainee, PhD Candidate

oriswed@utexas.edu |
512-4718452 |
CLA 4.612

Interests: Economic Sociology, Political Sociolgy, Social Movements, Nongovernmental Organizations, Human Rights, Culture, Theory, Historical-Comparative, Mixed Methods.

Photo of Kara Takasaki

Kara Takasaki

Graduate student

kara.takasaki@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor, Cubicle 31

Education: M.A., The University of Chicago

Interests: Gender, Family, Race and Ethnicity, Social Stratification, Sociology of Emotions, Family Violence, Asian America

Photo of Margaret Tate

Margaret Tate

Graduate student

maggietate@utexas.edu |
CLA 4.608

Interests: qualitative methods, visual studies, urban sociology, race, gender, culture, surveillance and inequality

Jessica Thomas

Graduate student

jessica.m.thomas@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor Sociology, Cubicle #32

Education: B.A., University of California, Davis

Interests: Gender; Work & Occupations; Political Economy; Neoliberalism; Organizations

Photo of Kristopher Velasco

Kristopher Velasco

Graduate student

krisvelasco@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor | #33

Interests: Social Movements, Political Sociology, Transnationalism, Globalization, Sexualities, Qualitative Methods

Aida Villanueva

Graduate student

aidavm@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Pontifical Catholic University of Peru

Inbar Weiss

Graduate student

Photo of Timothy Werwath

Timothy Werwath

Graduate student

twerwath@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.408K

Education: B.A., University of Maryland

Interests: Sociology of Mental Health, Educational Inequality and Opportunity

Photo of Christine Wheatley

Christine Wheatley

PhD Candidate

christine.wheatley@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.205B

Education: M.A., Colorado State University

Interests: Political Sociology, Law, Migration, Race/Ethnicity, Gender/Sexuality, Labor

Minley Xu

Graduate student

minlexu22@gmail.com

Education: M.S., Purdue University

Photo of Maro Youssef

Maro Youssef

Graduate student

Maro@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor. Cube 22

Education: M.A., George Washington University

Interests: Gender, Qualitative Methods, Comparative-Historical, Political Sociology, Theory, Culture, Social Movements, Organizations, Media, North Africa and the Middle East

Amina Zarrugh

Graduate student

amina.zarrugh@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.626B

Education: MA, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Gender, global sociology, law and deviance, political sociology, race and ethnicity, religion, social movements, violence, North Africa and the Middle East


  • Department of Sociology

    The University of Texas at Austin
    305 E 23rd St, A1700
    CLA 3.306
    Austin, TX 78712-1086
    512-232-6300