The University of Texas System

The University of Texas System Seal

The University of Texas System operates nine academic UT campuses and six health science centers. The Board of Regents has approved the creation of the 

Dell Medical School, clearing the way for a decision by the Higher Education Coordinating Board on whether the University of Texas at Austin may offer an MD degree. The Board of Regents has pledged funds for the construction of the Dell Medical School -- at least $25 million in continuing support and $5 million annually for eight years for faculty recruitment and support.



Seton Healthcare Family

Construction of a new University Medical Center Brackenridge is the job of Seton Healthcare Family. It will be a teaching hospital for Dell Medical School 

Seton Healthcare Family

students, while also providing residencies to graduate and postgraduate medical education. Seton expects to commit $250 million to the hospital.

Seton operates more than 90 clinical locations including five major medical centers, two community hospitals, three rural hospitals, an inpatient mental health hospital, three primary care clinics for uninsured people and several strategically located health facilities. The system offers the region’s only Level I trauma centers for adult and pediatric patients. Its insurance division works with commercial insurance companies, community physicians and Medicaid and Medical Access programs for low-income persons, to assist in the management of the region’s overall health.

Seton is home to The University of Texas Southwestern (UTSW) Medical Center’s Austin medical residency programs, as well as the Seton/UTSW Clinical Research Institute.

The organization’s role in education, research and spiritual programming furthers Seton’s mission to improve the health of the communities it serves, with special concern for the poor and the vulnerable, as it prepares the region’s next generation of clinicians. In Fiscal Year 2011, Seton provided almost $350 million in charity care.

Seton is a member of Ascension Health, the nation’s largest not-for-profit health network. For more information, please visit

Central Health

Created by Travis County voters in 2004, Central Health (the Travis County Healthcare District) provides health care coverage and funding through an extensive 

Central Health Logo

network of health care providers who offer access to care to low-income, uninsured residents of Travis County. Central Health is primarily funded by property tax revenues and lease payments from Seton Healthcare Family for University Medical Center Brackenridge (UMCB), which Central Health owns. Seton leases the hospital from Central Health and operates it on Central Health's behalf. Central Health and Seton also are partners in creating a new organization called the Community Care Collaborative. The Collaborative is designed to transform the delivery system to better coordinate services and funding for the benefit of those who most need access to health care in Travis County.

Central Health will leverage -- at a rate more than double -- the local investment in health care delivery with matching federal funds. As part of this plan, Central Health will purchase services from the Dell Medical School for the population it serves, resulting in $35 million in annual revenue to the medical school project. Travis County voters in November 2012 approved an increase in local property taxes from 7.89 cents per $100 valuation to 12.89 cents per $100 valuation, which will be used to support numerous innovative healthcare initiatives, including the Collaborative, Dell Medical School, the new teaching hospital and others.