Meet the Team

In response to the report issued by the Task Force on Undergraduate Graduation Rates in February 2012, Provost Steven Leslie announced the appointment of Dr. David Laude as senior vice provost for enrollment and graduation management.

Since joining the Provost's Office in July 2012, Laude has outlined a multi-faceted approach to improving four-year graduation rates at The University of Texas at Austin.

David Laude in the classroom

Dr. David Laude

As the graduation champion for The University of Texas at Austin, Laude's vision expands many aspects of enrollment management, all of which share a common denominator — ensuring every student has the tools and resources they need to behave in ways that are consistent with four-year graduation.

From using data to help guide admissions and enhancing new student orientation, to modernizing degree pathways and creating financial aid programs that incentivize four-year graduation, Dr. Laude is determined to help the university be successful in graduating its students on time.

Prior to joining the Executive Vice President and Provost's Office, Laude was associate dean for undergraduate education in the College of Natural Sciences from 1997 to 2010. In 2010, he was named senior associate dean for academic affairs until he was appointed interim dean in 2011. He is still on faculty in the college as a professor of chemistry.

Task Force

In 2011, President Bill Powers appointed College of Liberal Arts Dean Randy L. Diehl to chair a task force to develop and recommend strategies to increase the university's four-year graduation rate to 70 percent by 2016.

To accomplish this, the task force offered more than 60 specific recommendations in a comprehensive report (PDF) that was delivered to President Powers in February 2012.

Members of the Task Force included:

  • Dr. Randy Diehl (chair), dean, College of Liberal Arts
  • Ms. Shannon Allport, student, Biology/Premed
  • Dr. Charles Ramirez Berg, professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film
  • Dr. Rowena Fong, professor, School of Social Work
  • Dr. Robert Gilbert, professor, Department of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering
  • Dr. Beverly Hadaway, associate professor, Department of Finance
  • Dr. Brent Iverson, professor, department chair, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Mr. Gilberto Ortega-Rivera, student, English
  • Ms. Ilse Quijano, student, Communication Studies/Political Communication
  • Dr. Elizabeth Richmond-Garza, associate professor, Department of English
  • Dr. Mary Steinhardt, professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
  • Mr. Fransisco J. Tamayo, student, Accounting-Professional Program
  • Dr. Philip Uri Treisman, professor, Department of Mathematics
  • Mr. Wesley Williams, student, Government