Outline for Unit 5: Adjectivals


(Weeks 14-16 April 9-May 15)

Monday April 9


Class discussion: Adjective phrases; structures that can function adjectivally
Read: Kolln chapt. 7
Due: chapt. 7 S for P even numbers only (diagram the sentences!)

Wednesday April 11


Group work
Due: chapt. 7 S for P odd numbers only (diagram the sentences!)

Friday April 13


Class discussion: Adjectival PPs
NO HOMEWORK

Monday April 16


Class discussion: relative clauses: form and functions as adjectivals
Due: chapt. 7 Q for D 3

Wednesday April 18


Group work
Due: chapt. 7 Q for D 6

Friday April 20


Class discussion: relative clauses (restrictive vs. non-restrictive)
Due: chapt. 7 Q for D 5

Monday April 23


Class discussion: relative clauses (as sentence modifiers; with indefinite relatives)
Due: chapt. 7 Q for D 7

Wednesday April 25


Group Work
Due: chapt. 7 Q for D 8

Friday April 27


Class discussion: participial phrases (as adjectivals and sentence modifiers)
Due: Investigating language 7.1 (pp. 176-177)

Monday April 30


Class discussion: participial phrases (as adjectivals and sentence modifiers)
NO HOMEWORK

Wednesday May 2


Group Work
NO HOMEWORK

Friday May 4 Last class day: wrap-up discussion


Syllabus Class schedule
Assignments Handouts
WWW Resources

Return to main page.

Return to assignments index.

Return to unit index.


Comments to: Sara Kimball
Last updated January, 2001