C-3 Commencement and Academic Ceremonies Committee

Chair: R.R. Hinojosa-Smith

Member E-mail Address Book

FUNCTION: To advise the Faculty Council, the President, and academic deans on policy matters, including selection of speakers, in planning graduation, Honors Day, and other formal academic ceremonies.

COMPOSITION: Four members of the General Faculty and two students. Student members shall be appointed by the President in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the appropriate student committee. In addition, every year the Chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty. A representative of the Office of the Vice President of Student Affairs, the Director of the Physical Plant, the Director of University Bands, and the Executive Director of the Ex-Students' Association shall serve as administrative advisers without votes.

Members, 1999-2000
  Hinojosa-Smith, R. R. 1999-2001

Professor, English

Liechti, Kenneth M. 1999-2000 Professor, Aerospace Engineering
  Summers, Edward L.   1999-2001

Professor, Accounting

Trimble, John R. 1999-2001 Professor, English

Faculty Council Appointees
  Armstrong, Neal E. 1999-2000 Professor, Civil Engineering  
  Pinto-Bailey, Ana Cristina
(formerly Ana Cristina Ferreira-Pinto)
1999-2000 Assistant Professor, Spanish and Portuguese

Two Students:
  Eisenbarth, Erin E. 1999-2000 Senior, Plan II Honors Program
  Novak, Sarah A. 1999-2000 Senior, Plan II Honors Program

Administrative Advisers:
  Boon, Jim ex officio Executive Director, Ex-Students' Association
  Clagett, Susan W. ex officio Special Assistant, University Relations
  Graham, John M. ex officio Director, Erwin Special Events Center
  Hunter, Mark ex officio Director, Physical Plant
  Junkin, Jerry F. ex officio Professor, Music
  Justice, Sharon H. ex officio Associate Vice President, Dean of Students