Department of Sociology
 Department of Sociology
Photo of Anima Adjepong

Anima Adjepong

Graduate student

adjepong@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor. Cube 1

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Cultural Studies; Diaspora; Immigration; Postcolonial Theory; Sociology of Sport; Sexualities; Gender; Race and Ethnicity; Qualitative Sociology


Photo of Kathleen Averett

Kathleen Averett

Graduate student

kate.averett@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.214B

Education: MDiv, Harvard University

Interests: Gender, Sexuality, LGBTQ Studies, Family, Childhood, Mixed-Methods Research, Qualitative Methods


Anna Banchik

NSF Graduate Research Fellow

abanchik@gmail.com

Education: B.S., University of Washington, Seattle


Photo of Nino Bariola

Nino Bariola

Graduate student

nbariola@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.214C

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: economic sociology, political sociology, work and organizations, inequality, fiscal sociology, health, ethnography


Carlos Barreto-Beck

Graduate student


Photo of Sarah Blanchard

Sarah Blanchard

PhD Candidate

sfblanchard@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.414G

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin


Photo of Claude Bonazzo

Claude Bonazzo

Graduate student

cbonazzo@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Texas State University


Photo of Eric Enrique Borja

Eric Enrique Borja

Graduate student

ericeborja@gmail.com

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Social Media, Social Movements, Collective Action, Race and Ethnicity in Brazil, Political Sociology, Education, Quantitative Methods, Qualitative Methods.


Photo of Amanda Bosky

Amanda Bosky

Graduate student

abosky@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.408

Education: J.D., Loyola University Chicago School of Law

Interests: Education, Social Stratification & Mobility


Photo of Letisha Brown

Letisha Brown

Doctoral Student

letisha12@utexas.edu

Interests: Race/Ethnicity, Body/Embodiment, Social Relationships, Food


Photo of Shantel Buggs

Shantel Buggs

Graduate student

sgbuggs@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor

Education: M.A., University of Houston

Interests: Race & Ethnicity; Gender; Sexualities; Critical Mixed-Race/Multiracial Studies; Popular Culture; Theory; Qualitative Methodology


Caitlin Canfield

Graduate student


Photo of Phillip Cantu

Phillip Cantu

Graduate student

cantuphillip@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., Southwestern University


Caitlin Carroll

Graduate student


Photo of Jamie Carroll

Jamie Carroll

Graduate student

jmcarroll@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.702B

Education: M.A., University of New Orleans

Interests: Education, Work Occupations and Organizations, Creativity


Photo of Shih-Yi Chao

Shih-Yi Chao

Graduate student

sychao@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Tunghai University


Photo of Yu Chen

Yu Chen

Doctoral Student, PRC Graduate Student Trainee

chenyu@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in Latin American Studies, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Urbanization, housing, informal economy, comparative and historical sociology; China, Mexico, Cuba


Photo of Candrianna Clem

Candrianna Clem

Graduate student

candiclem@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Purdue University


Photo of Caitlyn Collins

Caitlyn Collins

Graduate student

caitlyn.collins@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Gender; Work; Families; Inequality; Comparative Social Policy; Qualitative Methods


Thatcher Combs

Graduate student


Photo of Elizabeth Cozzolino

Elizabeth Cozzolino

Graduate student

elizabeth.cozzolino@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.406 G

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Gender, The Family, Stratification, Criminal Justice


Jacinto Cuvi Escobar

Graduate student

jacintocuvi@austin.utexas.edu

Interests: Latin America, Development Economics, Urban Sociology


Kevin Dahaghi

Graduate student


Photo of Jorge Derpic

Jorge Derpic

Graduate student

jderpic@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin


Rachel Donnelly

Graduate student

redonnelly@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., The University of Texas at Austin


Matthew Farina

Graduate student


Photo of Brandyn Paige Gabriel

Brandyn Paige Gabriel

Graduate student

paige.gabriel@utexas.edu |
6782438467 |
United States

Interests: Gender, Family, Work, Qualitative Methods


Photo of Marc Garcia

Marc Garcia

Graduate student

marcagarcia@utexas.edu

Education: M.S., Texas A&M University


Photo of Denisse Gelber

Denisse Gelber

Graduate student

dgelber@utexas.edu

Education: PhD Candidate, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Social stratification, Poverty, Education, Transition to adulthood, Social Policies


Photo of Erika D Grajeda

Erika D Grajeda

Graduate student

egrajeda@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin


Photo of Carmen Gutierrez

Carmen Gutierrez

Graduate student

carmen.gutierrez@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.406G

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin


Photo of Hyun Jeong Ha

Hyun Jeong Ha

Graduate student

hjha@mail.utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Seoul National University

Interests: Political Sociology, Gender, Ethnic Groups and Nationalism, Comparative and Historical Method, Middle East


Photo of Caitlin Hamrock

Caitlin Hamrock

Graduate student

CaitlinHamrock@gmail.com

Education: B.A., University of Minnesota-Twin Cities


Maricarmen Hernandez

Graduate student


Photo of Katherine Hill

Katherine Hill

Graduate student

hillkathy@utexas.edu

Interests: Gender; Race & Ethnicity; Asia/Asian America; Intimate Markets; Labor Markets; Immigration


Photo of Celia Hubert Lopez

Celia Hubert Lopez

Graduate student

chubert@prc.utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin


Photo of Melissa Humphries

Melissa Humphries

Graduate student

mhumphries@prc.utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin


Photo of Koit Hung

Koit Hung

Graduate student

hung.koit@gmail.com

Education: MPhil, The Chinese University of Hong Kong


Amelia Iuvino

Graduate student


Daniel Jaster

Graduate student

jaster@utexas.edu

Education: M.S., University of Oregon


Janice Jeang

Graduate student

jpj@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Department of Sociology


Photo of Katherine Jensen

Katherine Jensen

Graduate student

kajensen@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.214E

Education: M.A, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Race/Racism, the State, Immigration, Ethnography, Latin America, African Diaspora


Photo of Paul Kasun

Paul Kasun

Graduate student

frpaul@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Kenrick-Glennon Seminary


Photo of Robyn Keith

Robyn Keith

Graduate student

robynakeith@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor, Cubicle #16

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Friendship; Social Isolation; Voluntary Associations; Communication Technologies; Social Networks and Social Capital; Gender and Sexuality; Mixed Methods


Photo of Kristine Kilanski

Kristine Kilanski

Graduate student

kristine.kilanski@gmail.com |
College of Liberal Arts

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin


Photo of Yujin Kim

Yujin Kim

Graduate student

yjkim@utexas.edu |
512 471 7778 |
CLA 2.408D

Education: M.A., Korea University


Photo of Andrew Krebs

Andrew Krebs

Graduate student

andrew.krebs@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., DePaul University

Interests: Law and Society


Photo of Janet Kuo

Janet Kuo

Graduate student

kuojanet2003@gmail.com

Education: M.A., National ChengChi University, Taiwan


Photo of Jinwoo Lee

Jinwoo Lee

Graduate student

jwlee@prc.utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Korea University

Interests: Social Relationships and Health, Religion and Health, Social Psychology, Medical Sociology, Family Sociology, Aging and Life Course, and Quantitative Research Method


Photo of Amias Maldonado

Amias Maldonado

Graduate student

a.maldonado418@gmail.com

Education: MA, The University of Texas at Austin


Photo of Shannon Malone

Shannon Malone

Graduate student

shannonmalone@utexas.edu

Education: M.S., University of Pennsylvania


Vrinda Marwah

Graduate student


Photo of David McClendon

David McClendon

Graduate student

mcclendon@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin


Jennifer McMorris

Graduate student

Jennifere.mcmorris@gmail.com

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin


Photo of Corey McZeal

Corey McZeal

Graduate student

cmczeal@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., Louisiana State University


Megan Neely

Graduate student

mtneely@utexas.edu |
Sociology Department, CLA 3rd Floor, Cubicle 20

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Gender, Work and Organizations, Economic Sociology, and Inequality


Pamela Neumann

Graduate student

pneumann@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Latin American Studies, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Gender, political sociology, development, Latin America, ethnography, feminist theory


Emily Paine

Graduate student

e.paine@utexas.edu |
CLA PRC 2.214J

Education: B.A., University of Southern Maine

Interests: Gender & Gender Identity, Sexualities, Race & Ethnicity, Health, Intersectionality, Mixed Methods, Social Movements.


Photo of Nina J Palmo

Nina J Palmo

Graduate student

npalmo@utexas.edu

Education: M.S., The University of Texas at Austin


Photo of Cristian Paredes

Cristian Paredes

Graduate student

clparedese@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Houston


Photo of Evangeleen Pattison

Evangeleen Pattison

Graduate student

epattison@prc.utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin


Photo of Marcos Perez

Marcos Perez

Graduate student

marcosperez@austin.utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin


Lilla Pivnick

Graduate student


Photo of Alejandro Ponce De Leon

Alejandro Ponce De Leon

Graduate Student

poncedeleoncalero@utexas.edu |
Cubicle #41, Third floor. CLA

Education: M.A. in Cultural Studies, Universidad de los Andes

Interests: Colombia; Latin America; Political Violence; Peacebuilding; Cultural Studies; Critical Theory; Ethnography; Political Economy.


Adrian Popan

Graduate student

adi_popan@yahoo.com

Education: M.A., Texas Tech University, 2009


Photo of Juan Portillo

Juan Portillo

Graduate student

juanra85@gmail.com

Education: PhD, Sociology (class of 2016), The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Chicana feminism, decolonial methodologies, college students, media


Photo of Kate Prickett

Kate Prickett

Graduate student

kate.prickett@utexas.edu |
512-471-0069 |
CLA 2.406B

Education: M.P.Aff., The University of Texas at Austin


Beth Prosnitz

Graduate student


Photo of Kristen Redford

Kristen Redford

Graduate Student

kredford@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., University of Massachusetts, Amherst


Photo of Nicholas E. Reith

Nicholas E. Reith

PRC Graduate Student Trainee

nreith@utexas.edu |
646-821-1880

Education: M.A., Georgetown University


Robert Ressler

Graduate student

rwress@utexas.edu |
512-270-1404

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Non-profits, education, stratification, inequality, bike riding, making pizza, happy hours


Photo of Brandon Robinson

Brandon Robinson

Graduate student

barobinson@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Sexualities; Gender; Race & Ethnicity; Health & HIV/AIDS; Cyberspace; LGBTQ Studies; Qualitative Methodologies


Katherine Rogers

Graduate student

katierogers@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor #14

Interests: Gender, Sexualities, Race & Ethnicity, Youth Subcultures, Leisure & Sport, Qualitative Methods, Theory


Photo of Luis Romero

Luis Romero

Graduate student

yucateco@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin


Thomas Rosen

Graduate student

tomrosen@utexas.edu

Interests: Gender, Food, Health


Photo of Vivian Shaw

Vivian Shaw

Graduate student

vivianshaw@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Asian & Asian American Studies; Culutral Studies; Ethnography and Qualitative Methods; Gender; Race & Ethnicity; Science and Technology; Japan


Photo of Connor Sheehan

Connor Sheehan

Graduate student

connor.sheehan@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Colorado at Boulder


Carly Sheridan

Graduate student

carly.sheridan@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd floor, cubicle #27

Education: B.A., with Honors, University of Michigan

Interests: religion, Judaism, identity, community


Photo of Gracia Sierra

Gracia Sierra

Graduate student

gracia.sierra@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Duke University


Samantha Simon

Graduate student

samanthasimon@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., University of Pennsylvania


Robert Sitko

Graduate student

bobsitko@gmail.com


Photo of Julie Skalamera

Julie Skalamera

Graduate student

julie.skalamera@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin


Ilya Slavinski

Graduate student


Photo of Chelsea Smith

Chelsea Smith

Graduate student

chelsea.c.smith@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.406G

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin


Photo of Katherine Sobering

Katherine Sobering

Graduate student

ksobering@utexas.edu

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Inequality; Work and Organizations; Social Movements; Qualitative Methods; Latin America


Jaya Soni

Graduate student

jayasoni@yahoo.com


Emily Spangenberg

Graduate student

spangenberg@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.214D

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: political sociology, qualitative methods, environmental inequality, geospatial (GIS) analysis, Latin America


Photo of Ellyn Arevalo Steidl

Ellyn Arevalo Steidl

Graduate student

arevaloellyn@utexas.edu |
College of Liberal Arts Building; 2:702B

Education: B.A., St. Olaf College


Photo of Amanda Stevenson

Amanda Stevenson

Graduate student

stevenam@prc.utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Demography, fertility, policy, social movements, social media


Mary Ellen Stitt

Graduate student

mstitt@utexas.edu

Education: MA, Latin American Studies, Tulane University

Interests: Race and ethnicity, education, community-based participatory research


Photo of Brittany Stoker

Brittany Stoker

Graduate student


Haley Stritzel

Graduate student


Photo of Ori Swed

Ori Swed

Graduate student

oriswed@utexas.edu |
512-4718452 |
CLA 4.612

Interests: Economic Sociology, Political Sociogy, Social Movements, Nongovernmental Organizations, Human Rights, Culture, Theory, Historical-Comparative, Mixed Methods.


Photo of Kara Takasaki

Kara Takasaki

Graduate student

kara.takasaki@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor, Cubicle 31

Education: M.A., The University of Chicago

Interests: race, class, gender and sexuality, work and family, intergenerational and intimate relationships, family violence, Asian America


Photo of Margaret Tate

Margaret Tate

Graduate student

maggietate@utexas.edu |
CLA 4.608

Interests: qualitative methods, visual studies, urban sociology, race, gender, culture, surveillance and inequality


Jessica Thomas

Graduate student

jessica.m.thomas@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor Sociology, Cubicle #32

Education: B.A., University of California, Davis

Interests: Gender; Work & Occupations; Political Economy; Neoliberalism; Organizations


Kristopher Velasco

Graduate student


Mario Venegas

Graduate student


Aida Villanueva Monta

Graduate student

aidavm@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Pontifical Catholic University of Peru


Photo of Ying-Ting Wang

Ying-Ting Wang

Graduate student

yingting.wang@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin


Inbar Weiss

Graduate student


Photo of Timothy Werwath

Timothy Werwath

Graduate student

twerwath@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.408K

Education: B.A., University of Maryland


Photo of Christine Wheatley

Christine Wheatley

PhD Candidate

christine.wheatley@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.205B

Education: M.A., Colorado State University

Interests: Political Sociology, Law, Migration, Race/Ethnicity, Gender/Sexuality, Labor


Minley Xu

Graduate student

minlexu22@gmail.com

Education: M.S., Purdue University


Maro Youssef

Graduate student



  • Department of Sociology

    The University of Texas at Austin
    305 E 23rd St, A1700
    CLA 3.306
    Austin, TX 78712-1086
    512-232-6300