Header with Utility Navigation and Search Source

Austin Community Advisory Council

Community Advisory Council MeetingCommunity Advisory Council MeetingCommunity Advisory Council Meeting

Invitation from Dr. Vincent

Dear Austin Community Advisory Council,

Dr. VincentIt is my pleasure to once again welcome you to campus for the 2014 Division of Diversity and Community Engagement (DDCE) Austin Community Advisory Council meeting. We convene each fall to discuss the state of the university, DDCE initiatives, and ways we can better engage our local communities. You are a vital and essential part of that engagement, and we rely upon you to help identify how UT can strengthen our partnerships and continue to be a positive force in Austin.

This year’s meeting features an interactive panel that will allow you delve deeper into the DDCE’s priorities, including supporting an inclusive campus culture, ensuring academic diversity, and serving our community through volunteerism and strategic partnerships. I invite you to prepare for our upcoming meeting by reviewing the following materials, which are listed in order of importance.

Thank you for joining me for an afternoon of discussion and fellowship. Together, we can apply the university’s intellectual resources to positively impact our city, our nation, and our world.

Dr. Gregory J. Vincent
Vice President for the Division of Diversity and Community Engagement
W.K. Kellogg Professor in Community College leadership
Professor of law


2013-2014 DDCE Austin Community Advisory Council Meeting
Tuesday, August 26, 2014
President’s Room West, UT Club


2:30 pm              Fellowship and Gathering

3:15 pm              Greetings from Council Chair

Senior Pastor Joseph C. Parker, Jr., Esq., D. Min., David Chapel Baptist Church

3:20 pm              Welcome Remarks

Dr. Gregory J. Vincent, Vice President for Diversity and Community Engagement

3:30 pm           DDCE Unit Highlights—An Interactive Panel

Dr. Leonard Moore, Senior Associate Vice President for Academic Diversity Initiatives and Student Engagement

Dr. Suchitra Gururaj, Assistant Vice President for the Longhorn Center for Civic Engagement

Dr. Melissa Chavez, Associate Vice President and Executive Director of the UT Elementary School and UT University Charter Schools

Dr. Susan Somers-Willett, Assistant Vice President for Research and Policy

Ms. Erica Saenz, Associate Vice President for Community and External Relations

 4:00 pm           Panel Questions and Answers

4:20 pm           Roundtable Discussion Facilitated by Dr. Gregory J. Vincent

4:55 pm           Closing Remarks

Dr. Gregory J. Vincent, Vice President for Diversity and Community Engagement

5:00 pm           Adjourn

Resources: Presentation from the 8/29/13 meeting.PDF

Council Members

  • Chief Art Acevedo, Chief of Police, City of Austin Police Department
  • Ms. Patricia Behr, Director of Enrollment Management, Austin Community College
  • Ms. Marilyn Bostick, Director of Volunteer Services, Dell Children's Medical Center of Central Texas
  • Mr. Kevin Brackmeyer, Superintendent, Manor Independent School District
  • Ms. Debbie  Bresette, President, United Way Capital Area
  • Ms. Lisa Byrd, Director, African American Cultural Heritage District
  • Chief David  Carter, Chief of Police, University Police Department, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Ms. Natalie Cofield, President and CEO, Capital City African American Chamber of Commerce
  • The Reverend Paul, Collinson-Streng Campus Pastor, Lutheran Campus Ministry
  • Mr.  John-Michael Cortez, Community Involvement Manager, Capital Metro
  • Dr.  Kelly K. Crook, Superintendent, Del Valle ISD
  • Ms. Susan Dawson, Executive Director, E3 Alliance
  • Mr. Benjamin De Leon, Attorney, De Leon & Washburn
  • Ms. Perla Delgado, Assistant Director for Community Engagement, Dept. of Communications & Community Engagement Austin Independent School District 
  • Ms. Margo Dover, Executive Director, Skillpoint Alliance
  • Mr.  Lonny  Stern, Senior Director, STEM COUNCIL
  • Ms.  Loretta  Edelen, Community Outreach Director, Austin Community College
  • Mr. Akwasi Evans, Publisher, NOKOA - the observer
  • Ms. Simone  Talma Flowers, Chief Operations Officer, Interfaith Action of Central Texas (iACT)
  • Ms. Fely, Garcia Community Affairs Manager, Univision
  • Ms.  Iliana Gilman, Executive Director, El Buen Samaritano
  • Ms.  Priscilla A.  Hale, Director of Organizational Development, ALLGO
  • Ms.  Gina  Hinojosa, Vice President
  • Mr. Paul  Huddleston, President, Austin Gay & Lesbian Pride Foundation
  • Ms. Barbara James, Project Director, Charles A Dana Center for Science and Mathematics Education, College of Natural Sciences, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Mr. Ali Khataw, Immediate Past Chair, Greater Austin Asian American Chamber of Commerce
  • Mr. Nelson Linder, President, Austin NAACP 
  • Ms. Ginette Magana, Program Specialist for Community Engagement and Communications, Central Health
  • Rev. Dr.  Jayme Mathias, Senior Pastor and Secretary, Austin Independent School District Board
  • Mr. Stefan  Molina, Director, Foundation & Program Development, Greater Austin Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
  • Mr. Teddy  McDaniel, President and CEO, Austin Area Urban League
  • Mr. Freddie McFarland, Interim Superintendent of Schools, Pflugerville Independent School District
  • The Honorable  Harriet  Murphy, Retired
  • Ms.  Marina Ong Bhargava, Executive Director, Greater Austin Asian American Chamber of Commerce
  • Ms. Sylvia Orozco, Executive Director, Mexic-Arte Museum
  • Mr. Mark Ott, City Manager City of Austin
  • Ms. Marva Overton Blackland, Neighborhood Association
  • The Reverend Joseph Parker Jr., Senior Pastor, David Chapel Missionary Church
  • Ms.  Athena Ponce, Attorney, De Leon & Washburn
  • Dr.  Richard  Rhodes, President, Austin Community College
  • Ms. Ellen Richards, Chief Strategy Officer, Austin Travis County Integral Care
  • Mr. Ed Roby, Retired
  • Mr.  Geronimo Rodriguez, Vice President, Diversity and Community Outreach, Seton Healthcare Family
  • Ms. Margo Sack, Acting Executive Director and Director of Student Life, Texas Hillel
  • Mr. Alfredo Santos, Publisher, La Voz de Austin
  • Ms. Vanessa Sarria, Executive Director, Community Action Network
  • Rabbi Daniel Septimus, Executive Director, Texas Hillel
  • Ms. Suki Steinhauser, CEO, Communities in Schools of Central Texas Inc.
  • Mr. Vincent  Torres, President, Austin Independent School District Board
  • Mr. John Trevino, Hub Staff Associate, Hub Program Office, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Ms.  D'Andra Ulmer, Marketing Strategist, Grand Beginnings Marketing
  • Mr. Doyle Valdez, President, Advancing America LLC
  • Ms.  Madge Vasquez, Director of Dental Operations, St. David's Community Health Foundation
  • Mr. Jim Walker, AICP, LEED GA, Director of Sustainability, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Mr. Andy White, Executive Director, KLE Foundation
  • Mr. Tommy Wyatt, Publisher, The Villager
  • Ms. Candice Young, Assoc. Dir. of Marketing, Texas Exes