Browse By Name


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

G

Kelly P Gaither

Kelly P Gaither

Senior Research Scientist, Texas Advanced Computing Center
kelly@tacc.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8957

Expertise: Scientific visualization; Feature detection; Illumination techniques; Visualization techniques; Visualization applications

James K Galbraith

James K Galbraith

Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
galbraith@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1244

Expertise: Macroeconomic policy; monetary policy, economic development policies; comparative economic policy; economic inequality

G K Galinsky

G K Galinsky

Professor, Department of Classics, College of Liberal Arts
galinsky@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8504, +1 512 471 5742

Expertise: Roman Literature and Civilization; Classical Tradition in Popular Culture; Greco-Roman antiquity; classical heritage of America; post-tenure review legislation

Patricia K Galloway

Professor, School of Information
galloway@ischool.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 9220

Expertise: Informational retrieval, archives, historical documentation

Venkat  Ganesan

Venkat Ganesan

Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
venkat@che.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4856

Expertise: My research focus is to develop a theoretical and computationally-based program aimed at elucidating the fundamental mechanisms underlying the design of novel, self-assembled advanced materials. The goal is to complement the research of experimentalists (synthetic chemists, chemical engineers, and material scientists) by providing simple but quantitative guidelines to rationally design and synthesize these materials. Towards this broad objective, our group’s research focuses on the development and use of a wide variety of tools spanning both equilibrium and nonequilibrium statistical mechanics, conventional fluid mechanics, molecular rheology and computational tools to complex fluids and biological systems.

Shernaz B Garcia

Associate Professor Emeritus, Department of Special Education, College of Education
shernaz.garcia@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4161

Expertise: Bilingual special education; multicultural issues in special education; education of students who are at educational risk; prereferral intervention

Vijay K Garg

Vijay K Garg

Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
garg@ece.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9424

Expertise: Distributed systems; Discrete event systems; Software engineering

Michael L Garrison

Michael L Garrison

Professor, School of Architecture
mgarrison@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0185, +1 512 471 1922

Expertise: Advanced Design, environmental controls, solar design

Thomas J Garza

Thomas J Garza

Associate Professor, Department of Slavic and Eurasian Studies, College of Liberal Arts
tjgarza@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 9126, +1 512 475 9649

Expertise: Russian language, the vampire in slavic cultures, Russian fairy tales, Russian youth culture, Post-Soviet youth culture, Chechyna and the Chechen wars, contemporary Russian culture, Gorbachev, Yeltsyn, Putin, Russian organized crime, Russian mafia.

George W Gau

George W Gau

Professor, Department of Finance, McCombs School of Business
george.gau@mccombs.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6612

Expertise: Real estate finance; real estate investment; real estate markets; business, economics & labor.

Karl  Gebhardt

Karl Gebhardt

Professor, Department of Astronomy, College of Natural Sciences
gebhardt@astro.as.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1473

Expertise: Astronomy, black holes, globular clusters, elliptical galaxies, galaxy clusters, dark energy, HETDEX, Hobby-Eberly Telescope Dark Energy Experiment

Kenneth W Gentle

Kenneth W Gentle

Professor, Department of Physics, College of Natural Sciences
k.gentle@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7581

Expertise: Plasma physics; fusion energy; environment & earth science.

George  Georgiou

George Georgiou

Professor and Cockrell Family Regents Chair in Engineering No. 9, Department of Molecular Biosciences, College of Natural Sciences
gg@che.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6975

Expertise: Antibody engineering; Enzyme engineering; Protein folding in vivo

Andreas M Gerstlauer

Andreas M Gerstlauer

Assistant Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
gerstl@ece.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 8294

Expertise: Embedded system design; Electronic system-level (ESL) design automation, modeling, languages, methodologies and tools; Embedded hardware and software synthesis

Wassim M Ghannoum

Wassim M Ghannoum

Assistant Professor, Department of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
ghannoum@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 0897, +1 512 471 1619

Expertise: Design and behavior of reinforced concrete (RC) structures; Large-deformation behavior of RC structures; Earthquake engineering; Structural dynamics; Advanced analytical modeling of RC structures

Ranjit  Gharpurey

Ranjit Gharpurey

Associate Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
ranjitg@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7940

Expertise: High-frequency and high-speed circuit design; Parasitic noise sources in integrated circuits; Radio frequency integrated circuit design for wireless applications

Omar  Ghattas

Omar Ghattas

Professor and John A. and Katherine G. Jackson Chair in Computational Geosciences, Department of Geological Sciences, Jackson School of Geosciences
omar@ices.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4304

Expertise: Computational geoscience and engineering, simulation and optimization of complex solid, fluid, and biomechanical systems, inverse problems, optimal design, and optimal control

Charles E Gholz

Charles E Gholz

Associate Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
egholz@alum.mit.edu
+1 512 471 5882

Expertise: Dr. Gholz works on innovation, defense management, and U.S. foreign policy. He is the coauthor of two books: Buying Military Transformation: Technological Innovation and the Defense Industry, and U.S. Defense Politics: The Origins of Security Policy. His recent scholarship focuses on energy security. He previously taught at the University of Kentucky's Patterson School of Diplomacy and International Commerce. He is also a research affiliate of MIT's Security Studies Program, a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, and associate editor of the journal Security Studies. His PhD is from MIT.

Joydeep  Ghosh

Joydeep Ghosh

Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
jghosh@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8980

Expertise: Data Mining; Web mining; Predictive analytics, machine learning; large-scale statistical analysis; high-performance computing;

David V Gibson

Senior Research Scientist, IC2 Institute
davidg@icc.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 8941, +1 512 475 8901

Expertise: Texas border region; South America; Caribbean; Australia; entrepreneurship research and education

Lawrence E Gilbert

Lawrence E Gilbert

Professor, Department of Integrative Biology, College of Natural Sciences
lgilbert@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4705, +1 512 471 2825

Expertise: Community ecology; wing pattern genetics; biological diversity; imported fire ants/phorid fly interactions; butterfly/plant interactions

Robert B Gilbert

Robert B Gilbert

Professor and Bruswick-Abernathy Regents Professorship in Soil Dynamics & Geotechnical Engineering, Department of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
bob_gilbert@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 3688

Expertise: Performance reliability and risk management for slopes, dams & levees, foundations, waste containment and site remediation

Thomas W Gilligan

Thomas W Gilligan

Professor, Department of Finance, McCombs School of Business
dean.gilligan@mccombs.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5058

Expertise: Economics, fiscal policy, price theory, antitrust economics, deficit, public spending

William P Glade

William P Glade

Professor Emeritus, Department of Economics, College of Liberal Arts
glade@eco.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3211

Expertise: Economic development in Latin America; comparative economic systems;economics of the arts and cultural policy; international cultural relations

Earnest F Gloyna

Earnest F Gloyna

Professor Emeritus, Department of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
e.gloyna@mail.utexas.edu

Expertise: Industrial waste treatment; municipal wastewater treatment; water quality management; radioactive waste management

John A Goff

John A Goff

Senior Research Scientist, Institute for Geophysics, Jackson School of Geosciences
goff@ig.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0476

Expertise: Seafloor morphology and bathymetry, swath sonar mapping, stratigraphy of the shallow seabed, ultra-high resolution seismic reflection (chrip) systems, sedimentary horizons, sea ice draft, crustal heterogeneity, canyon morphology on continental slopes, abyssal hills

John M Golden

John M Golden

Professor, School of Law
jgolden@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1469

Expertise: Patent law, intellectual property, administrative law.

David B Goldstein

David B Goldstein

Professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics, Cockrell School of Engineering
david@cfdlab.ae.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4187

Expertise: Development of Numerical Methods; Applications of Computational Fluid Dynamics; Detailed Flow Physics

Rueben A Gonzales

Rueben A Gonzales

Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts
rgonzales@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5192

Expertise: Alcohol abuse, effects of alcohol on human behavior, addiction.

Gloria  Gonzalez-Lopez

Gloria Gonzalez-Lopez

Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
gloria@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6343

Expertise: Sexuality, gender and society with populations of Mexican origin, qualitative methods and sexuality research, incest in urbanized areas in Mexico

Steven J Goode

Steven J Goode

Professor, School of Law
sgoode@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1331

Expertise: Evidence; criminal law; professional responsibility & ethics with emphasis on privileges and confidentiality; communication.

Mark A Gooden

Mark A Gooden

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Administration, College of Education
gooden@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 8574

Expertise: Principal training; role of principal

John B Goodenough

John B Goodenough

Professor and Virginia H. Cockrell Centennial Chair in Engineering, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
jgoodenough@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1646

Expertise: Transition-metal oxides; lithium ion batteries; fuel cells; oxygen-permeation membranes

Andrea C Gore

Andrea C Gore

Professor, College of Pharmacy
andrea.gore@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3669

Expertise: The brain and menopause, effects of environmental chemicals on reproductive neuroendocrine function.

Carma R Gorman

Carma R Gorman

Associate Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
cgorman@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0901, +1 512 471 3382

Expertise: History of American industrial design; US intellectual property law pertaining to design; evaluation/criticism of design; Henry Sargent (1770-1845).

Samuel D Gosling

Samuel D Gosling

Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts
samg@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1628

Expertise: Social Media, Personality in humans and other animals, impression formation, Internet research methods.

Philip B Gough

Professor Emeritus, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts
goughpb@gmail.com
+1 512 471 2115, +1 512 471 3493

Expertise: Psychology of reading; psycholinguistics; cognitive psychology

David B Gracy

David B Gracy

Professor Emeritus, School of Information
gracy@ischool.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8291

Expertise: Archival administration, records management, preservation administration; issues relating to broad domain of documentary heritage of civilization; Texas history (various periods)

Lino A Graglia

Lino A Graglia

Professor, School of Law
lgraglia@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1363

Expertise: Constitutional law; antitrust; federalism; role of courts; race discrimination

Don B Graham

Don B Graham

Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
dgbb@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8387

Expertise: Texas literature; Texas film; Australian literature; Australian film; American literature; Southwestern American Literature and Film.

Michael H Granof

Michael H Granof

Professor, Department of Accounting, McCombs School of Business
michael.granof@mccombs.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4678

Expertise: Governmental and nonprofit accounting and finance, financial accounting and reporting, auditing

Laurie B Green

Laurie B Green

Associate Professor, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts
lbgreen@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 7245

Expertise: Civil Rights Movement; Social Movements; Politics of race and gender; American South

Sherri R Greenberg

Sherri R Greenberg

Lecturer, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
srgreenberg@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8324, +1 512 656 6592

Expertise: A member of the Texas House of Representatives from 1991-2001, Greenberg?s areas of expertise include state and local government, public finance and budgeting, education, health care, transportation, and campaigns and elections in the state of Texas.

Kenneth F Greene

Kenneth F Greene

Assistant Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
kgreene@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7206

Expertise: Mexican political parties and elections, Latin American politics, research methods, voting behavior in Mexico and Latin America, social movements, and comparative democratization

Benjamin G Gregg

Benjamin G Gregg

Associate Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
bgregg@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7274

Expertise: Democracy, Rule of Law, Human Rights, Political Theory, Liberalism, Socialism, Marxism, Conservatism, Fascism

Lisa  Griffin

Lisa Griffin

Associate Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
l.griffin@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 2786

Expertise: Spinal Cord Injury Neuromuscular fatigue Functional electrical stimulation Low Back Pain Central nervous system control of muscle force Single motor unit recruitment and firing patterns

Karen Grumberg

Associate Professor, Department of Middle Eastern Studies, College of Liberal Arts
keren@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5134

Expertise: Contemporary Hebrew literature and comparative Jewish literatures (Hebrew, French, English)

Julia Guernsey

Julia Guernsey

Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
j.guernsey@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5850, +1 512 471 7757

Expertise: Olmec and Maya art, architecture, and material culture; ancient Mesoamerican art, themes, iconography, and ritual associations.

Luis V Guevara

Program Coordinator, Center for Mexican American Studies, College of Liberal Arts
lvg@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 6769

Expertise: Mexican American Studies

Sean S Gulick

Sean S Gulick

Research Associate Professor, Institute for Geophysics, Jackson School of Geosciences
sean@ig.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0483

Expertise: Studies of convergent margins to examine tectonic influences, structural deformation, fluid flow, and earthquake hazards; imaging and geologic sampling of in situ tectonic and crater laboratories: microplates, triple junctions, transitional plate boundaries, and bolide impacts; and quantitative high-resolution marine geological and geophysical studies of tectonic and climate interactions on glaciated orogenic margins.

Joshua G Gunn

Joshua G Gunn

Associate Professor, Department of Communication Studies, College of Communication
josh_gunn@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3933, +1 512 471 5251

Expertise: Celebrity, popular culture, popular music, popular fads and fashion, youth cultures, UFOs, alien abduction, exorcism, demonic possession, apocalypse, Halloween, folk religion, folklore, Satanism, occult and occultism, new age, cults, psychoanalysis, psychotherapy, Freud, Jung, Lacan, scatology, ghosts, haunting, the paranormal, pseudo-science, gothic music, gothic subculture, horror film, popular television, cultural studies, rhetorical studies.

Frank A Guridy

Associate Professor, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts
fguridy@austin.utexas.edu

Robin  Gutell

Robin Gutell

Professor, Department of Integrative Biology, College of Natural Sciences
rgutell@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4814

Expertise: Computational Biology, Comparative Analysis of RNA, RNA Structure, Predicting RNA Structure

Margo Gutierrez

Librarian
mgutierrez@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 4589, +1 512 495 4520

Expertise: Mexican American & Latino Studies bibliography; Library services to Latinos (collection development; reference; archival collections etc.)

Michele R Guzman

Michele R Guzman

Assistant Director, Hogg Foundation for Mental Health
michele.guzman@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7631

Expertise: Multicultural counseling; racial identity constructs; educational struggles of Latino subgroups