DDCE@UT banner
May 2011

University of Texas and City of Austin Honored

Event Organizers at Texas Relays Reception



The University of Texas at Austin and the City of Austin honored the organizers of events planned around the city's annual Texas Relays event. The honorees were recognized at a reception held at the George Washington Carver Museum and Cultural Center, 1165 Angelina Street, Austin, Texas on Friday, April 8, 2011 from 5 – 7 PM.

“We want to celebrate and recognize the city's dedication to diversity rather than divisiveness,” said Councilmember Sheryl Cole, one of the reception event chairs.

(l-r): Anthony Snipes, Dr. Gregory J. Vincent, Police Chief Art Acevedo

The honorary reception chairs were Austin City Council Member Sheryl Cole and Dr. Gregory J. Vincent, Vice President, the Division of Diversity and Community Engagement, the University of Texas at Austin. Reception hosts were Senator Kirk Watson, District 14, Austin; Representative Dawnna Dukes, District 46, Austin; Judge Samuel Biscoe, Travis County; Mayor Lee Leffingwell, Austin; The City of Austin; The University of Texas at Austin; Capital City African American Chamber of Commerce; and The George Washington Carver Museum and Cultural Center.

The Texas Relays are a track-and-field competition for high school, college and professional athletes held annually at the Mike A. Myers Track and Soccer Stadium on campus. The 2010 relays drew an estimated 21,000 people, or 95 percent of the stadium's capacity. The 84th annual Texas Relays will be held from April 6-9, 2011. The 2011 Texas Relays Reception was hosted in honor of the University and City's commitment to cultural diversity and community engagement during the historic Texas Relays event.

(l-r): Dr. Gregory J. Vincent, City Council Member Cheryl Cole, Nelson Linder, Mayor Lee Leffingwell

Event organizers recognized during the reception included the Austin Independent School District's Meria Carstarphen, Roxanne Evans and Cheryl Bradley; the B.L. Joyce Parade's Charlotte Dotson and Betty Johnson; NAACP B.L. Joyce Parade Grand Marshall Nelson Linder; the Dreams Foundation's Bev Kearney; and the Urban Music Festival's Donell Creech, Homer Hill, Donnie Little, Camille Atkins, Jonathan Clark, Larry Jackson, Elaine Mays, Helen Miller, Lesabre Moore, Carlette Satterwhite and Barbara Smith.

Return to DDCE@UT Home Page


What Starts Here Changes the World: The University of Texas at Austin

Editor: Leslie Blair
Layout: Jennifer Wang
Contributors: Ron Bowdoin, Steven Ditto, Deb Duval, Jill Hokanson, Sherry Reddick

You have received this email because you have either signed up on our Web site to receive more information and news from the Division of Diversity and Community Engagement, you have attended one of our programs or events, or you have previously donated to the Division. Unsubscribe or update your email preferences

The University of Texas at Austin is committed to protecting your privacy. Please read our privacy policy to learn more. The University of Texas at Austin. All rights reserved.

The University of Texas at Austin
No. 1 University Station
Austin, Texas 78713