C-4 Educational Policy Committee

Chair: Michael P. Starbird

The Educational Policy Committee will meet on Monday, November 6 at 3:30 in GAR 7.

Member E-mail Address Book

FUNCTION: To study proposals on educational policy and assess their possibilities and alternatives; to present recommendations on such matters to the Faculty Council. The committee shall actively seek advice from students.

COMPOSITION: Nine members of the General Faculty and three students. The three student members shall include one lower-division undergraduate, one upper-division undergraduate, and one graduate or law student. Student members shall be appointed by the President in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the Cabinet of College Councils. In addition, every year the Chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council , one of whom shall be elected by the voting members of the Faculty Council, for one-year terms as members of the committee. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty. The Provost and the Director of the Measurement and Evaluation Center shall serve as administrative advisors without votes. The chair of the student deans' committee and a representative of the Academic Counselors' Association shall serve as consultants without votes.

Members, 2000-2001:

Carter, Mia E. 2000-2002

Professor, English

Crawford, Michael E. 2000-2001 Professor, Mechancial Engineering

Davis, Katherine M. 1999-2001

Associate Professor, Mathematics

  Dean-Jones, Lesley A. 2000-2002 Associate Professor, Classics
  Deitrick, James W. 2000-2002 Professor, Accounting
  Flores, Richard R. 2000-2002 Associate Professor, Anthropology
  Gilbert, Dorie J. 2000-2002 Assistant Professor, Social Work
  Oakes, Melvin E. L. 1999-2001 Professor, Physics

Watkins, Samuel C. 2000-2002

Assistant Professor, Radio-Television-Film

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Jellison, Judith A. 2000-2001 Professor, Music
  Starbird, Michael P. 2000-2001 Professor, Mathematics

Three Students:
  Galvan, Sara 2000-2001 Senior, Architecture
  Kruppa, Elliott W. 2000-2001 Sophomore, Business Administration
  Schira, Gretchen 2000-2001 Master's candidate, Architecture

Administrative Advisers:
  Ekland-Olson, Sheldon ex officio Executive Vice President and Provost
  Fitzpatrick, Steven J. ex officio Associate Director, Measurement and Evaluation Center

  Anderson, Urton L. ex officio Chair, Student Deans' Association; Associate Dean, Accounting
  Holmes, Cole E. ex officio President , Academic Counselors' Association; Academic Advisor, Red McCombs School of Business