C-5 Faculty Building Advisory Committee

Chair: Austin M. Gleeson

Member E-mail Address Book

FUNCTION: To represent the faculty, staff, and students in the planning and programming of buildings. The committee shall have a strong voice in (a) campus master planning, (b) priority of building construction, (c) building location, (d) programming of buildings, and (e) reviewing and recommending of final plans. It shall report to the President and periodically to the Faculty Council. During the preparation of the preliminary plans for the erection of a particular building, the President shall appoint a special committee, composed of faculty (and students, when appropriate) who have a direct interest in the proposed building, to serve until the completion thereof, one of whom shall be designated as a voting member of the Faculty Building Advisory Committee for the specified building. Whenever a building is to include library facilities, the University Librarian is to be added as an administrative adviser to the special committee.

COMPOSITION: Nine members of the General Faculty, including a representative from the School of Architecture; one member of The University staff; and two students. Student members shall be appointed by the President in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the appropriate student committee, and they shall serve one-year terms and shall be eligible for reappointment. The students may not be from the same college or school. In addition, every year the Chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty. The Vice President for Business Affairs or a delegate shall be an ex officio member. The Director of the Office of Facilities Planning and Construction shall serve as administrative adviser without vote. The faculty and staff members are appointed for five year, overlapping terms, two rotating off each year.

Members, 1999-2000
  Box, Hal 1997-2002 Professor, Architecture
Dison, Thomas W. 1995-2000 Director, Recreational Sports
  Fineg, Jerry 1997-2002 Professor, Pharmacy
Foote, Kenneth E. 1999-2004 Professor, Geography
  Gilbert, John C. 1999-2004 Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
  Gleeson, Austin M. 1996-2001 Professor, Physics
  Langlois, Judith H. 1997-2002 Professor, Psychology
  Malina Jr., Joseph F. 1998-2003 Professor, Civil Engineering
  Neikirk, Dean P. 1995-2000 Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  Tatum, Lance E. 1998-2002 Professor, Architecture
  Witherspoon, Patricia 1998-2003 Associate Professor, Speech Communication
    *Staff Member

Faculty Council Appointees
  Tusa, Michael C. 1999-2000 Professor, Music  
  Vacant 1999-2000  

Two Students:
  Galvan, Sara C. 1999-2000 Senior, School of Architecture/Plan II Honors Program
  Miller, Kevin M. 1999-2000 Senior, Plan II Honors Program

Administrative Advisers:
  Franklin, G. Charles ex officio Vice President for Business Affairs
  Rishling, John L. ex officio Associate Vice President, Campus Planning and Facilities Management
  Sanders, Sidney J. ex officio Director, UT System, Facilities Planning and Construction